We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added QT Sydney to your Saves list
QT Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Valentine Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Decided to try QT Sydney for Valentines,
upon arrival checkin was below par for 5 star, found receptionist uninforming & unproffessional, room was not ready at 2:30pm, told to come back soon, came back at 3pm room not ready, once room was apprently ready & no apology for the wait, We came across the houskeeping supervisor still checking the room, for the rececptionist to check us in when the room was not ready topped of her lack of service.

also found it a bit unusual for no name badges on all receptionist working.. so service was a let down...

Saying this , coming back to the hotel from dinner, Clayton the night receptionist provided great service when we required information on the hotel.

Conceirge(david?) when asked for his favorite Brekky in sydney is, He recommended Bills in Darlinghurst, he did not dissapont THANK YOU!

On check out, another receptionist seemed clueless & lifeless!

On the other hand the hotel itself is beautiful,unique & enjoyable no matter where you are in the hotel, whether it be the lift, in your room or the bar!

The rooms have great amenties & the bed is great!


QT Sydney:Best Hotel in Sydney, but deffinetly not the best hospitality in Sydney..

Room Tip: Enjoy the DIY inroom Esspresso Martini!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hey Rambo101,

Your profile pic is fun, fun, fun! Makes me want to watch some bad 80s movies and dance around the lounge room in exercise leggings.

Ahhhhhh, another mixed service review. Curiouser and curiouser. We are working on it.

Thanks so much for letting us know about your stay. We hope you will come back!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    160
    51
    13
    13
See reviews for
35
335
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

WARNING! DO NOT STAY!

I truly do not understand how this hotel is even remotely comparable to other nearby 5 stars such as Hilton or Sheraton. Having stayed in all three, I have to say QT is the worst experience I've had with the top tier hotels. Intrigued by its high review, nice photos and ridiculous price (about $100 more p/n than Hilton), I was very excited to try out this new hotel in Sydney. When I arrived at its front doors steps, I didn't even realize that I am at the door steps. There was no parking space, no attendant, nothing. The front door was so small it could have been a hidden pawn store. There is a no stopping sign right in front of the hotel so when I tried to stop the drivers behind got angry, and I ended up parking 4 levels down at QVB, walking back with my 3 luggages.

With that bad taste in my mouth, I walked through the miniature corridor they call 'reception' and after thoroughly explaining how the guest names have changed even I called 2 days prior regarding this matter, it took me 5 mins to find my room due to the confusing signs ( left 610-625, right 612-620), I happen to be the unfortunate middle of both left and right.

The deluxe king room i stayed in is fancy, but that's it, just fancy. While not very big, they managed to install colored lights everywhere shining up the cheap glasses they are using. Putting a piece of fur on the bed to show the hotel has class?? Looking around and there was no slippers, only one bath tower, the bath tub is blocked and can't be used, the shower splashes water all over the place. I tried to open the window for a breeze, and guess what?? An entire office building as close as my arm stares right back at me! I would totally love to have a whole office of white collars stare at my naked body while I change. So the blind remain closed all 9 days during my stay, I feel like a bloody vampire.

The hotel literally offers 4-5 dishes on their menu, sandwich hamburger and spaghetti.

Overall, I feel that I paid $500 per night for a 3 star hotel at best. Will never Ever EVER stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Tactismint,

Thanks for your review. We do not believe that you stayed at the hotel, so will not pick the review problems (in terms of facts relating to the actual building and offerings) apart.

Please try and keep to the spirit of this and only review when you have a valid and true statement to make. If you feel that you wish to discuss this further, please email to hotel.

Thanks
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were really excited about staying at this hotel for a romantic night out in our own city. From a design point of view, the lobby, restaurant and rooms of the hotel are very cool and comfortable... but sadly the service at the front desk and the restaurant let the whole experience down. The restaurant staff were arrogant/rude and the check in staff disingenuous and unprofessional. Such a shame given the place has so much potential.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear AusCouple36,

Thanks so much for letting us know about your stay. We are 100% onto the service and have really honed in on the finer issues surrounding it. I promise that your next stay with match mood to the magic of the decor.

