We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Close to Sydney Icons. Walk to Circular Quay, Rocks, Bridge and Opera House. Close to Fantastic Restaurants nearby. Our Room 1111, was spotless. Huge bathroom with full size bath. Huge soft bed. Staff attentive. View opposite was interesting office building, that left its lights on all weekend (why?) and you can glimpse water to the left. Amora Jamison ticks a lot of boxes. We were very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: We liked Room 1111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    834
    321
    98
    61
See reviews for
165
986
141
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We got our deal from lastminute.com and paid $205/night for a 3 night stay over the weekend. We got this off a secret hotel deals so we had no idea what we were getting into. Once the booking was made and we found out that it was the Amora, I did some research and ended up pretty worried from some of the comments I've seen...

While I do agree that there are some spots on the hotel that need upgrading (scuff marks on walls, old carpet, old shower tiles, room safe and fridge) I rather enjoyed our stay. None of the items that need upgrading really took away from your stay & to be honest the other half didnt even notice them until I pointed them out. For the amount we paid, this was really good value for money.

The room was huge, there were enough channels to sift through, they automatically provided extra pillows and blankets in case needed, there was even a pillow menu in case you werent happy with the ones found in your room! I also loved that the hotel had a spa pool, a wet & dry sauna, and a pool apart from the usual fitness center. Again, good value!

Service wise check in and out were both speedy and painless, there was always someone to open your door, and they even helped the hubby find a charger for his laptop since he forgot his. We were happy.

As for location -- it was great. We were within minutes of the rocks, the opera house and georges street was just around the corner. We can be at Wynyard Station in less than 2 minutes, and lots of places for late night munchies nearby and a supermarket to boot.

Trumps previous hotels we've tried in Sydney which in fact were priced much higher than the Amora. Would definitely book here again for future trips.

We stayed on the 7th floor and even had a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I picked this hotel- or rather it was picked for me - on a mystery deal. I had to be in Sydney on Business but I always come for fun as well. The mystery idea was to save a few dollars but otherwise if you were interested in 5 star luxury you wouldn't pick this hotel. It has a few of the trappings, a friendly doorman and good front desk service but the rooms are dated. The TV had poor reception on some channels and lives in a cupboard. It just has a cheap feel about it. No new milk for coffee/tea or new toiletries on day two. The blinds don't blockout the light. The good bits are that that the bed is comfy and the bathroom large with a nice bath. Location is good for transport and it is only 500 metres or so from the Quay. If your after luxury/location and everything to be just so, I'd pick the Intercontinental for a few dollars more and that hotel has great views. This hotel might scrape to 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor you might score a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Got this one off a Secret Deal/Mystery hotel site. 2 nights cost $495. First time staying here. Wanted 2 beds as was with my sis. Rooms very comfortably appointed with 2 king singles. Quiet. Clean light bathroom, big bath, generous room size. Good view onto the residential apartments next door so you could have a dorrie to see how the other half lives. Didn't really have anything to do with staff or food & beverage outlets so can't comment. Would stay here again as we like location down the Circular Quay end of town - close to train at Wynyard, ferries at the Quay and walking tracks around the Opera House, Harbour Bridge and Gardens.

Room Tip: 2316 looks west onto highrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatemansBay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Most of the other reviews have got it. This is not a Five Star hotel. Maybe just scrapes in at Four Star. Location is great. The desk should automatically give you the WiFi code on check in so you do not need to return or phone to find out.

Room Tip: If you take a $150 Wotif mystery 5 star you probably should expect better. Wotif as well as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a Wotif mystery deal over the weekend of Oct 20-22nd. We had a great room, it was on a corner on Level 5 and very quiet. Check-in was very easy, the door staff were lovely and friendly, the highlight was when they offered me a free bottle of water after a morning run around the harbour, as I returned to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again, only a 5 min walk to shops in George/Pitt St and same to the Rocks and Circular Quay. There is a Lindt Cafe right next door which is also very handy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Amora for the second time recently.

The service as always was top notch with staff friendly and very helpful.
The location is very hard to beat being only a block or so from circular quay, the rock and George Street.

Last time we stayed I noted that the rooms were looking a little run down. Not so this time. The room was clean and impecably maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rydges Jamison Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at our 5 Star luxury hotel in Sydney, you’ll experience the Amora difference.This award winning 5 Star hotel in Sydney combines space, style and warmth to provide the ultimate ambience for business travel or holiday pleasure.There are 415 stylish guest rooms, two restaurants and two bars offering exceptional wining and dining facilities, seven meetings and conference rooms and a dedicated relaxation zone incorporating Amora Day Spa, a heated indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and gym.Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney is located next to Wynyard Train Station just a 10-minute walk from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. The city’s best shopping, dining and nightlife are on the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.