We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Deal!
Ranked #1 of 63 Sydney B&B and Inns
Twin Cities, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our first experience with Gary let us know that he goes above and beyond what anyone can expect. It was like staying with family or friends--he picked us up from the cruise ship, took us to get cash at an ATM, then to buy the week transportation passes, then dropped us off at the hotel he had recommended because he did not have a room for us for the first night. The next morning he picked us up at the hotel and brought us to the beautiful Rozelle room--AND did our laundry--come to think of it, family and friends might not even be so accommodating! What everyone else has said is perfectly true about the breakfast, accommodations, etc. We loved Sydney, but enjoyed not staying in the noisy center city, walking around Glebe, exploring small local restaurants and food stores. The flowers in the house from the local shops were breathtaking. Eating outside in December was so much fun for us. But the best part is why I like to stay in BnBs--the stimulating, informative conversations every day at breakfast were so much fun. We thoroughly enjoyed comparing perspectives from different places we had all lived. Thank you, Gary and Julie!

Room Tip: The balcony and bathroom are worth the extra money for the Rozelle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Providing excellent customer service is one if core aims and this feedback is very satisfying to receive this feedback, most appreciated. We the operators, also thoroughly enjoy the range of stimulating conversations over breakfast, so it is so pleasing that guests do so as well. Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
83
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This b&b is a quiet haven, a few minutes walk from Glebe. Gary and Julie are excellent hosts, and their offer of transport to and from the airport was very welcome. We took their advice of buying weekly travel cards, and went out on all the boats from Circular Quay.
Nothing was too much trouble for Gary and Julie, lots of hints of places to visit and a fantastic breakfast served under cover in their garden. Although a cooked breakfast was available on request we were more than happy to eat the breakfast on offer. Delicious fresh fruit, home made muesli, blueberry pancakes and lovely fresh bread. Our early morning cup of tea was always available!
We were in Rozelle Room for 6 nights. It was very well equipped, had great shampoo and body lotion,and we had the added bonus of hearing fantastic Sydney birds in a tree just across from our balcony.
The walk from the b&b down to the harbour was lovely. As we had time to spare on our last morning we did a long walk along the waterfront. It set us up for the long flight ahead and left us with very happy memories of Forsyth B&B and Glebe.


. Transport links to Sydney are excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are so pleased our recommendations and advise during your stay with us contributed positively to your visit to Sydney. There are many worse things to wake up to than the morning song of the local parakeets in chorus with other bird varieties, we still enjoy an early morning coffee listening in, it is great that that you did also. The airport meet, greet and drop off service, is an important service to international visitors arriving in a unfamiliar city and staying for short periods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

There is no wonder that Forsyth B&B is ranked #1!

I initially booked a reservation at another B&B in Sydney and when they decided to close, they forwarded my reservation to Forsyth. I had great communications with Gary from the very beginning. When I inquired about taking a taxi from the cruiseship terminal, Gary immediately said he would pick us up from the terminal free of charge. He also said he provides airport transfer for a nominal fee which is much cheaper than using a taxi. Right there I knew we would be in good hands and indeed we were.

We literally walked out of the cruiseship terminal and saw Gary approaching the terminal with a sign with our name on it. He brought us to the B&B and his wife Julie sat with us and told us about Glebe and some of the great things to see in Sydney. They are a bountiful wealth of information! Although it was not even 11am, they allowed us into our beautiful room and after we freshened up a bit, Gary walked us up to a mart to buy weekly bus passes (which Julie highly recommended and she was right, the bus pass was a super great deal)!

We actually wound up walking into Sydney quite easily from Glebe. We walked back also but after that we figured out the bus system and put our bus passes to good use. Glebe is a really lovely little suburb with buses that will take you right down to Circular Quay - one bus, no transfer needed.

Breakfast at Forsyth is amazing! My husband and I both agreed that, in all our years of travel, it is the best breakfast we have ever had at a B&B. He has such a large variety of items and even offers to make hot breakfast if you want it. We were most happy with the plethora of fresh fruit, muesli, breads and jams. He also makes an incredible blueberry pancake! You will not go hungry after Gary's breakfast! What blew me away is that when I told him I prefer cream in my tea instead of milk, he merely clarified what I meant by cream and then voila, he presented a small cup of cream, and had it at the ready for me every day! That was really amazing!

Every day after breakfast, either he or Julie would graciously fill my water bottle with ice and water and bid us a good day. Whenever we returned, either Gary or Julie or both would appear and ask us about our day. I really loved that they did that. Their living quarters are downstairs and the guest rooms are upstairs - they were there when you needed them, but never too much.

We were initially in the Rozelle Room, which is a very very lovely and perfectly appointed room with a huge balcony. This room also has an exceptionally large bathroom with a tub long enough for me (and I am 6'1"!) and a double shower! The bed is very comfortable though it would have been really nice to have a king bed instead of queen (the room can easily accommodate it).

