We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad Hatter's tea party meets a Don Draper soirée” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added QT Sydney to your Saves list
QT Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mad Hatter's tea party meets a Don Draper soirée”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Imagine walking into Aladdin’s Cave, except this time the magic lanterns are made out of bowler hats and instead of genies in bottles you have shakers to mix your own martinis. If you love cutting edge design coupled with cheeky touches, you’ll feel at home here. The Gowings Building rooms are bright and airy with eccentric touches. The dark stone bathrooms are accented by signature circular baths which make you feel like you’re in a magic teacup ride; and large separate showers with pin spot lighting giving off a sultry vibe, like you’re having an affair with your own partner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear past QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    201
    59
    14
    14
See reviews for
50
430
45
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great Hotel, great staff, very helpful, friendly, service was outstanding, Interior design was very cool, really cool in house bars, restaurants, definitely my go to hotel in Sydney, very central to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

From the welcome at the door, you know you're in for a treat. Beautiful rooms with lovely fittings and appointments. The food is yummy and leaves little to be desired. Cocktail and drinks choices in bar really amazing. Sadly it ends there. Staff in bar, restaurant and even front desk, seem dis interested and aloof. I get the individuality aspect but some uniformity is missing in the service here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hands down, this is the best hotel I've stayed at!

We arrived in Sydney earlier than expected around 10.30 and they arranged our room for us.
Customer service was impeccable, the interior design is amazingly quirky, fun, romantic and unique.
We were in the Deluxe King room... the only downside I found (not that it mattered too much, it can be worked around) was that while the room is quite small the toilet is directly opposite the bed and the toilet door is transparent... so you can imagine, you can hear and see everything, so not the best for privacy if that’s what you were requiring!
The most comfortable bed ever slept on in a hotel, it was like a cloud. Also included was free coffee (Nespresso) if you can upgrade and get breakfast included, do. It just finishes the overall experience off.

Best of all... the lifts. Every time we stepped foot into it, we had a bit of a dance break! The music is sensored by how many people are in the lifts and the track listing is brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very good service of the staff, who all looked the part. They were all very professional and held a beleivably genuine level of interest in our outings to town, getting transport, advice on the 'it-factor' spots to go to, etc. Very hard to find a place these days where guests are constantly met with a smile and a good laugh if you had the time for it. Design of interiors apwas highly appealing. The musical elevator never failed to invoke a chuckle or two and the house keeping was truly a miracle to be witnessed - going to the extra effort of placing our messy array of clothes into neat little piles each day. Whoops. Only downside - toilet door is a bit too transparent for my liking when the lights are turned on. Lead to some awkward scheduling on mine and my partner's behalf... Isn't too much of a major though. The service of the staff AND the character this place exudes makes up for this, and then some.

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor and didn't have any noise issues - response to older review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I booked a weekend visit at the end of April directly with the hotel and was pleased with the price

They run a very slick and quirky operation with great attention to detail. The rooms are fabulous with really comfy beds and well stocked bars.

The issue I had was my room was directly over the bar and as a seasoned traveller I always sleep with earplugs but I couldn't escape the thump of the base from the music and had to complain at 0130. My complaint was handled well and the music was turned down and I then had a good nights sleep. As I had a 0430 wake up the next day due to an early flight I asked to move rooms and got moved to the 6th floor and had no problems and enjoyed the rest of my stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear QT Sydney guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is one for me one of the most special ones I have ever been to. Design is great maybe a little dark, rooms very stylish. There could be more of storage space though. I loved the Nespresso coffee machine and the milk foamer! Staff very cool and friendly just the guys at the entrance a little difficult sometimes as they thought we were tourists and just wanted to go in to check the hotel so we had a few unpleasant discussions. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.