We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fresh produce and flavours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kitchen by Mike

Kitchen by Mike
1/85 Dunning Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,850 of 5,105 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Asian, British, Continental, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh produce and flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

These guys understand honest food done well with taste fresh ingredients and layers of flavour

Desserts are not to be overlooked.

You pay for quality but worth every cent

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    39
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What's all the hype about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Went early for breakfast, service was average, little choice on the menu, eggs Benedict was one over cooked egg, on a small piece of toast. Coffee was ok. Toast and jam is $8. Yes the building is cool, people trendy but don't waste your time if value and quality of food is what you are looking for. I've been twice to give it a chance.... I won't be back for a third .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Being sydneysiders we thought we'd pop by for some breaky before heading to the airport. To pay $11 for two slithers of papaya was so rude. The service was terrible and the coffee weak. My husband had eggs Benedict for $13 and it was a small piece of toast and one egg! Seriously - you think 2 eggs would be standard! Never again will I be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Flavour explosion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Some places are about the vibe, the decor or the "latest fad" this place is all about the food... If you're into people who are in to food, try it!! 20 bucks gets you a PLATE FULL of yum!! Yeah there are cheaper cafes but why are you there? This place serves love and nothing tastes better than that!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rude and terrible food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We decided to try out this place after the rave reviews. However, we were disappointed by both the service and the food. We were served burnt pancakes with the burnt one placed on the bottom of a stack of 3 pancakes - very cheeky. Then we were accused of eating someone's breakfast when we had clearly ordered, paid and it was delivered to us by their waitstaff. There was nothing professional in the presentation of the food and it tasted worst than a home cooked meal! Do not recommend and will not be coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen by Mike also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Stanmore, Sydney
 

Been to Kitchen by Mike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitchen by Mike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.