We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stylish, super cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added QT Sydney to your Saves list
QT Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Super stylish, super cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A surprise gift for my birthday was a one night stay in a deluxe room at Sydney's newest most stylish hotel.
I was blown away by the thought and expense that must have gone into kitting the place out. Our room was huge and as a property stylish myself it was fun to see the many various styling pieces in the room.

Staff at the hotel are all gorgeous to look at and their service gorgeous as well.

We had drinks and snacks in the bar before the theatre - all fab. And breakfast the next morning one of the best if not the best and most original breaky menus in Australia.

Re: value - we received a great corporate rate for the hotel and were amazed at what we received roomwise for the money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    213
    65
    14
    14
See reviews for
51
460
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The QT is a happening, fun and funky hotel. One of the most interesting hotels I have ever stayed in! Great location, about 2 kms. from the harbor and right in the heart of the city. VERY cool rooms and the bar and restaurant are great. Service is still a bit haphazard for the prices and the staff need some training.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear QT Sydney guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been at the QT Gold Coast for 2 times and loved the funky style, the freshness and friendly staff. Living in Sydney we thought to try the QT in Sydney, so we booked a night there celebrating our wedding anniversary last weekend. The location is very central, they offered valet parking for $69, so I thought I get a much better price for overnight parking via the ParkMate App (Wilson) – was able to park a block away for $20 overnight. When we entered the reception area, we could see it was much smaller than the Gold Coast location but it was very nice and cosy and stylish. Our room was on the 9th floor and it looked different to the pictures we have seen on the webpage. It was very nice but somehow we expected it to be a bit “warmer” in terms of cosiness. We loved the wooden floor but it seemed a bit “cold” for the bedroom… The bathroom was great and the bed was cool as well, a bit too soft for our liking but comfy. I liked that they had complimentary coffee (nespresso pods) and also complimentary movies. The room was very clean and neat.
The Breakfast down in the restaurant was very nice but only a la carte (compared with buffet at QT Gold Coast). The little bar/café downstairs at the entrance was nice as well and the coffee was great there and upstairs as well… All in all it was a great night out but I definitely prefer the QT GC compared to this one…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I walked into the QT to plan a surprise anniversary holiday for my wife, and was greeted by the friendliest man James T. He was so genuine, and took me on a tour of the entire hotel, helping me arrange what was soon to be the most pleasant and exciting few days away. The room was absolutely breath taking. So much attention to detail! We didn't want to leave! Thank you James! And thank you QT. I can't wait for any excuse to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I use to do business with the Gowings Bros store, so it was a unique experience to revisit that space in its new format. The hotel lobby, cafe & room offered a quirky point of difference which is a must to experience. The service at the bar did not stack up to the rest of the venue thus the reason for my rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear QT Sydney guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the QT Sydney on our wedding night, and not only were we blown away by the suite, we loved how polite, friendly and helpful every single QT employee was...and the very thoughtful touch of leaving a congratulations note and bottle of bubbles in our suite in anticipation of our arrival after the wedding. We also loved the fact that we could bring a posse of wedding guests back to the hotel to continue the celebrations post wedding at the various bars at the hotel. Not a single thing we would have changed about our stay and we're already plotting our next stay...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a great room (907) that was fairly large, had a bath and shower. Big bed a little too soft for my liking but comfortable nonetheless. Air conditioning in room only goes down to 20 degrees whereas I'd prefer a little colder to snuggle up in bed. Free in house movies but only a limited range. Decor in the rooms and throughout the hotel is quirky and fun. Staff are very friendly. Had breakfast in the ground floor cafe which was great. Would consider it again (my usual place is Westin, which is more corporate and standard).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear travelaussiefamily,

Thank you for a lovely review of the hotel. Parlous Lane Roasters has such a great menu don't they? It's so fun to people watch when you sit having a coffee and some breakfast.

Thanks also for the beautiful note on the staff. We just love them to bits.

Happy travels to you

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.