We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for a motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Aspire Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Aspire Hotel Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   383-389 Bulwara Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE UPGRADE & WINE
Ranked #119 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Pune
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service for a motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I cannot overrate the service, it was thorough professionalism, excellent. The property is the dilapidated motel kind with rugged and worn out sofas in the lobby but the room was good and well contained, excellent beds with decent housekeeping. Good price and close to darling harbor- it is a 15 minute walk to the harbor. If you are price conscious yet want to stay close to the city centre then this could be one place. When we were travelling a major conference had occupied most of the service apartments and so this was our best choice and really cannot complain about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear SMAPune,

Thank you for your recent stay in Aspire Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a nice time in Sydney. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by many of our guests who have events to attend in the nearby area or to visit the city. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    100
    82
    41
    21
See reviews for
63
76
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in April, and were very happy. The hotel was a little "tired", but this was offset by just how conveniently situated it was, 15 minutes walk to Central Station and not much further to all of the main tourist spots. The room was generous and spotlessly clean, and very quiet at night as it was in a side street. We enjoyed our stay at the Aspire.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Sue B,

Thank you for your recent stay in Aspire Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a nice time in Sydney. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by many of our guests who have events to attend in the nearby area or to visit the city. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the Aspire for 3 nights...The rooms, fittings, décor show signs of age but it was all outweighed by the locational advantage. The hotel is located so close to all the touristy bits that my parents who could easily cope with the little bit of walking to the places of interest and to the public transport where necessary.
Its right in the heart of the city and yet so quiet and peaceful. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Ghorpy,

Thank you for your recent stay in Aspire Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a nice time in Sydney. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays

Once again thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review of our hotel.
We look forward to your visit with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I spent some remarkable days in this hotel, got superb services from the staffs, cleaned bedroom and toilet, well decorated rooms, nice sideseens, good behavior and more. Actually, I desire to spent some few days in here, but leaved it only 3 days for some urgency. I decide if I go in Sydney for any reason Aspire Hotel is my only destination to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear EmilyBrown2014,

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your kind feedback.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by guests who have events to attend in the nearby area. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays. I am glad that the staff were able to help you with your requests and I will be sure to pass on your comment to our staff.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Even by Sydney standards, this costs too much.

Pro: Good location, bed was comfortable enough.

Con: Room furnishings were old and carpeting quite worn. No frills. A little noisy sometimes. The WiFi is $10/hour, only works in the lobby (they don't guarantee a good signal in rooms, which is to say there is none at all), and you need to buy it per device (!).

Bottom line: No sensible human being should ever pay the exorbitant rates this hotel demands for what it offers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Bill P,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback and I am sorry that your stay did not meet the expectations you had or the quality that we want to offer to all our guests.

We can assure you that we take your feedback seriously to improve our service for our future customers.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by guests who have events to attend in the nearby area and also by guests who want to visit Sydney’s most famous landmarks because where are located close to CBD. Also we are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays.

In regards about pricing we always try to offer the best possible rates to our customers and we also have specials for early bookings.

I hope that this information has assisted you with your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review of our hotel.
We look forward to your visit with us in the future

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The decor of my room was completely original....including, I suspect, the bed as it was so saggy and uncomfortable. The sofa bed in my room was so marked that I was not game to sit on it....it may well have been clean but it just didn't look good. The lifts are so old that they all groan deeply every time they have to move. Having said that the room and bathroom were clean and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a quiet, leafy almost village-like area of inner Sydney and is within walking distance of Central Station, Darling Harbour, the Maritime Museum, Chinatown, etc.
Overall I suppose it is okay value for money as long as you don't have a bad back as I do then the cost of physio outweighs the difference in accommodation cost to stay at a higher priced but more modern hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Chris M,

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your feedback.

Firstly, please accept my apology for the unhappy experience with our bed and lift issues. I will pass your comments to our relevant departments and will review and take actions as we do value all our guests' comments.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by guests who have events to attend in the nearby area. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays.

We always try to offer a great value for money option with a friendly service. I am glad that the staff was able to help you with your requests and our team will be very happy to see this as I pass this message to them.

Once again, we are happy to see that overall you have had a pleasant stay with us. And we will be looking forward to welcome you again the next time you visit Sydney

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The room was ok.The hotel i old and needs a facelift.The staff is polite and helpful. Problems with instalations in the room was quickly fixed.The breakfast is ok if you like eggs and bacon and cereals.The hotel is situated near a smal and nice park,short way to the main street .It is situated in a safe and quiet area. We travelled around the town all day and used the rom only for sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Josh W,

Thank you for your recent stay in Aspire Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a nice time in Sydney. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by many of our guests who have events to attend in the nearby area or to visit the city. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspire Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Hotel Sydney

Address: 383-389 Bulwara Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspire Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aspire Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspire Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.