We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Save Saved
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WIFI
Ranked #35 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Amora for three nights recently for a weekend getaway. The staff were so very welcoming. We were upgraded to a beautiful room as we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bed was super comfortable! We ate dinner at the restaurant once and found the food and staff to be fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying yourself. Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be staying again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Congratulations on your 10 year wedding anniversary! We are delighted you have chosen to celebrate such a special day with the Amora Team. We strive to give all our valued guests the best Amora experience when staying with us and we are pleased this was shown to you on your special day. Your very kind comments regarding Amora experience has been shared with the entire Amora Team and is greatly appreciated.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another wonderful stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel, perhaps for your 10.5 year wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    664
    283
    86
    57
See reviews for
124
804
120
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gosford NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have stayed here twice in recent months both times as a "mystery hotel" on wotif. At that level represents really good value in a great location. Facilities and rooms are more than adequate and beds very comfortable I just doubt that compared to others in the city it is truly 5 star that's why at mystery rates its is good but probably would be a bit peeved if I paid full advertised rack rate.
Overall though it is well located and appointed with everything you would need and I would be more than happy to have an overnight stay there again at the right price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Tricolours,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed our very comfortable beds and our spacious rooms. We strive to give all our valued guests the best 5-star experience when stay with us with our above and beyond service and great facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Amora Jamison Street is perfectly situated of the visitor. Within walking distance of pretty much everything. Being only a couple of blocks from the Rocks, Circular Quay, Cockle Wharf it is a great spot to position yourself for a few days in Sydney. A good stroll gets you to Darling Harbour. Perfect position! Staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Rooms vary with your budget. I strongly recommend getting as high up as possible, not only for the views but to escape the city street noise. (being from a very very rural home the noise can be a problem). Room was spacious, comfortable arm chairs, and a spacious bathroom wiht a decent size bath that has a view! That was a nice luxury after a day wandering the streets.

Room Tip: take an upgrade if offered, worth it and seek a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear ClockmakersWife,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our extremely courteous and helpful staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future for another enjoyable Amora experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Starting to show its age. I usually stay here a few times a year. Friendly staff. Good location within walking distance to Circulay Quay and The Rocks. Rooms need a refresh. Menu also needs a update. All rooms are always clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr_Hyperactive,

Thank you very much for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive comments regarding our rooms is well received and has been shared with the Executive Team for review. We strive to give all our valued guests the friendliest and the most comfortable experience when staying with us and it is a pleasure to know this was shown to you during your recent stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back once again to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very polite reception. Got upgraded to suite for an extra $50 instead of $100. Room was nice and spacious. Not a bad view of the park but from our angle the sun very rarely shone into our room. Nice bathroom, big shower and bath. Would definitely recommend to everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Juddy_AU,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your very nice and comfortable room during your stay. Your very kind comments regarding our polite reception staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the Rooms Division Manager and his team.

We look forward to your return to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of Sydney's best Hotels,

My wife and I stayed here back in January of 2013 and we both thought that this hotel was the best hotel that we stayed in Sydney (We had to stay at a few this trip).

The staff were friendly and professional, whilst the other hotels we stayed at were professional some of the hotel were very stand offish as with the Amora nothing was a problem.

One sign of a great hotel is to see flight crews from airlines like United Airlines, American Airlines, British Airways, Emirates, Thai Airways, Delta, Singapore Airlines, Qantas and Malaysian Airways using this hotel as a crewing hotel as these airlines only pick the best hotels for their flight crews to stay at in the cities that they flying into under contract with the hotel owners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear mcajimbo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you and your wife thoroughly enjoy staying with us when on your trips. We strive to give all our valued guests the highest quality service possible and it is a pleasure to know that this was given to you and your wife during your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our professional and friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you and your wife back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at the Amora Hotel Jamison when I'm in Sydney on business. I was initially drawn to the property because of its proximity to my Sydney office, but they have kep my business by maintaining a good quality business with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are usually bigger and brighter with windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Rod R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you thoroughly enjoy your stay with us and it's proximity to your office. Your very kind comments regarding our good quality business and friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward to continuing welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel for years to come.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at our 5 Star luxury hotel in Sydney, you’ll experience the Amora difference.This award winning 5 Star hotel in Sydney combines space, style and warmth to provide the ultimate ambience for business travel or holiday pleasure.There are 415 stylish guest rooms, two restaurants and two bars offering exceptional wining and dining facilities, seven meetings and conference rooms and a dedicated relaxation zone incorporating Amora Day Spa, a heated indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and gym.Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney is located next to Wynyard Train Station just a 10-minute walk from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. The city’s best shopping, dining and nightlife are on the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.