We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Save Saved
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Amora Jamison Street is perfectly situated of the visitor. Within walking distance of pretty much everything. Being only a couple of blocks from the Rocks, Circular Quay, Cockle Wharf it is a great spot to position yourself for a few days in Sydney. A good stroll gets you to Darling Harbour. Perfect position! Staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Rooms vary with your budget. I strongly recommend getting as high up as possible, not only for the views but to escape the city street noise. (being from a very very rural home the noise can be a problem). Room was spacious, comfortable arm chairs, and a spacious bathroom wiht a decent size bath that has a view! That was a nice luxury after a day wandering the streets.

Room Tip: take an upgrade if offered, worth it and seek a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear ClockmakersWife,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our extremely courteous and helpful staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future for another enjoyable Amora experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    540
    256
    75
    55
See reviews for
96
673
103
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Starting to show its age. I usually stay here a few times a year. Friendly staff. Good location within walking distance to Circulay Quay and The Rocks. Rooms need a refresh. Menu also needs a update. All rooms are always clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr_Hyperactive,

Thank you very much for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive comments regarding our rooms is well received and has been shared with the Executive Team for review. We strive to give all our valued guests the friendliest and the most comfortable experience when staying with us and it is a pleasure to know this was shown to you during your recent stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back once again to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very polite reception. Got upgraded to suite for an extra $50 instead of $100. Room was nice and spacious. Not a bad view of the park but from our angle the sun very rarely shone into our room. Nice bathroom, big shower and bath. Would definitely recommend to everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Juddy_AU,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your very nice and comfortable room during your stay. Your very kind comments regarding our polite reception staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the Rooms Division Manager and his team.

We look forward to your return to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of Sydney's best Hotels,

My wife and I stayed here back in January of 2013 and we both thought that this hotel was the best hotel that we stayed in Sydney (We had to stay at a few this trip).

The staff were friendly and professional, whilst the other hotels we stayed at were professional some of the hotel were very stand offish as with the Amora nothing was a problem.

One sign of a great hotel is to see flight crews from airlines like United Airlines, American Airlines, British Airways, Emirates, Thai Airways, Delta, Singapore Airlines, Qantas and Malaysian Airways using this hotel as a crewing hotel as these airlines only pick the best hotels for their flight crews to stay at in the cities that they flying into under contract with the hotel owners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear mcajimbo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you and your wife thoroughly enjoy staying with us when on your trips. We strive to give all our valued guests the highest quality service possible and it is a pleasure to know that this was given to you and your wife during your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our professional and friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you and your wife back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at the Amora Hotel Jamison when I'm in Sydney on business. I was initially drawn to the property because of its proximity to my Sydney office, but they have kep my business by maintaining a good quality business with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are usually bigger and brighter with windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Rod R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you thoroughly enjoy your stay with us and it's proximity to your office. Your very kind comments regarding our good quality business and friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward to continuing welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel for years to come.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When arriving at this hotel last Friday we were greeted professionally by a young fellow who was efficient but without any personality at all. Arriving at our room the disappointment was evident amongst myself and my colleague. From the tiny room, 2 king single beds, old red bedspreads and blinds that were falling apart we were not happy. The only thing going for it was that we got the room cheap on a wotif mystery deal. Location is good but NOT 5 Star at all. The breakfast was average and service pompous. Not coming back at all and cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: No good rooms, avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Claire I,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive feedback regarding our accommodation rooms and Gallery Restaurant breakfast is well received and has been shared with the Rooms Division Manager and also the Food and Beverage Manager for review.

We look forward in hopefully being able to welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the future for a better Amora experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked a room at the Amora Jamison online through a "mystery" deal.
Arrived at reception before noon to drop off luggage and was pleased to find my room was ready. (The staff photocopied my driver's licence - hopefully this is standard otherwise I must have looked dodgy.)
I had booked a king room but because it was just me, I mentioned in the booking I would be happy with a twin if it meant a high floor.
I was given a twin room on the 28th floor which I was more than happy with. There was a glimpse of the Opera House between buildings and the room overlooked George Street below, which gave me a bird's eye view of the navy parade on October 9.
The office building so close next door made me laugh, those poor people must have a few stories to tell. ;) I'm not sure if the Amora's windows are tinted because I could see myself reflected in the next building's windows when I looked out of mine.
There was a cool view of the AWA building and a park in the other direction.
The free wi-fi was very convenient and the TV was great. Unlike a lot of hotels, the remote control actually worked.
LOVED the bathroom. The bath was very decadent and I even dared to leave the blinds open to gaze at the city lights during a late-night soak (with champagne and chocolate). The toiletries were nice quality.
The hotel is very convenient to Wynyard station. You can get to the hotel from the station very easily through the MetCentre shopping arcade without having to go to George Street, unless it's after about 7pm.
The staff in the lobby were very attentive and it was quite special to have the door opened for me every single time. October 10 was particularly hot and they had bottled water in a basket near the door, which was a nice touch.
The bed was super comfortable and the blockout blinds were very effective.
It took me a little time to figure out the light switches because the labels were hard to read but I really liked the master on-off switches and the "welcome" light option at the door.
Unfortunately I was unwell at the time of my visit to Sydney so I spent much of the night coughing. It's a safe bet the rooms are soundproof but if not, hopefully I was next door to the "flaming" reviewer below. Just joking, of course. ;)

Room Tip: Be prepared to compromise on bedding configuration to improve your chance of a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sneetch,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you have gotten better from your cough and are feeling 100% now. Your concern regarding the request for your photo I.D. on check-in is understandable and we would like to assure you this procedure is a requirement from wotif.com and this is printed on all guest e-confirmation correspondence, which is why the Hotel has requested on your arrival. We thank you for your kind comments regarding our attentive Amora staff members which has been shared with the entire team.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future for another great experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at our 5 Star luxury hotel in Sydney, you’ll experience the Amora difference.This award winning 5 Star hotel in Sydney combines space, style and warmth to provide the ultimate ambience for business travel or holiday pleasure.There are 415 stylish guest rooms, two restaurants and two bars offering exceptional wining and dining facilities, seven meetings and conference rooms and a dedicated relaxation zone incorporating Amora Day Spa, a heated indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and gym.Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney is located next to Wynyard Train Station just a 10-minute walk from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. The city’s best shopping, dining and nightlife are on the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.