We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added APX Apartments Darling Harbour to your Saves list
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Dixon Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Quest apartments whilst on a combined business trip and holiday to Sydney. We found that it was perfectly positioned to explore Sydney and really benefited from being so close to Darling Harbour where we spent quite a few evenings.

The rooms were clean and provided everything that we needed during our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, managing to get our room ready quickly when we arrived 5 hours before check in time which was most appreciated after 24 hours in the air!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    41
    20
    32
See reviews for
26
61
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

we stayed here for an extended weekend when attending a concert at the entertainment centre. close to everything, a short walk to george street to get a bus to the circular quay ferries. very friendly staff.

Room Tip: we had a front room with a little noise late evening / early morning but not enough to bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Quest on Dixon was very convenient as only a short walk to Sydney Entertainment Centre (where we went to the awesome "The Scipt" concert 7 April). Darling Harbour's restuarants, Paddy's Market, George Street shops, local transport, central railway station. Train from Central Station goes direct to International airport A$16 per adult) hassel free. Had an excecutive studio No. 57. Small kitchenette with hotplate, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle. Reasonable spacious room with sofa, dining table, balcony. Hotel situated in quite lane at opposite end to Chinatown so no through car traffic. Lots of great eating downstairs. No view of city from our 5th floor room but good for sleeping. Hotel asks a A$200 security bond but can only be accepted with your credit card. You will be refunded this in 4-5 working days. If you don't take your credit card make sure you give them the number to charge or they will freeze the A$200 on your debit card. Room was average as far as cleanliness (but I am fussy). Ask to check room first before checking in. If anything wrong ask for another room. If you pay on checkin and then something wrong chances are they will not move you to another room. Hotel reception staff were pleasant and helpful although there were a lot of staff changes during our time. So didnt get the same staff member each time. Being in the Chinatown area a lot of hotel accommodation in this area is residental. Worth staying here again on another visit.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Darling harbour and bridge ask for rooms on top two floors. Executive studios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

STAFF: The staff were helpful, friendly and allowed us to check in at 9am even if check in time was at 2pm. They were willing to do so probably because they had a bit of space in the bookings - this gesture of quickly checking that the room as clean and ready saved us from having to checking in later in the day and allowing us the whole day to do what we wanted in Sydney. Tick!

ROOM: The room we got was a double standard room. It was tidy, spacious, and complete.
From a microwave, to the kitchenette, to an ironing board, to lots of spacious wardrobes, to TV, DVD player, couch, coffee table, hair dryer... you name it! Bed could have been a bit bigger but I did not see any queen or king sized beds while booking. The room however was VERY spacious! you can literally do cartwheels in it. The balcony is also quite spacious. No issues there and overlooks Dixon Street. I heard in other reviews that rooms in the higher floors have better views.

AREA: Where do I start? First visit to Sydney or just wanting to be amidst it all? This is the area to be! Trust me!

The street gets busy at night, with all the restaurants down below (this is the start of Dixon which is the beginning of the street that leads into Chinatown) Noisy? yes, but only on the balcony. Once you close the sliding door that leads to the balcony, the room is very peaceful and quiet, like you're not in the centre of it all... great for a peaceful night's rest.
From the door of the apartments - go left and there's china town, the market place and all the food you could ever consume. Head up Liverpool Street (20 steps to the right) and you get the row of Spanish restaurants. Heading up further on Liverpool Street leads you to the corner of George Street and making a left on here puts you on the start of the shopping and entertainment precinct. Making a left on George Street leads you to the beautiful, I repeat, beautiful, gardens that are lined with upmarket restaurants and ice cream shops - carrying on this path heads to Darling Harbour (10 min walk)

I could not stress how handy this location is.

It's also 10 minute walk to Museum Station which has a $16AUD ticket to get to the international airport.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants everything listed above without blowing their budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Quest on Dixon is ideally located for a trip to Sydney. It is very close to most amenities especially Darling Harbour and all that it offers. The hotel is quite tired and although our one bed apartment was adequate as we were there over the Easter break we had three days of no service and we are not sure we were catered for adequately over the public holiday break. The fact that an urgent message was not relayed to us caused us some concern but the manager did apologise.
We would stay there again but possibly due to the location of where Quest on Dixon is placed. The hotel needs some refurbishment to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location if need to be near Entertainment Centre/Darling Harbour, clean rooms, pleasant helpful staff. Would recommend and more than likely stay again. Not to far to walk into centre of Sydney. Room was quiet, 7th floor at back of building with a sunny balcony. Room was smallish, but if you are out and about and only there to sleep etc not a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your views on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that your overall experience with us was positive and thank you for your highlights on our great location and friendly staff.
It is indeed rewarding and reassuring to receive such positive reviews and learn that you will be coming back to stay with us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon.

Kind regards,
Cristine Palmero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at Quest on Dixon for two and half months during my recent business trip to Sydney. As everyone has mentioned, location is the major asset here, with so many happening places in the close vicinity. The staff is (like Sam,Ellen) courteous and friendly. Exec studio was well equipped with full kitchen, well lit room, spacious patio/balcony, good facility (cleaning) services. I stayed on 2nd floor and enjoyed the view of the 'busy' Dixon st over each weekend (it was well quiet otherwise)
The only thing I would like to mention is, though my room was booked with unlimited broadband internet, the internet passcode used to expire frequently and I had to get it reset (but yes, they used to reset it very quickly)
And yes, one more, since I had a late night check in, though I had confirmed prior to my travel about adequate arrangements for my after-hours check in, there was no one at the front desk and I had to seek help from one tenant to make a call to the on-call reception to have me check-in.
Apart from that, my entire stay was hassle free and enjoyed the long stay at this Serviced Apt. Thank you Quest for making my trip a memorable and cherishable.

Room Tip: Either book rooms on 2nd/3rd floor to have a nice overview of the Dixon St, or opt for the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Prasad,

Thank you for your favorable comments and I am delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were met to your satisfaction. I am pleased to hear that your overall experience with us was positive and thank you for your highlights on our great location, lovely views, and the welcoming service of our associates, most especially Sam and Ellen. I appreciate you comment with regards to internet passcode which has shared to the right department.
An after hour check in is always available at the Quest on Dixon. After hour number is available on on hour entrance door. Which has always been assisted by our sister company Quest On World Square. I have shared this comment to the right department for their attention
Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Cristine Palmero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Address: 8 Dixon Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APX Apartments Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.