We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. Not 5 star.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Not 5 star.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If the stars were to represent the stars of a hotel, it should be be 3 stars. I've provided 2 stars in this review as one should not be provided a 3 star room and facilities at a 5 star price.

Firstly, the room. The greatest disappointment has to be the room. It was very small, outdated and run down. There was mould in the bathroom especially around the shower. The bed was lumpy. The tv was ridiculously small. I've stayed at motels with bigger TVs at better resolution. The tv offering was woeful.

Secondly, the food room service. Well I didn't bother as there was a $6.50 fee above the already extortionate charges for the food. They charge the same as Pizza Hut to carry some food up a lift?! You are better off getting one of the restaurants to deliver to the hotel.

Finally, the buffet breakfast. The bacon and sausages were quite nice. The service was pleasant. But the eggs tasted watery. Worst was the mould on the muffin! As soon as we found that we stopped eating and left.

All in all a very disappointing experience compared to the other 5 star hotels I've stayed at in Sydney.

Unless something drastically changes I'll be crossing this off my list.

The only real benefit was the free wifi but I find a lot of 5 star hotels offer free wifi or they will offer it for free if you ask politely.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Vascariz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel. I would be delighted to speak with you first hand should you wish to contact me direct at the Hotel.

Your very constructive comments have been reviewed and shared with the relevant department heads. The Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef have also reviewed your comments and send their most sincere apologies for the negative experience you had while dining at Breakfast in the Gallery Restaurant. Please rest assured that your experience is not indicative of the high standards of service we strive to achieve and that you a valued guest is entitled to expect.

We constantly strive to give each of our valued guests the expected value 5-star experience when staying with us and we apologise for not having met or exceeded your expectations during your recent stay. We look forward in welcoming you back so that we can redeem ourselves in the future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    836
    321
    98
    61
See reviews for
169
998
142
558
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I often stay here on 1 or 2 day business trips to Sydney. If you do the Wotif mystery 5* hotel you often get this place at a reduced price. Location is excellent, 10 minutes from Circular Key and 15 minutes from Darling Harbour. You can get a glimpse of the harbour from the higher floors. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and free internet is great. Worth checking out

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear KiwiTraveller43,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comment regarding our very comfortable rooms is well received and has been shared with the Executive Housekeeper and her team.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Qld
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Amora. We have stayed lots of place in Sydney but really enjoyed it here. We were checked in straight away as we arrived early but no problem. We took the Club Lounge option and the canapés and drinks were excellent. Also the breakfast included with the Club option was great and there was really no need to have the full buffet breakfast. Rooms and bathrooms were spacious and the view from the 33rd floor was stunning. Location was excellent with easy access to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, The Rocks and the CBD.
Service was excellent and we had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear WendoGoldCoast_Qld,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our excellent service is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We are currently in the middle of a 4 day stay @ Amora following 14 day NZ cruise. Booked blind w/Expedia via 4-5 star, Rocks CBD location and got $190 plus fees rate, well below normal published. Jessica @ front desk checked us in @ 10AM, very warm reception. Perks are location w/easy access to trains, buses or walk to Rocks, Circular Quay, FREE fast WIFI (huge as many charge $25-35 per day), refreshing indoor pool, jacuzzi, spacious comfortable room w/large bathroom excellent shower/water pressure & soaking tub. Only complaint is with efficient black out curtain and cozy bed makes it hard to get up to explore this amazing city. Not sure what the big deal is with some previous reviews regarding light switches (press and hold a bit as have dimming feature) or pillows (many to choose from). Have not tried restaurant so cannot comment, lots of places to eat in easy walking distance. High marks and big thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear godess100,

Thank you for taking the time to review your current stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you are thoroughly enjoying your stay with us. We strive to give each and every one of our very valued Guests the best 5-star experience when staying with us and it is a pleasure to know you are currently receiving such service. Your very kind comments regarding Jessica from front desk is greatly appreciated and has been shared with her directly and the Assistant Mangers in front office.

We truly hope you keep enjoying your stay with us. Should we be of any assistance during your stay please do not hesitate in contacting any of our lovely Amora Team and we will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We received a warm welcome from the front desk and they managed to check us into our room well in advance of the published check-in time which was a real bonus following a long-haul flight. Elsewhere the staff were friendly but the service was slightly more mixed.  On check-out the receptionist attempted to charge us for the accommodation even though this had been pre-paid.

The location was excellent - within easy walking distance of The Rocks, Circular Quay,etc. The room was good (especially the bathroom) and the bed was comfortable. There were minor signs of wear and tear but nothing unreasonable. The WiFi was free and fast. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear wiggyh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for any inconvenience during your check-out as there appears to have been a level of confusion as to your booking. Your very kind comments regarding our friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

I truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed just one night this week, my third stay.
Very welcoming, friendly hotel. Stayed on the 34th floor so got a good view. Free internet. I agree with others that lighting controls took some understanding but got there in the end.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, fresh food, good service supporting the buffet - having a corporate deal took most of the sting out of the cost of breakfast.
I was pleased the potential extra charge for very late check-out was waived - a very nice gesture to end my stay.
Location is perfect, minutes from Circular Quay and the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Graham C,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us once again. Your positive comments regarding our Gallery Restaurant Breakfast is well received and has been shared with both the Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef and their teams.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

stayed in an executive room which had amazing views from the 31st floor. This also gave us access to the executive lounge, which was also on the same floor, free breakfast, with snacks and drinks in the evening included. Staff were great, very friendly and wanted to make sure we had a great stay. Massive bathroom, nice to have a bath with city views, loved it

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear glasseyed,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comment regarding our very friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at our 5 Star luxury hotel in Sydney, you’ll experience the Amora difference.This award winning 5 Star hotel in Sydney combines space, style and warmth to provide the ultimate ambience for business travel or holiday pleasure.There are 415 stylish guest rooms, two restaurants and two bars offering exceptional wining and dining facilities, seven meetings and conference rooms and a dedicated relaxation zone incorporating Amora Day Spa, a heated indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and gym.Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney is located next to Wynyard Train Station just a 10-minute walk from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. The city’s best shopping, dining and nightlife are on the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.