We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good property in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good property in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a great hotel which we found very comfortable. Our request for a high floor was given in spades and we had a room on the 29th floor. The staff were very friendly and both check in and check out we're quick and easy. Hopefully this hotel will soon be refurbished at the fit out is a bit tired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear nicktaz,

As I have recently joined the Amora Jamison Hotel and wish to thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay 2 June.

Your very constructive comment regarding the room décor is well received and I am delighted to share with you that the Hotel will soon commence a full room refurbishment program. This work will not interrupt our normal hotel operations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Jamison in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    835
    321
    98
    61
See reviews for
165
988
142
556
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Avoca Beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We too scored this hotel as a Wotif Mystery hotel. The staff were great, very friendly, the room on the 20th floor was large with a big bathroom, very comfortable beds. The hotel had a special breakfast deal $20 per person, I'm glad we took up the offer. The dinning room was nice , the breakfast spread was very good and again helpful staff.
I hope the next mystery hotel is this one or one of the same standard
We did not use the spa but the pool looked good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Donswim,

As I have recently joined the Amora Jamison Hotel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay 1 June 2013.

I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to score this hotel as a ''mystery'' hotel I booked on Wotif. I therefore was happy with the price paid for what I got. Not sure if I would have been happy to pay market price though. The location is superb - right in town. Plenty of places to eat nearby. we ate breakfast out the next morning and the choice is abundant and the prices excellent. the breakfast in the hotel is very expensive and not worth the expense in my opinion. We had a drink in the bar which has a nice ambiance but the prices are very high - excessive in fact. The staff were all very pleasant and charming at reception and through out the hotel. Our room was a great size. The beds, extremely comfortable, the bathroom clean and inviting and the products of good quality and generous sizes. If you need to park a vehicle do ensure you get your voucher stamped as overnight the parking fees were $180 yes more than the cost of our room - crazy! We paid $40 for the parking with the hotel stamp. We just stayed overnight on our way to the Blue mountains and in all was very happy with what i got for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

from the moment we drove up to the front door, the service was exceptional. concierge, front desk,room service all excellent. The location is terrific, so close to the quay,didnt need the car,just used public transport. Booked thru a wotif deal and had a room on the 17th floor. Thank you Amora ,we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had never heard of this hotel and ended up here after a mystery last minute stay special. Well the service was outstanding, the seafood buffet was above average with a huge selection of fresh and cooked fair, the staff were friendly, helpful, attentive and polite ( os opposed to previous reveiws - Management must have given them a shake up as we had nothing but praise to bestow on the excellent service).We were very lucky to obtain a room upgrade, the room was fantastic. Lovely view west over Barangaroo all the way out to Homebush and the mountains. Ask for a high floor facing Darling Harbour. Overall a very pleasant stay.. Would recommned this hotel for activities close to Circular Quay and the Harbour.

Room Tip: Western side high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Terrific hotel, very close to Sydney Harbour. A nice bright room and aircon never needed altering, was perfect. Seafood banquet was excellent well worth the money and service was terrific. Staff we very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Amora on Jamison through lastminute.com as a secret hotel, and we totally scored! The staff are outstanding, very helpful and courteous. The rooms were excellent and very clean, and the location very central. Any requests were granted, and with a smile! Highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at our 5 Star luxury hotel in Sydney, you’ll experience the Amora difference.This award winning 5 Star hotel in Sydney combines space, style and warmth to provide the ultimate ambience for business travel or holiday pleasure.There are 415 stylish guest rooms, two restaurants and two bars offering exceptional wining and dining facilities, seven meetings and conference rooms and a dedicated relaxation zone incorporating Amora Day Spa, a heated indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and gym.Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney is located next to Wynyard Train Station just a 10-minute walk from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. The city’s best shopping, dining and nightlife are on the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.