We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on Clarence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree on Clarence to your Saves list
BreakFree on Clarence
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   193-195 Clarence Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Ashburton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We chose this hotel because of the location, close to the shops, Darling Harbour and the harbour bridge etc. We pre ordered a shuttle which was only $15AUD from the international airport. As we arrived early morning our room wasn't ready (which is standard in most hotels) we went to Cockle Bay for brunch which is only an easy 5 min walk away, but not without stoping at Lime Espresso on Market street first (best coffee!!!). Once checked in the room (family room two singles one room and a King in another) was average. Clean enough (although we found an empty drink bottle under one of the beds!), the room did smell a bit mouldy, probably as there were no windows that opened, so the air was reliant on air con to circulate it around the rooms. The noise from the street travelled up, late night party goers and early morning street cleaners. The reception staff were all friendly enough and were happy to answer any questions we had.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was formerly known as City Hotel Enterprise. We took the airport train from the Sydney domestic airport to the Town Hall station and exited QVB. The hotel is about 400m walk if you exit at Market St and walk past York and onto Clarence St. We walked with 3 big luggages with no issues. The fare one way per adult is $16 (child $12.30). It takes only 15 minutes and the train is every 15 minutes. Better than taking the Airbus, which is $15/person with stops to pick up other passengers. Lots to eat, see (Paddy's Market, Darling Harbour, Aquarium, Madame Tussaud's, etc ) and shop (Woolies and Coles around the corner), all within walking distance. Free CBD shuttle along George St (check hours) so you can hop on it to Circular Quay to see the Opera House, Harbour Bridge. The bus stop is also just round the corner. There is a utility room with washing machine, dryer and microwave on the 2nd floor. Rooms are spacious (we hadn1Q and 1S) and looks like it had recently been refurbished. Housekeeping was lacking though as beds were not made and some rubbish was left behind. Safe deposit box keeps getting jammed and clock was not working. Reception staff were friendly. Great free map at the reception. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, 402 and had no issues with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A strange room set up with rooms feeding off a central area (possibly not a hotel before?) but sensible pricing and some really good craft beer bar and chinese and breakfast coffee shop directly south on same street (two of them with free Wifi). So a bit of a walk from Wynyard with luggage, but quieter than the main streets - we were in the hotel room one hour after plane taxied to terminal (so much better than London system). Inside room very quiet for sleeping too, and bed comfortable. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small budget hotel so don't raise your hopes too high.
Location is good - within walking distance to darling harbour, George street (shopping).
Service is not fantastic. Failed to book my shuttle to airport and made me wait for 1hr. took a cab in the end.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights prior to our Pacific Cruise. The rooms are small but adequate with your own bathroom. The location is perfect for wandering around the city centre. Only a short walk to Darling Harbour and the Aquarium. The price for such a central position is extremely reasonable. This property does not have meals, but this is not a problem as there are numerous restaurants and cafes nearby.

Room Tip: The family rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister and had had three nights in a twin room on level one. We had an obviously updated room, which was really clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable - most important!!!

There was not a lot of room to move around the bottom of the beds which were very close to the wall, but lack of space inside was more than made up for by the location of this hotel. It's just around the corner from the Town Hall Station, the QV building, Pitt St Mall and Darling Harbour, and a 23 minute easy walk from Central Station.

It does not have any dining facilities on site, but there are many and varied eating options available close by. It does have a room service menu, but this is operated by an external company.

For what we needed, it was perfect, and at a competitive price which was great value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main street frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent two nights at this hotel recently whilst at a conference in the CBD and this was a great location for that and access to Darling Harbour. The rooms are small but clean and seem to have been recently improved. I was on the side away from the main street so noise wasn't an issue. The bed just fits width wise in the room so not sure this is your place if your 6 foot 6!. The foyer has all the charm of a laundry mat but I don't spend much time in that area so didn't bother me. One last gripe was the TV has flaky reception so I need to go to a local bar to watch my cricket!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree on Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Clarence

Address: 193-195 Clarence Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly City Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BreakFree on Clarence 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of the Sydney CBD, BreakFree on Clarence provides travellers with a choice of room types which are great for singles, families and couples, including the Single Standard room, Queen Room, Twin Room, Family Suite Family, and Premium Room. Rooms are air-conditioned providing comfort during the warmer and cooler months, and Wi-Fi (fee applies) offers travellers the opportunity to catch up on business or connect with loved ones while on holiday. Planning a lot of activities while in Sydney? The city is bursting with lots of excursions; you'll find the locality of this city hotel offers all that you need, with public transport including trains and buses at the hotel entrance, along with a horde of shops, cafes and restaurants. From this well-appointed accommodation you can walk to many of Sydney's best attractions including Westfield Shopping Centre, the Art Gallery of NSW, Darling Harbour, Sydney Botanic Gardens, Sydney Opera house and Circular Quay where the ferries depart to Taronga Zoo, DFO shopping outlet and Manly. Location Features: • Sydney Airport 8.4Km drive • Town Hall Train Station 500m walk • Capitol Theatre 1.3Km walk • Chinatown 1.5Km walk • Paddy's Markets 1.3Km walk • Sydney Entertainment Centre 1.2Km walk • Sydney Exhibition and Convention Centre 4.1Km drive • Darling Harbour 1.1Km walk • Circular Quay 1.3Km walk • The Sydney Opera House 2km • Sydney Botanic Gardens 1.6Km • The Rocks 1.3Km • Sydney Aquarium 350m walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree on Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree on Clarence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.