We had to move to the Blackwattle Room for our final 2 nights, and while it is also perfectly appointed with an equally comfortable bed, the room is a tad smaller than Rozelle and the bathroom has only a shower stall, no bathtub. So if you enjoy baths, try to get the Rozelle Room. The Blackwattle Room has a separate little sitting area with the TV and two chairs.

Both rooms have shades that pull over the windows (which I absolutely prefer instead of curtains). And both rooms also have A/C! That was a really big PLUS for us! The rooms are separated by a hallway, so you don't have shared walls. If you don't use the a/c, the neighborhood is very peaceful so you will not have any street noise interrupting your sleep. We slept very good in both rooms!

Gary goes the extra mile too. When it was time to move to the other room, he moved all of our belongings including our luggage, clothes hanging in the closet and our toiletries. He even brought us downtown to the Shangri-La Hotel (for a nominal fee), in the middle of rush hour traffic, to meet an early morning tour, which allowed us to sleep in a little longer.

Both Gary and Julie offer to make dinner reservations, which is highly recommended for dining on weekend nights. And make sure to eat at Timbah, the Wine Bar down the street. We are not wine people, but the food is very good and plentiful.

All the other reviews of Forsyth B&B and the kind remarks about Gary and Julie are all absolutely true. We lucked up by having our reservation transferred to them. It's in a perfect location, food is hearty and delicious, they have free wifi, their knowledge about the area and recommendations are spot-on, and the house is beautifully appointed. Also the rates are incredibly reasonable!

We loved Sydney and hope to visit again and we will definitely stay at Forsyth B&B again. Thanks Gary and Julie!

Room Tip: Try to get the Rozelle Room. You will LOVE it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for such a detailed review of Forsyth BnB, so pleased that they enjoyed there stay with us and that the services we offer enhanced their trip to Sydney. I am sure the details provided in the review, will assist other travelers in making the best choices when they plan their holidays. Once, again the cook is very appreciative of the compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had the privilege of staying at Forsyth in January 2012....the first week of a 2 month Australian adventure. We are 60 something retirees from Canada. We can unreservedly share that it is the best B and B that we have ever stayed in. Where to start?
First, the facilities. The B and B consists of two upstairs "suites" in a exceptionally remodeled (Gary was in business) century home in the Glebe neighborhood. We stayed in the front suite with a small balcony. The latter was a wonderful place to share an early morning tea with the hundreds of parrots and other birds that inhabit the surrounding trees. And an even better place for a glass of wine after a long day exploring Sydney. The furnishings were first class, the bed very comfortable and the full cable on the TV provided the requisite coverage of the Australian Open. The Forsythe is within walking distance (20 minutes...we are hikers...did the Blue Mountains Walk and Great Ocean Walk later in the trip) or easy bus to the CBD and only a few moments from a collection of restaurants, pubs and sustenance (booze and fruit ) stores. The location was perfect in all regards for our purposes.
Always a concern with a B and B is the issue of privacy.In this regard, Gary and Julie are the perfect hosts, always finding the right balance between conversation and privacy. They seemed to always be there when you needed them (they will provide reliable advice)...but you feel you have the privacy of your own hotel room. Gary also offers airport pick up and drop off which I would strongly advise for newcomers to Sydney.
Then there was the breakfast. OK...I'm a breakfast guy...steel cut and fruit every morning. But Gary's breakfast exceeded even my obsession. Fresh fruit, different kinds of muslix, yoghurt, baking to make the gluten insensitive cringe (he would do gluten free I suspect), tea and coffee on demand...blah ...blah. But you have never had a pancake until you have one of Gary's. I won't try and describe it here, only suggest that if you are coming from Canada bring Gary a wee bottle of Quebec maple syrup. And if all of that isn't enough to keep you fueled for a day of exploring Sydney, try his smoked salmon scrambled eggs. We figured that a few weeks of hiking would help us waste a few pounds of senior fat. Gary and Julie got us started on the wrong waist!
Forsyth B and B in Sydney has it all. The best bed...the best breakfast...and the best hosts. Consider yourself lucky if you can get a room there. Dave. drdgmar@gmail.com http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/228747

Room Tip: The front room has the balcony. But I suspect that the back room will not have as much bird chatter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I am sure other travelers will appreciate your eye for detail and the expressive style the review is written. It is great that you both had a great time here at Forsyth BnB, bu talso many other parts of Australia during your holiday. The cook, once more appreciates the compliment and thank you for your comment about the ommission of Maple syrup on the menu. This has now been rectified so you will have to return to try the Blueberry pancakes with this added condiment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

