We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible and Cost effective” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aspire Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Aspire Hotel Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   383-389 Bulwara Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE UPGRADE & WINE
Ranked #119 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Accessible and Cost effective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to city, close to public transport.

Ideal location and nice and spacious rooms.

Attentive and helpful staff.

Good for families, couple or business stays.

Only drawback being no free wifi at rooms.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr Deepak
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a feedback of your recent stay with Aspire Hotel Sydney. We are absolutely thrilled to your feedback and are also so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Aspire Hotel Sydney.
In regards to an internet, we are offering a free Wi-Fi at both business centre and lobby area for all our customers. We will definitely consider your advice regarding Wi-Fi in the room as well.
Once again, thank you so much for giving us a generous compliment of both our staff and room. We very much hope that it was not your last stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Aspire Hotel Sydney in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    100
    82
    41
    21
See reviews for
63
76
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toukley, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Search hard to get a special price, don't pay normal pricing! Easy walk to: Powerhouse Museum, ABC Ultimo, Central Station, Darling Harbour, Chinatown. Leave your car at home. Quiet street away from traffic. Eat down the street, great cafes... the hotel breakfast, although cheap is not good value. Expect well loved furniture, fittings... age is taking its toll. The lifts will 'groan' but we survived. Value was outstanding- given the special price. The best reviews end in ...We will be back!

Room Tip: Search for best price. We got upgraded to KING room at check in. The ageing lifts can groan (sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write some comments about your recent stay with us here at Aspire.

One of the many great compliments we receive is about our convenient location, which is within close walking distances to Chinatown, Central Station, Darling Harbour and the CBD. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our location and quietness of our street. Even though we are close to many central hubs, we do not get much traffic so noise congestion is minimal. This makes for a comfortable night sleep!

It is great to hear that you got outstanding value for your stay and at a special price. It is smart to search for a good price. However, We would recommend our website first as usually run promotions and specials you cannot get anywhere else.

One Promotion we would recommend is the ‘Aspire Deluxe Upgrade Deal’ –
This deal comes with a free upgrade to a deluxe room and includes accommodation for up to 2 people only, Extra charges would apply on top of 2 people with maximum of 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 child.

Once again, thank you for writing a review of your time with us at Aspire Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in October and while we had clean rooms the decor is very dated and the sign saying that the bathroom door must be shut to save setting the fire alarm off otherwise we'd be liable for any costs was worrying. The location is average and is a good 15 minute walk to Darling Harbour. We should have worried when even the taxi driver struggled to find it and got lost. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was room only so can't comment on the food, but I would look for other hotels first that are more central for the sights or CBD

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the Aspire Hotel. We are always glad to hear comments about the cleanliness of our rooms and over time we have been gradually updating and modernizing the décor of each room to reflect a more modern look.
Most guests do find the location of our hotel convenient, being it close to Chinatown, central station and Darling Harbour without it being subject to excess noise from the busy CBD. For any future stays, we do have optional packages online on our website that include breakfast with your stay at our daily morning buffet.
Thank you once again and we do hope you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay started with a 25 minute wait to check in - our corporate travel agency booked this hotel out of sheer desperation for somewhere close to Darling Harbour at short notice. I was told at the counter that I couldn't check in until they got verification of the credit card used by our travel agent - so clearly they don't have anyone coming here on business ever. And I can see why. The main guy on duty had no idea what he was doing, had to keep ducking out to the back to get approval from some nameless/faceless "manager". He couldn't even find their own fax number so my travel agent could fax through the information they requested. Had to sit on their disgusting stained waiting room couches that looked exactly like one I had thrown out about 8 years ago while they tried to figure out how to check me in.

Room was not 'dirty' per say, but there was stains on the carpet and the place had an awful smell. There was a note on the bathroom door saying the door had to be closed during showers as it will set the fire alarm off and then you would be liable for any costs. The toilet seat was so hard and uncomfortable they must have chiseled it out of rock. I wasn't game enough to test out the shower - with the dirty shower head and shower curtain I was positive I would contract some sort of staph infection.

Decided to spend the LEAST amount of time possible in this hotel, as I was leaving to go out for dinner, the elevator takes about an hour to get from level 3 to level 1, groans can be heard throughout the building from the elevator, which I can only assume is it's way of communicating how much it does not want to be there either. When it finally got to my level, it opens and I'm met with zero light in the elevator. Scenes reminiscent of the move "Saw" is flashing through my mind. I try to find stairs to go down instead, which wasn't easy, the only door that looked like it could have housed the stairs was locked. Great.

Braved the unknown and begrudgingly stepped into the lift of doom. Suffice to say I escaped just fine, but couldn't help notice the button for level one had the number one sideways. Even the buttons aren't standing straight anymore.

