We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Forsyth Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST DEAL - BOOK DIRECT!
Ranked #1 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here, as we were traveling through on our honeymoon. Gary was so kind and helpful. He picked us up from the airport and was able to give us so many tips on how to make the most of our short stay in Sydney.
We had a great time and loved coming back to our comfy room! Breakfast in the morning was delicious.. the weather was great so we were able to sit outside and enjoy our meal.
With so little time, we were so greatful for Gary's help and hospitality. We would highly recommend this place if you're looking to visit Sydney!
Thanks again, Gary for everything!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m so glad to hear that I was able to provide such a wonderful experience to you both at the start of your “new life” together and your honeymoon in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
106
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My 9 year old daughter and I spent 4 wonderful nights at Forsyth B&B after reading about it on Trip Advisor. This was her first overseas adventure and first B&B. Gary was waiting for us at baggage claim and immediately my daughter was included in the conversations. Our room was delightful and extremely comfortable. I cannot find the words to describe the fantastic breakfast we had each morning. My daughter was treated to hot chocolate every morning and Gary's banana bread was a hit. He assisted us with our excursions and he was accurate on all accounts - how long we should expect to be there, where the bus stops are, etc. My daughter's shoes got soaked before we arrived and Gary made sure they dried quickly on the sunny deck. Gary is a very gracious host and his attention to detail makes one feel especially welcome at Forsyth B&B. We can't wait to return in the very near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black Wattle room which had a small sitting room attached. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thanks for your review. It was great to broaden my barista skills to perfecting hot chocolate in the morning! So glad your daughter enjoyed her first trip overseas, hopefully she will be keen to continue her travels to explore other countries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

You won't find a better host in Sydney! We stood for five nights and enjoyed the stay so much. Nice and comfortable. Delicious breakfast while chatting with Gary and guests. We got helpful information about discovering Sydney and enjoyed the recommended restaurants and cafes. And thanks for ironing my blouse. Nobody had ever done that better!

Room Tip: If you can choose "Rozelle"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So great to have your feedback. I don’t offer the ironing service to everyone – but if pressed, I don’t mind the odd blouse!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our host Gary immediately made us feel like we were home in a new city, country and continent. He gave us advice on the transport and dining options. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfasts were of excellent quality and made to order. The B&B is located in a interesting neighborhood with easy access to the main sites of Sydney. By the end, we felt as though we had a new friend and home in Sydney.

Room Tip: Fitness center and swimming pool are not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So many guests comment on how they feel that Forsyth BnB is a “home away from home”. This feedback is wonderful to receive, as this is what I wanted to create here at Forsyth BnB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We selected Forsyth Bed and Breakfast based on the TripAdvisor reviews and we're so glad we did. Our first visit to Australia was amazing and, in large part, we credit Gary for his extra attention to every detail of our stay. The accommodations were beautiful and the gourmet breakfasts each morning were delicious. Gary was very helpful with recommendations regarding what to see (and how to get there), money exchange, and restaurant suggestions and reservations. Staying in Glebe made our trip even more fascinating since we had the opportunity to experience a lovely Sydney neighborhood as well as the attractions located in the central business district and harbor areas which are within walking distance. One advantage to being pedestrians is that we saw so many interesting places along the route to downtown (e.g., coffee shops, restaurants, retailers, the Sydney Fish Market...which is not to be missed!). We also found the public transportation to be very convenient, reliable, and fast. Gary made us feel so "at home" that it was difficult to leave. If you're spending any time in Sydney, Forsyth B&B is an outstanding choice. With such a lovely and comfortable room, convenient location, incredible breakfasts, and Gary's helpfulness (and daily fun conversations), our visit to Sydney really was a stellar experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
I’m so glad you enjoyed Forsyth BnB, and that I was able to assist you get the most out of your visit to Sydney – Forsyth BnB prides itself on the personal service it consistently provides to all its guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I highly recommend the Forsyth bed and breakfast for anyone who wants a nice and comfortable experience in Sydney. The location was perfect for us. Glebe is a nice suburb yet only short bus ride or walk across the bridge to downtown. We stayed a 6 nights with Gary and the service was superb. The house is beautiful. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quite, and the breakfast and conversation with Gary was something we looked forward to every day. Even though there were no rooms available at Gary’s place on our first day in Sydney, he picked us up at the airport and drove us to our hotel in the downtown area. The next evening he picked us up downtown and drove us to his place. Being our first time in Australia, I think Gary went above and beyond for us. He made sure we knew all about local customs, tipping practices and transportation. He recommended activities and restaurants and helped us to make the most of our time in his city. He even did some research and made reservations for us. Gary really knows how to take care of guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rozelle room. It was quite and comfortable. It has a nice outside deck with a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Great to hear how much you enjoyed Forsyth BnB. Both the Rozelle room and the Blackwattle room are very quiet, as they are upstairs and detached from all other rooms (including each other). I’m glad my local knowledge also helped you acclimatise to Sydney customs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The stay at Forsyth was both a mixture of luxury and a home away from home. The house is tastefully designed/decorated and very comfortable. Gary was a superb host who makes you feel at home straight away and his breakfasts were something we looked forward to every morning! One of the best things about staying here is Gary's advice and local insights which help you to make the most of your visit. We were very happy with the recommendations we took from him. His hospitality and attention was also much appreciated - always offered and brewed us lovely teas to help warm us up during the winter.