So sorry.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Worst hotel in Sydney CBD. Parked the car out the front for valet parking and was abused by other drivers. Walked into reception and a knife could cut through the tension we felt. The reception staff were unfriendly and really seemed not to care. Upon entering our room we thought we would settle in by watching a movie, no way as our TV wouldn't work. After ringing reception twice to get maintenance to fix our TV. The food menu was incomplete, pages missing. The food service was appalling. We asked for a simple breakfast on both mornings and received below average service and food. No one there seems to know what the other is doing. So overpriced, for example the valet parking was $69 where other hotels charge $39, check Intercontinental.
The rooms are clean with a nice bed. The whole experience was terrible, so we will not return and I suggest to you dear reader to do the same.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi GM,

Thanks so much for your review. Though it is so hard to quantify your comments when they are at odds with the majority of reviews we receive we will make sure to check everything out and give due diligence to any concerns. Given that we have two such reviews appearing concurrently from two new reviewers, it would be safe to assume that you travelled together so will look at the reviews as a whole to get a broader understanding.

Thanks kindly,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently went for dinner to the new QT sydney bar & grill. We met friends at the bar and had a pleasant drink with excellent barman. Things went downhill fast once we were seated. The two waiters that attended us had a strange demeanour to say the least. Cracking inappropriate jokes and obvious eye rolling when a request was made not to include pistachio as one of our number is highly allergic. When quizzed about the italian wines on the list the answer was " its hit and miss with the Italians" this was after we had requested a sommelier, and the answer to that was " I don't know but he is pretty smelly" referring to the other waiter. Having said that, the food was very good. We had to request plates to be cleared from the table after sitting there for twenty minutes. At the end of the evening after requesting the bill twice, it showed up and we were overcharged $150.00 . We pointed this out , the overcharge was removed promptly although without explanation or apology. Due to the very poor service we decided not to tip. At the table the waiter quickly inspected the bill looking for his tip and made it very clear that he was unhappy. We left and will not be returning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi robertloretta,

Thanks so much for your review. We will pass the notes on to the restaurant management and I am sure they will be onto it for you.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting fm London and meeting up with my sister who lives in New Zealand. What a amazing hotel. We wanted lunch so went to the restaurent but as we were late they offered us food at the bar. Friendly staff, brillant bar snacks, such a cool place. After lunch we went for a look around the hotel and spa just gorgeous. Such friendly staff , they let us take photo,s. , showed us the private dining area. check it out if you get to sydney .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Sarah C,

Awesome to get such great feedback on a walk around the hotel, and from a Londoner no less!

We hope that you will get to stay with us next time you are in town.

Domo arigato
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the most basic room for a special occasion. As someone who often stays in the city for pleasure and not business, it is so refreshing and wonderful to see such a beautiful and original high end hotel open that is focused on being an authentic experience for it's guests and providing seriously great service. This hotel is all about the experience and this can be summed up by the espresso martini station in the hotel room with all the ingredients and instructions needed to make 2 fabulous martinis, a great start to the stay and something that all hotels should think about doing - such a great idea! The room was extremely well appointed, very glam and made us feel like we were in new York (about time Sydney) and so much better then the bland boring rooms we have previously stayed in. Very comfy bed and the bathroom was big and very modern. Loved all the mini bar options as well as the nespresso machine. It was fun exploring the room and the hotel and not knowing what to expect, the lobby and downstairs by parlour lane is beautifully decorated, it's even an experience riding in the lifts that change music when different amounts people get in - fun! We had dinner at gowings grill which was very nice especially the prawn cocktail entree and the profiteroles for dessert, stopped off in the bar afterwards for a drink and couldn't believe how beautiful all the staff were but also how friendly, they moved things around to find us a seat and helped us with our drinks selection, an absolute rarity at pretty much any other high end bar in Sydney for the average folk. Gowings also made us feel like we in a lam in NYC, the decor is so glam. The only criticism I would have is that we thought the air con was a tad bit too loud but it didnt end up affecting our sleep and having had a bit of a head cold at the time, I thought the tissues were more like paper, obviously the cheapest kind going, and I would have expected them to be of a higher quality. Overall, QT is refreshing and fun, it's more then just a hotel to stay a night if you can't be bothered getting home from city, it's a 5 star experience to be enjoyed to the fullest!

Room Tip: Gowings wing is beautifully art Deco and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear HN_travels25,

Yay! Getting a NYC comparison in a review is about the best of the best. Our own little piece of New York right in downtown Sydney. What a dreamboat!

Thanks so much for letting us know that you loved your stay, and it is so wonderful to see Sydneysiders getting in and trying the hotel. I know I am absolutely, positively, no holes barred biased about how wonderful the hotel it, but in all seriousness - it is the best :)

Please check us out again.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.