We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's what you make of it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Perk Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Central Perk Backpackers to your Saves list
Central Perk Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Perk Backpackers
611 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's what you make of it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Arrived here from staying at 2 brilliant hostels in melbourne and can honestly say I was surprised! From the outside and some reviews it sounds terrible but honestly it's really not!! The kitchen is very much on the small side but clean and not that busy plus you have 2 large fridges to stock your food. The staff are good especially the guy with the glasses (don't know his name) but he is very helpful and you respect him and he will respect you. The showers/ toilets are generally nice, they are combined and 3 on each level and every time I have gone to use one its been free and relatively clean. They also give you free shower gel so not too bad. The Internet is good because it is free but can be very sluggish at times. The beds are comfy but if you can always go for bottom bunk!! The only bad things about this hostel in the fact it doesn't have 24hr reception and that the lockers are pretty bad, so basically you have to carry your expensive items with you unless you have a very thick lock. Haven't had the free breakfast so can't comment but all in all it's a good hostel and no matter what anyone says its the people inside the hostel that make it good or bad!!

Room Tip: Room 5 is a nice room but can get very hot! I think that goes for all corner rooms to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

worst ever experience, never going back. toilets/showers were horrible if you found a free one..
kitchen was rubbish and the worst of all the staff were rude and not helpful at all. wireless internet was about as good as dial up

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Avoid like the plague! I don't know where to start, the weirdos that seem to live in the building, the horrifically disgusting bathrooms or the kitchen which is closed for half the time. The "free" wifi is slower than a snail and the breakfast included a crust in the bottom of a bag of bread. The staff are soooo rude, and the sheets have stains on which I dread to imagine where from. They rooms were so hot you had to have the three windows open which were onto George Street, which meant it was stupidly noisy all night and I didn't get any sleep even with ear plugs. We stayed one night, got up first thing, demanded our money back and left!

Seriously, I'm not one to complain all the time, (check out my other reviews), but this place is seriously one I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for a week while job hunting,enticed by the free wifi.
Firstly the wifi was horrific,DNS errors everytime you tried open a new page/window,the rooms are located across from a bar so after 11 all you hear are drunks screaming and fighting.
The reception was laughable,the guy was asleep most of the time and didnt seem to stop the clearly homeless man(who you could smell a MILE away) from just coming in and chilling out in the common areas!!!
The 'kitchen' is closed most of the day from (12-4 if i recall correctly) and only has a single hob so come dinner time your in a massive queue,i ended up eating out EVERY day so already was at a loss for staying at budget accomodation.
I moved there from Base (under 5 minutes away,has decent wifi that you pay for but at least it works,has a 24 hr reception and a massive kitchen) to save some money but in effect i ended up spending even more.
Avoid like the plague,splash out the extra 5-10 bucks a night for a decent hostel
Oh and my blanket had some seriously dodgy stains on it,i ended up sleeping in my clothes,i have reviewed many hostels and objectively,value for money this was the worst

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The location of the hostel and the cheap price is why I stayed there. However, I have decided not to go back there again.

Most annoying for me was the so-called "24 hour reception". The guy who owns/runs the hostel sleeps in the room behind the reception desk. He sleeps on & off throughout the day/night whenever people not at the desk. If you need him, you ring the bell. There is also a phone number listed, but it is to a phone in his room (you can hear it ringing when you call!)
I waiting for 20minutes to check-out because he was asleep - I was calling the phone repeatedly, but it did not wake him up! Also, when I arrived, he was not there - I had to wait 15-20 minutes to check in, which was bad because I was then late for my meeting that day!! I would NOT consider it "24 hour reception"!!

It says it has a kitchen. But the kitchen is not available 24/7. It is only unlocked at 8:30am (or whenever the guy wakes up after 8:30!!); not sure what time at night it is locked though. There was only 1 stove, and one sink, but 2 microwaves and 2 fridges. Limited pots & pans. Tiny kitchen area, not nearly enough bench space for more than 1 or 2 people at a time.

They advertise "breakfast included". But breakfast was just 1 or 2 types of cerial and some bread to toast with either peanut butter or (i think) a marmalade. There is also tea & coffee & milk. That is all.

Beds were average. Comfortable enough, but matress was thin. Dorm bunk-bed creaked throughout the night when any movement.

On the up-side, I enjoyed chatting to some of the long-term lodgers for overseas. :) Some were friendly and had a nice chat with them!

In summary: I would suggest paying a few dollars more, and go elsewhere. I stayed at Base Backpackers last week instead of here again, and it was A LOT better! Worth the extra $6!

Room Tip: Dorm bunk-beds squeeked. Matress was thin, but just enough to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It locates in centre of Asian town where are good in dining with reasonable price and easy go around for sightseeing. But there are no elevator and no lobby, nothing on ground floor of such hostel so the reception is on 1st floor that we were difficult to find it. There are also no private room provide, no chair and just tea table in the bedroom, male and female share the same shower room with toilet are not convenient. Anyway we thank Robert, the receptionist he offered us a good room and the maid, who was kind to us.

Room Tip: All rooms are faced the main streets with a little bit noise but we can stand it because it is in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central Perk Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Perk Backpackers

Address: 611 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Central Perk Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Perk Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.