We stayed in the Rozelle room and it was very spacious with a lovely balcony where you can watch rainbow lorikeets fly by every morning. The location of Forsyth is also excellent and along bus lines/light rails which will take you right into the city center. There are lots of restaurants around and Tom Yum Tum Kang (Thai) and Timbah Bar (local pub just around the corner from Forsyth), both also recommendations from Gary, are Glebe neighborhood must tries! Also fell in love with Gary's resident cat and he was kind enough to let me "borrow" him to play with.

Would say that this is the best B&B that we have stayed at and it will be really hard to beat this place! Excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So glad to hear that Forsyth BnB felt like a “home away from home”! We are so lucky to have an abundance of birds here - the rainbow lorikeets are a real treat to view in the morning on the balcony of the Rozelle room. The wide range of good quality and value-for-money restaurants and local bars in Glebe, all within easy walking distance, allows guests to enjoy a relaxed evening locally after the day’s activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forsyth Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOKINGS ONLY AVAILABLE DIRECTLY WITH FORSYTH BNB. Forsyth is a delightful boutique bed and breakfast, a "piece of inner-city serenity", nestled between Glebe Point Road and Blackwattle Bay on Sydney Harbour, located 3 kms from the city and 20 minutes drive from the airport. Forsyth offers two spacious quiet guest rooms, both located upstairs, with no common walls. Each has a queen size bed, its own bathroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, cable television, and free wi-fi. The Blackwattle Room has a separate television/ reading space and en-suite shower room, and "a circular porthole offsets the angular ceiling and gives a bird's eye view of the street". The Rozelle Room offers a full size bathroom (with double shower, bath and bidet) and a private balcony with views out towards Anzac Bridge and the city. Glebe Village has numerous restaurants which cater for every taste. Blackwattle Park with its beautiful foreshore promenade along Sydney Harbour is located a minute's walk from Forsyth, and Sydney Fish Market, a working fishing port, is close by. Forsyth is well serviced by public transport, and close to many local attractions including Chinatown, Star Casino, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney Aquarium and Sydney Powerhouse Museum. The Rocks and the Opera House are a short bus ride away or a walk for the hearty. In good weather, breakfast is served outside in the Japanese courtyard garden, alternatively in the dining room with its cathedral ceiling. Pick-up/drop-off at Sydney airport or cruise terminals is available on request. In order to avoid disappointment, please book early. We hope you enjoy your stay at Forsyth BnB. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.