We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and really good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and really good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its refreshing to stay somewhere that values service. From the porters, to front desk, restaurant and housekeepers - all staff are pleasant, welcoming and willing to help. I'm constantly amazed how often this is missing in other places and it has no cost from a hotel perspective makes a stay memorable. Well done.
My room was just a room, but nothing was obviously missing and the bed was pretty comfortable (not two singles shoved together). Bathroom was much newer and was nice and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Brisvegas_clint,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to give each and every of our valued guests the best 5 star customer service experience and it is a pleasure to know you have received that during your stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    1,066
    374
    117
    65
See reviews for
284
1,304
180
723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stay at the Amora regularly for work. I have always found the time I have spent there to be very comfortable and easy. The gym is well equipped but a little small, nice pool area. Rooms are clean and well stocked, staff are friendly. Breakfast buffet is varied and you can make special orders. I do miss the fresh OJ machine though. I have been able to advise of my favourite rooms in the building and if possible I am accommodated in these rooms. Close to everything in the city and easy to get to as right above Wynyard station.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern side have more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear TropicBali,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comments regarding our friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team. We are delighted you had a very comfortable stay with us and have enjoyed all our facilities. Thank you for your feedback regarding the fresh OJ machine this has been shared with the Food & Beverage Manager for review.

We wish to welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here when booking a LastMinute "Mystery Hotel". Whilst it is better than 4 star, the 5 stars it claims to have is a bit ambitious.

Our room had blinds that were broken and tile grout missing in the shower. Perhaps because we paid the lowest of the lowest prices to stay there we were given a dud room, but overall the rest of the hotel (foyer, reception, bar, service etc) were good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear bigdog101,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We strive to give all our valued guests the best 5 star experience when staying with us and we sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations on this stay. Your feedback has been shared with the entire Amora Executive Management team and the items we have unfortunately missed will be reviewed with urgency.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for a better Amora Jamison Sydney experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a great long weekend with friends. We came over for a friends 50th. The hotel was in an ideal spot for shopping, markets, rocks, circular quay. The room was nice, with a huge bathroom with full bath. The black out curtains did just that and an amazingly quiet room. The rooms were very clean, however, we had a few drinks in our room with friends the first night from the mini bar. The drinks were not replaced in the 3 nights we were there. Very minor detail! Friends used the pool and spa and thought it was great. 2 men opening the doors to greet and farewell felt pretty flash! A great stay, thanks so much! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Jackimarcella,

Thank you for your kind review of your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Happy 50th Birthday once again to your friend. We are delighted you and your friends decided to spend such a special day with us at the Amora. It is great to know both you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us in our very spacious and comfortable rooms. Your constructive feedback regarding the minibar is well received and has been shared with the Food & Beverage manager for training purposes.

We truly look forward in welcoming you and your friends back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel regularly for work but it had been a few years since my last stay. I was delighted that the high standards have not changed. Staff are friendly and efficient. I arrived at 11.00am at the end of a 30 hour trip and understandably, my room wasn't ready. As I was meeting people for lunch I asked if there was somewhere I could shower. I was directed to the pool area and the staff in the spa provided me with a hairdryer so I was able to look my best at lunch. As it was, my room because available at midday. Room was what you would expect for a five star hotel - comfortable, quiet, well equipped. Hotel is only a few minutes walk to Circular Quay, the Opera House and The Rocks. In the other direction is the shops. I walked from the Amora to the Chinese Gardens at Darling Harbour and it only took 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear TwoGoodFriends,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel. Your very kind comments regarding our friendly and efficient staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team. We are delighted you enjoyed our very spacious and comfortable rooms during your stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Amora for three nights recently for a weekend getaway. The staff were so very welcoming. We were upgraded to a beautiful room as we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bed was super comfortable! We ate dinner at the restaurant once and found the food and staff to be fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying yourself. Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be staying again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Congratulations on your 10 year wedding anniversary! We are delighted you have chosen to celebrate such a special day with the Amora Team. We strive to give all our valued guests the best Amora experience when staying with us and we are pleased this was shown to you on your special day. Your very kind comments regarding Amora experience has been shared with the entire Amora Team and is greatly appreciated.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another wonderful stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel, perhaps for your 10.5 year wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have stayed here twice in recent months both times as a "mystery hotel" on wotif. At that level represents really good value in a great location. Facilities and rooms are more than adequate and beds very comfortable I just doubt that compared to others in the city it is truly 5 star that's why at mystery rates its is good but probably would be a bit peeved if I paid full advertised rack rate.
Overall though it is well located and appointed with everything you would need and I would be more than happy to have an overnight stay there again at the right price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Tricolours,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed our very comfortable beds and our spacious rooms. We strive to give all our valued guests the best 5-star experience when stay with us with our above and beyond service and great facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.