We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Sydney

Save Saved
You added QT Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
QT Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Best boutique hotel in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

As soon as you approach the entrance you know that this hotel is going to be a different experience to all the other hotels in the city. A feeling of fun + excitement.
This place is amazing! Great design, styling + top job on utilizing heritage architecture of the old Gowings building + the State Theatre. The room was luxurious and a great space to be in.

From check in to check out I had nothing but 5 star quality service from the bell boys, front desk and room service, especially from front office manger 'Adam'.

QT Sydney will be the only hotel I will stay at in Sydney from now on. Best experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi BryceJR,

Yay! Brilliant review. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you loved your stay and we are so happy that everything from the design to the service were perfect for you!

We hope to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    109
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
195
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

How can you not love this place. After being a little bored of the same old 90's hotel decor that nearly all hotels seem to offer these days, it's refreshing to see someone standing out from the crowd and doing it in style.

It is very funky and stylish, a bit like stepping into your own boudoir, and that's what we love about it. If I wanted plain jane I'd stay at home. From the femme fatale with a red bob and a matrix style coat taking my bags at the door, to the espresso martini setup to greet me in the room, this place was hard to fault.

If you're comparing it to the regular hotel, the beds are like lying on massive pillows, the movies are free and the breakfast in the hotel is one of the best in town AND serves organic and farm friendly produce. Hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Once we stepped out of the elevator into the reception, there was an immediate "wow" factor. The decor is what I would call different but very stylish. This carries on throughout the hotel and we loved the amount of detail which includes what looked like collections from the old Gowings building and the State Theatre. The service was excellent. Both a smooth and friendly check in and check out.
We had chosen a junior suite and the room was amazing with the theme and the interesting small touches continuing. The top hat light beside the bed and the little hand holding a mirror in the bathroom was really quirky and a small table with cocktail, glasses, shaker and miniature spirits just makes you want to mix up a drink. Our bathroom has a full size freestanding bath and large shower. The whole atmosphere was relaxing.
We had seen this hotel advertised and were eager to try it out even though we live in Sydney and were more than impressed. We had a drink at the bar and although expensive, the service was good. The restaurant looked well worth trying on another visit.
If you are looking for a treat and something a bit different - this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A great stay for a cheeky weekend (yes, that means don't take the kids!) in the city. The rooms have been cleverly designed with all the latest mod-cons and a few little exciting surprises. The Gowings Bar & Grill located within the hotel is a fantastic modern brasserie - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed in most of the 5* hotels in Sydney CBD, so we wanted to try something different.
Well, different it was. The reception area is like no other I have EVER seen! My mind was wondering about what the rooms would be like! When we got to our room, we were greeted with a bright red sheepskin rug on our bed! It certainly gave the room a very raunchy feel, with the addition of soft lighting and dark walls.
The bathroom was very unusual, the shower was open and the bathtub which was shown on the net, was a lot smaller than it looked( only big enough for 1).The lighting in the bathroom is very bad for applying make-up. No close up mirror, just the main vanity one that you have to lean towards to be useful.
The Gowings restaurant was such a 'happening' place. The bar area was so full of activity, it looked so inviting. The restaurant was busy,the meals were lovely. Breakfast was good too, but no buffet, like the other 5*, which is a little disappointing, and not included in pricing.
We would recommend the other 5* hotels in the CBD for value for money, they have some great packages. QT, just seems a little too pricey, with very little value for money.
Valet($69!!!) is you getting out of your car kerbside on market street, fearing for your life that you wont be knocked over by passing traffic!! if you blink, you'll miss it, so be very careful of where it is(just look for the girl in the bright red wig).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hard to decide what to make of this hotel. I only stayed one night so it may not be fair to judge on a short experience. I had heard a lot of the place and grabbed a chance to stay there even if was short. It's very high style and may not be to everyone's taste. Described by other reviewers as funky, perhaps I'd call it bordello meets Philippe Starck. Lots of black walls, black hands sticking out of the wall holding the room number, video art, more black and bright red in the rooms-it presented a strong point of view and elicits strong opinions as to whether you're going to like it or not. I liked the door greeters, they were very good looking tall girls with bright red wigs, not your usual uniformed doormen. The hotel was well run and the staff were friendly. The restaurant was good even though I only ate breakfast there but could tell that the food standard was high. On balance, I'd recommend the QT for those who are more adventurous and want a different kind of hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great new hotel, Funky styling, good staff and centrally located. We were very impressed with almost all aspects of the hotel form the moment we arrived.
The only negative was that our room was not cleaned properly from the previous guest. There were Food crumbs on the carpet when we arrived and they remained for the duration of our 3 day stay. We had no shampoo in the shower when we arrived.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.