Back after dinner, the bed linen was clean (as far as I could tell). Tried to charge my mobile, which I use as an alarm so keep it close to my bed. Couldn't do that, because the switch that control the power next to the bed also controls the main light in the hallway. So to charge your phone next to your bed at night means having the hallway light on. I'm not afraid of the dark anymore, so this was another pain.

Noise levels were average, could hear the elevator groaning for it's own escape every once in a while. In the morning as I was leaving the elevator light had been fixed, and I noticed a competition stuck to the wall offering to win a free nights accommodation. No thank you. Not even for free. Did not dare touch the food - cleanliness of the rooms was enough to pass up breakfast here.

The ONLY good bit is it's location, but with the amount of accommodation in Sydney, please just book soon enough that you won't have to use this place out of sheer desperation. It really was the worst hotel I think I've ever stayed in, unprofessional, run-down.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We terrible sorry that your recent stay did not meet the standards that you expected and as well the ones that we want to give to all our guests.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and also like to apologise for the concerns you have brought up in regards to the room and lift issues. We have spoken to our Maintenance Manager about these issues and we have taken actions to fix it straight away as soon as we were notified.
In regards to your feedback about cleanliness of the room I apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused. After we received the e-mail from you, we have advised our Housekeeping Manager and will review and take actions to prevent this from happening in the future.
Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.
We are in the midst of a renovation and with new management and we would like to thank you for your openness of your concerns, they will definitely be taken on board. We can assure you that we take your feedback very seriously to improve our service for our future and returning customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While the rooms were very clean, the place is incredibly old and run-down, our room had no couch, terrible lighting and a bathroom with no extractor fan and a warning that of steam from the shower sets off the fire alarm we would be liable for any costs. The lifts were worryingly creaky and unsteady and the price for parking is exorbitant. To top it all off, the breakfast that was included in our room package, that we ate while sitting next to a water feature filled with cigarette butts, was greasy and served on cracked unhygienic China. We only had it once and ended up going to nearby places for breakfast on the other two days of our stay. We paid over $200 a night for this place and it was not worth it, if looking to stay in this area I would either pay a little more for the Novotel or go back to basics at a backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to write about your stay with us at the Aspire Hotel. We strive to bring a high standard of housekeeping when cleaning our rooms and it is nice to hear their work is appreciated. We are currently and gradually updating our rooms to bring them to a more modernized standard. Therefore, there are a small number of our standard queen rooms that do not have couches at this present time.
We are sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was not as great as expected. Our water features are cleaned at regular periods throughout the week and we regret if it may have been unclean at the time of your breakfast. In terms of the other issues regarding the breakfast, these matters will be passed onto the proper departments and will be looked into. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
We are currently running promotions through this TripAdvisor to offer the best value of all TripAdvisor viewer. We hope that you will consider us again when you come back to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location,15 mins walk to Darling harbour and 10 mins from the train station but this hotel was dirty, grubby carpets, lots of dust. Kept awake at night by a noisy lift that sounded like a grizzly bear in pain. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Wi Fi in the reception area. Rooms need a re-fit, very dated, tired and not very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear SukiDel,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to post your feedback and we sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory experience with us. The seriousness of your comment and the comfort of all our guests are of utmost importance to Aspire Hotel Sydney.
In regards to your feedback about cleanliness of the room and noisy lifts, I apologize for the inconvenience them may have caused. After we received the e-mail from you, we have been advised to our Maintenance Manager, our Housekeeping Manager and our Executive Chef and they will review and take actions accordingly as we do value all our guests' comments.
Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We are walking distance to Chinatown, Darling Harbour as well as all other tourist attractions in Sydney CBD but away from the traffic of the inner city.
Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we take your feedback seriously to improve our service for our future customers. Also I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Munmorah, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

excellent location very friendly staff check in with eaz. ask for an upgrade answer was would you like sauna or pool I said pool and the look was worth a thousand dollars. lol there is no pool or sauna but the upgrade is worth the ask huge rooms and very clean. cheers regards rod beech

Room Tip: check the cost sundays good value great breakfast full breakfast $15 each no booking required just r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay in Aspire Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed the service of our friendly staff. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with generous service to all our guests.

Our normal breakfast is $18 but currently we are running a breakfast special for all our guests for $15 per guests. Next time you do book with us have a look at our Aspire Deluxe package. It includes breakfast for 1-2 people and complimentary parking for your stay.
Thank you for choosing Aspire Hotel as your preferred hotel for your stay in Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aspire Hotel Sydney in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspire Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Hotel Sydney

Address: 383-389 Bulwara Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspire Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aspire Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspire Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.