We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiswick Restaurant

Chiswick Restaurant
65 Ocean Street | Woollahra, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 8388 8688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the beautiful Sydney suburb of Woollahra, CHISWICK Restaurant is a superb casual dining venue co- owned by Matt Moran and Peter Sullivan. CHISWICK is a neighbourhood restaurant, where the menu is designed for sharing, reflecting the simplicity of great produce and changing seasons. The heart of CHISWICK is its kitchen garden where much of the produce for the menu will be grown. The approach is something altogether more natural, continually evolving, where the emphasis is on where the food comes from and how it is grown.
Busselton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is very busy with the seating quite close together. It was quite noisy and I sometimes had trouble having a conversation with the people at the table. Food was excellent with great takes on old fashioned food. The chicken share plate was lovely and moist, and the pork chop was really well cooked. If going in a group it would be a great place to go but if you are looking for something more intimate then try somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    122
    56
    20
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great concept restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved the setting, concept, decor and idea behind this restaurant. The menu I find is simple but tasty - love the sliders.

My only gripe with this restaurant is that we had a table of 6 people and we were seated on a table that was really for 4 - and for a restaurant that promotes shared dining, sharing food for 6 people on a table for 4 (and it was a small table for 4) was a ridiculous situation. It was impossible to enjoy the meal as we were too concerned with juggling the food.

I know they need to fit as many guests in as possible - but when their booking procedures overtake their philosophy (ie suggested shared menu items on tables with guests so crambed there is no room for shared plates) then the restaurant is not really living by its mantra

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best lamb ever shared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch with friends. From arriving the service was exceptional, staff were friendly and knowledge. The cocktails started well and the idea of sharing some dishes including crab sliders, the wood fired lamb went down well. While we were the first sitting we were not rushed and even ordering dessert we had time for another round of drinks.
I great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I want to live inside this restaurant !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the place to lunch on a sunny Sydney afternoon. The ambiance feels like you have been invited to eat a friend's beautiful country home. The restaurant is housed in a fantastic old white wooden structure with sun pouring into the windowed front room and set back from the road in a beautiful grassy garden. Eating here feels both festive and casual and there is almost no occasion it would not be appropriate for. Anyone you brought to Chiswick would think you had excellent taste.The decor is a mix of old and new and so is the crowd. The menu is diverse and modern and above all very well executed. The staff is friendly and helpful and the kitchen was very willing to create special requests for the people in our group with dietary constraints. This restaurant fully embodies everything that is Sydney ... chic cool beautiful and still relaxed and homey. If you get a chance to eat at Chiswick jump on it !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worthy eatery for gorgeous setting ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

CHISWICK

I’d had a mix of reports on Chiswick, from those who loved it to those who hated it. Not necessarily from my trusted reviewers (but who swayed in favour), but from people who dine out regularly and have reasonable judgement and observation. So I stayed away in the early days to let it settle into its rhythm; as it’s not as if I don’t have enough new places to check out.
So I finally made it for lunch recently: a busy Friday with not a spare table in sight. Service kept a lid on it, but just, looking like organized chaos but somehow getting the job done and keeping everybody happy. You felt that it could go terribly pear-shaped, but it was a full house and full bar, and this visit it worked.
The food was what made it: fresh and seasonal and without much pretention but showing enough attention to produce and care on detail to make it all rather good, especially for the non-gouging prices. Their kitchen garden – often simply the marketing ploy de jour – actually seems to have some impact on the brightness of flavours of some vegetables, herbs and garnishes. Keeping the menu simple allows the kitchen to nail the dishes and assured cooking shows here.
Smart food, decent wine list and buzzy atmosphere: Chiswick is not for romance or intimate dining but it is a lot of fun.
14.5/20

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiswick Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Woollahra, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Chiswick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiswick Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.