We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #56 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Amora Jamieson, however if you're after a full five-star experience I'd suggest trying somewhere else.

Things I liked:
The location - great for public transport as it's right next door to Wynyard Station and less than a 10 minute walk to Circular Quay station. Handy for shops and about a 10 minute walk to the Opera House.

The room - very comfortable king size bed, blockout blinds, free wifi.

The bathroom - huge bathroom with big shower and big bath.

Things I didn't like:
The decor - room decor was pretty dated (c.1990s perhaps) and could do with a refresh. TV and radio reception was poor, very small tv, no ipod dock, and old-style analogue alarm clock.

Would I stay there again? Yes, but only if I was able to get a discounted room rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear LuckyLaki,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you have had a comfortable stay in one of our spacious rooms. Your constructive feedback regarding the room decor is well received and has been shared with the Executive Amora Team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future .

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    497
    235
    70
    54
See reviews for
89
614
102
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its refreshing to stay somewhere that values service. From the porters, to front desk, restaurant and housekeepers - all staff are pleasant, welcoming and willing to help. I'm constantly amazed how often this is missing in other places and it has no cost from a hotel perspective makes a stay memorable. Well done.
My room was just a room, but nothing was obviously missing and the bed was pretty comfortable (not two singles shoved together). Bathroom was much newer and was nice and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Brisvegas_clint,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to give each and every of our valued guests the best 5 star customer service experience and it is a pleasure to know you have received that during your stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stay at the Amora regularly for work. I have always found the time I have spent there to be very comfortable and easy. The gym is well equipped but a little small, nice pool area. Rooms are clean and well stocked, staff are friendly. Breakfast buffet is varied and you can make special orders. I do miss the fresh OJ machine though. I have been able to advise of my favourite rooms in the building and if possible I am accommodated in these rooms. Close to everything in the city and easy to get to as right above Wynyard station.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern side have more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear TropicBali,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comments regarding our friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team. We are delighted you had a very comfortable stay with us and have enjoyed all our facilities. Thank you for your feedback regarding the fresh OJ machine this has been shared with the Food & Beverage Manager for review.

We wish to welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here when booking a LastMinute "Mystery Hotel". Whilst it is better than 4 star, the 5 stars it claims to have is a bit ambitious.

Our room had blinds that were broken and tile grout missing in the shower. Perhaps because we paid the lowest of the lowest prices to stay there we were given a dud room, but overall the rest of the hotel (foyer, reception, bar, service etc) were good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear bigdog101,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We strive to give all our valued guests the best 5 star experience when staying with us and we sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations on this stay. Your feedback has been shared with the entire Amora Executive Management team and the items we have unfortunately missed will be reviewed with urgency.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for a better Amora Jamison Sydney experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a great long weekend with friends. We came over for a friends 50th. The hotel was in an ideal spot for shopping, markets, rocks, circular quay. The room was nice, with a huge bathroom with full bath. The black out curtains did just that and an amazingly quiet room. The rooms were very clean, however, we had a few drinks in our room with friends the first night from the mini bar. The drinks were not replaced in the 3 nights we were there. Very minor detail! Friends used the pool and spa and thought it was great. 2 men opening the doors to greet and farewell felt pretty flash! A great stay, thanks so much! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Jackimarcella,

Thank you for your kind review of your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Happy 50th Birthday once again to your friend. We are delighted you and your friends decided to spend such a special day with us at the Amora. It is great to know both you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us in our very spacious and comfortable rooms. Your constructive feedback regarding the minibar is well received and has been shared with the Food & Beverage manager for training purposes.

We truly look forward in welcoming you and your friends back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel regularly for work but it had been a few years since my last stay. I was delighted that the high standards have not changed. Staff are friendly and efficient. I arrived at 11.00am at the end of a 30 hour trip and understandably, my room wasn't ready. As I was meeting people for lunch I asked if there was somewhere I could shower. I was directed to the pool area and the staff in the spa provided me with a hairdryer so I was able to look my best at lunch. As it was, my room because available at midday. Room was what you would expect for a five star hotel - comfortable, quiet, well equipped. Hotel is only a few minutes walk to Circular Quay, the Opera House and The Rocks. In the other direction is the shops. I walked from the Amora to the Chinese Gardens at Darling Harbour and it only took 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear TwoGoodFriends,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel. Your very kind comments regarding our friendly and efficient staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team. We are delighted you enjoyed our very spacious and comfortable rooms during your stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Amora for three nights recently for a weekend getaway. The staff were so very welcoming. We were upgraded to a beautiful room as we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bed was super comfortable! We ate dinner at the restaurant once and found the food and staff to be fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying yourself. Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be staying again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Congratulations on your 10 year wedding anniversary! We are delighted you have chosen to celebrate such a special day with the Amora Team. We strive to give all our valued guests the best Amora experience when staying with us and we are pleased this was shown to you on your special day. Your very kind comments regarding Amora experience has been shared with the entire Amora Team and is greatly appreciated.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another wonderful stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel, perhaps for your 10.5 year wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at our 5 Star luxury hotel in Sydney, you’ll experience the Amora difference.This award winning 5 Star hotel in Sydney combines space, style and warmth to provide the ultimate ambience for business travel or holiday pleasure.There are 415 stylish guest rooms, two restaurants and two bars offering exceptional wining and dining facilities, seven meetings and conference rooms and a dedicated relaxation zone incorporating Amora Day Spa, a heated indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and gym.Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney is located next to Wynyard Train Station just a 10-minute walk from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. The city’s best shopping, dining and nightlife are on the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list