We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   207 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2063, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shropshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a very comfortable well run and friendly hotel. Alan is a star. I slept well and it's a short run to the Opera House for the enthusiastic runners amongst you. I prefer leaving reviews via Feefo but made an exception on this occasion!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    133
    26
    12
    16
See reviews for
39
183
61
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much and everybody has been very welcoming. Including the two furry friend Bear and Slick.

The location is fantastic right in the buzzy area of Sydney. We will defenitly come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

It was ok.
Trendy but classic decor, but like the sign out the front says, budget hotel. I couldn't find this anywhere on the web though...! The website is very kind.....
They're pet friendly, which is great if you have them and cool if you like pets.
If you don't, ensure you ask for a "pet-free" room, mine had that slightly pungent dog smell with a hint of urine...
It wasn't too offensive, but not overly pleasant or nice to be in.
The staff and friendly and helpful.
Ensure your schedule is cemented in too. Due to a terribly serious family issue, I had to cut my stay and drive back home interstate. Their cancellation policy is non-compassionate, aggressive and inflexible, a classic characteristic of a budget hotel.

To be honest I found this hotel to be the poorer of the other "8Hotels" I've stayed in.

So if you're after a 3 star venue to house yourself and a hound, it'll do the job.

Room Tip: Unless you're taking a pet, be sure to ask for a "pet-free" room, mine had that slighl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanmzzz, Manager at Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hello Sam

I'm pleased that you found the Altamont to be classic and trendy - great too that our staff were friendly and helpful.

Four of our fourteen rooms are pet-friendly, and they feature polished concrete floors with rugs. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned, scrubbed and deodorized after every pet visit - there are no odours emanating from any of our rooms.

Our cancellation policy is very flexible, and we will always refund when we can re-sell the room. When you departed after one day of a two-day stay, regrettably the room remained unsold that day.

I do hope that you may try us again when next you are in the harbour city.

Cheers for now..........Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borroloola, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have now stayed at The Altamont hotel a couple of times. The relaxed, friendly service and the excellent location ensure that we will definitely be heading back again, when we are next in Sydney. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the location is stellar if you want to discover the many charming restaurants and cafes nearby.
Breakfast is provided in the reception area where you will always find efficient and friendly staff. It is also in the reception area where you may meet Slick and her daughter, Bear; surely two of Sydney's most welcoming and friendly dogs!
We look forward to coming back.
Andrew & Lawrence

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

As the daughter of an irrepressible dog owner I had heard that the Altamont was the perfect place to stay when travelling with furry company to Sydney. I wasn't disappointed at all, to be greeted by the owner's 2 lovely placid dogs in the cosy lobby/foyer upon arriving, clientele that are obviously very dog friendly and rooms that open out onto a little courtyard so my new puppy could have a sniff around. It really made it feel like home to be able to sit inside in the foyer, use the free wi fi and have a drink with my dog Handsome by my side. Not to mention walking distance to off-leash dog parks with beautiful views and doggie community.

For people travelling without dogs benefits of the Altamont include its affordability, offer of cheap parking in the heart of Sydney, proximity to beautiful Elizabeth Bay, raucous Kings Cross and yuppie heaven Potts Point, spacious comfortable rooms (ours had an art deco feel to it), and service that extended to letting me push back the check-out time by 4 hours without any hesitation and the simple reason "of course, we'll look after you".

Breakfast is small and plain, but it hardly matters with such reasonable prices and great cafes meters away. I highly recommend the Altamont and will definitely be back with Handsome by my side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard if you are travelling with a dog to save you having to venture out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Altamont is a great little budget hotel. Great central location to get to everywhere from (you can walk into the CBD in about 20min stroll) and pleasant staff. All you need for breakfast (cereals, toast, spreads and juice/coffee) and lovely old world music playing for your enjoyment. The one thing that let the Altamont down for me, was that the room we were in (we were very grateful for a free upgrade to king bed room) had windows facing out to a side street off the main road and there seemed to be a consistant stream of people walking past, not to mention the street sweeper trucks early morning and just other city noises in general. The airconditioner in the room also worked on a dull roar so take your earplugs to get a restful night's sleep. Overall I really liked the set up of the hotel, it had a feel cool, funky, boutique vibe about it and it was a pleasant experience other than the above mentioned. Don't let this put you off staying a great budget hotel, just be aware of the facts and come prepared. Perhaps the other rooms not on street level do not encounter the noise... Lastly, the Altamont has a great rooftop terrace area, its a lovely space to have a late arvo drink with friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street to avoid night time noises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanmzzz, Manager at Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hello Tigmus

Cheers for your positive comments about the Altamont, although I am very sorry that you were so unfortunate to have experienced some street noise during your stay. We are situated at the begining of the residential section of trendy Darlinghurst, and background noise is indeed rare.
I can see that you are a well travelled Trip Advisor member and I am most pleased that you found us to have a cool and funky vibe with a great rooftop garden.
I look forward to hosting you again when next you are in Sydney.

Bye for now...........Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times now whilst on business in Sydney.

The staff are super-friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious, the beds are comfy, the bathroom facilities are all of a good standard.

You won't feel like you've made a mistake booking here if you're after good value for money and a nice well located base for a short stay in Sydney.

Recommend.

Room Tip: Room 11 is in the corridor on the ground floor and you can get a tiny bit of noise from passing resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 207 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2063, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL ALTAMONT - A GREAT VALUE HOTEL WITH LOTS OF STYLE AND PERSONALITY. An amazing location in the heart of Sydney’s most exciting and eclectic neighbourhood. Alan and his team will welcome you with their personalised hospitality. Let them guide you to the best eats, experiences and hotspots that only locals know about.Rest your head in Sydney's most unique hotel, the ALTAMONT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamont Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.