All that has been said before is absolutely true. My wife and I stayed here for six nights at the beginning of March and had an absolute ball. Gary and Julie are consummate hosts, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Their whole approach is geared towards ensuring that you get as much out of your stay in Sydney as possible. They are extremely informative on where to go, where to eat, how to get about, etc, which means that you can be fully up and running from Day 1. The B&B itself is conveniently located in Glebe, a lively and interesting neighbourhood about a 15 minute bus ride from Circular Quay. There is a wide choice of good quality restaurant options nearby, catering for a range of tastes and budgets. We spent part of our stay in each of the beautifully appointed rooms. Our favourite was the Rozelle room, which although slightly more expensive has a spacious private terrace - a nice place to chill out with a glass of wine or a cup of Gary's freshly brewed tea after a hard day's sightseeing! Gary's breakfasts are exceptional - home made muesli, a delicious fruit platter, banana and blueberry pancake and muffins (made by Julie!). Make sure you check out his scrambled egg making skills too - scrumptious! Try out the nearby Timbah Bar, especially if there is steak on the menu - particularly nice when washed down with a bottle of complimentary house red, provided by Gary. In summary - a wonderful stay. Gary and Julie are possibly the most caring and obliging hosts that we have encountered in all our travels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
So glad, that you enjoyed our local wine bar and eatery Timbah, with good food and an interesting choice of wines and beers from Australia and overseas. It is only a few minutes walk away and even less on the way back downhill to Forsyth BnB. The kitchen staff are very grateful that our breakfast fare hit the right spot and the cook promises to keep practicing! Thank you for your compliments, it makes it very easy to start the day early knowing that the service we provide to our guests, is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at end of Feb. Excellent room (Rozelle), hosts (Gary and Julie) and breakfast. Room was large and very comfortable with great balcony and luxurious bathroom (with double shower). Julie helped with tips on transport and Gary gained us the best tables in local restaurants. You'll love the breakfast - a Gary speciality. Tea or Coffee served when you want. Conversation on every topic if you want (breakfast discourses tended to run on - most relaxing).

Forsyth B&B is 400 metres from the start of very nice bay-side walk and 15 min walk to Sydney Fish Markets/cafes. Glebe is an eclectic mix of local shops and restaurants - we ate all of our evening meals in Glebe (Australian twist on Seafood, Tapas and Thai included) - if you do, you won't be disappointed. Forsyth B&B would be the place we'd head next time we are in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed the local culinary delghts in a number of Glebe's restaurants and the house cook is particulary delighted with your choice of establishment for breakfast i.e Forsyth Bed and Breakfast, most appreciated. Also, thank you for compliment of the Rozelle room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for five nights towards the end of January and this B&B was a wonderful start to our first trip to Australia. Every good thing which has been said about the place is true and Gary and Julie made us so welcome. We stayed in the Rozelle room which we thought was well worth that little bit extra. The quality of the breakfasts, the little extras in the room and the free pick up from the airport set it apart - not to mention the banter over breakfast! Getting around was so easy with the transportation pass and Gary went that extra mile (literally) by driving us to the Opera House one evening. Thanks to Gary and Julie for a marvellous stay and introduction to Sydney. We would have missed out on so much without their help and advice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the compliments, as we have stated previously our aim is assist overseas visitors get the most from there stay here in Sydney. The repartee and ready wit during breakfast time certainly entertains the kitchen staff, well me and Julie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forsyth Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOKINGS ONLY AVAILABLE DIRECTLY WITH FORSYTH BNB. Forsyth is a delightful boutique bed and breakfast, a "piece of inner-city serenity", nestled between Glebe Point Road and Blackwattle Bay on Sydney Harbour, located 3 kms from the city and 20 minutes drive from the airport. Forsyth offers two spacious quiet guest rooms, both located upstairs, with no common walls. Each has a queen size bed, its own bathroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, cable television, and free wi-fi. The Blackwattle Room has a separate television/ reading space and en-suite shower room, and "a circular porthole offsets the angular ceiling and gives a bird's eye view of the street". The Rozelle Room offers a full size bathroom (with double shower, bath and bidet) and a private balcony with views out towards Anzac Bridge and the city. Glebe Village has numerous restaurants which cater for every taste. Blackwattle Park with its beautiful foreshore promenade along Sydney Harbour is located a minute's walk from Forsyth, and Sydney Fish Market, a working fishing port, is close by. Forsyth is well serviced by public transport, and close to many local attractions including Chinatown, Star Casino, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney Aquarium and Sydney Powerhouse Museum. The Rocks and the Opera House are a short bus ride away or a walk for the hearty. In good weather, breakfast is served outside in the Japanese courtyard garden, alternatively in the dining room with its cathedral ceiling. Pick-up/drop-off at Sydney airport or cruise terminals is available on request. In order to avoid disappointment, please book early. We hope you enjoy your stay at Forsyth BnB. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Forsyth Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list