We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, top class staff and ticked every box!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added QT Sydney to your Saves list
QT Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, top class staff and ticked every box!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 21 Dec before boarding our cruise ship. When we arrived we found the hotel gated off from the road as we found out later it was the Les Miserable premiere right next door. So we lugged our 5 suitcases (yes I did need all those clothes for the cruise) from across the road where our taxi dropped us in horrid pre-Christmas foot traffic. Once the door man saw us he grabbed everything from us and in a second all our worries were gone.

Check-in was a breeze and once we took to the 'personalized' musical lifts we went up to enjoy our AMAZING room. Wow doesn't quite cover it. Spacious, beautiful furnishings, brilliant colour scheme coupled with the 5 star bathroom we were in heaven.

We checked out Sydney for the remainder of the afternoon and on arriving back near the hotel we were told by security that we couldn't walk that way. 'How am I going to get back to my hotel' I asked, oh right this way Ma'am. Phew. Well once we were in the cordoned off area, we looked like celebrities with everyone waiting on the fences with cameras in hand ready to take a snap of Hugh and Russell. Nice bonus QT!

Only small complaint was being woken by the garbage truck, which seemed like they were emptying a million dumpsters, but once they were gone I snuggled straight back in to the plush bed and right back to sleep.

Checkout too was brilliant as well as the excellent staff who found us a taxi and loaded it all up, they definitely earnt their tip.

I cannot rave enough about our stay, we LOVED the hotel only didn't have enough time to enjoy the spa or bar, but that leaves something for next time :). Would not stay anywhere else in Sydney again, see you soon QT. Oh, and a QT in Melbourne as well may be food for thought....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Hotelle11,

Now that is almost a perfect review! Everything from the staff, to the rooms, to the celeb spotting! QT really turned on the old Hollywood charm for your visit with us.

The pesky garbage trucks! So sorry that you were woken up. I am so relieved that you were able to go back to sleep right away and enjoy your stay.

We hope that next time you come to the hotel you get to check out spaQ and the bar. They are just as you would imagine - awesome!

PS - Melbourne might not be that far away!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    160
    52
    13
    13
See reviews for
36
335
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mt Martha, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked the QTSydney for a 3 night stay over NYE 2012 to celebrate a 50th birthday. From the time we were met by the Door staff with black uniforms and flaming red hair through to the foyer with its quirky Alice in Wonderland decor and our room which was warmly welcoming and a delight.

The staff were always more than polite and professional. The rooms was large enough to accommodate us comfortably. The bright and vibrant colors combined with the subtle original tones of the building were a mismatch that absolutely worked a treat.

The bed was king size and comfortable with spotless linen and comfortable pillows. The room was clean and the bathroom was well equipped. The toiletries were high quality. Robes and hairdryer included.

Room service was prompt and delicious.

My husband indulged in a "Mr Bond" shaving experience in The Barber @ QT. Now he is convinced he is a convert to barber services.

Upon striking a small problem the Concierges, David and Stella addressed this immediately and we couldn't have asked for more professional and exceptional service from these management members. They absolutely made our stay a most wonderful memory and experience.

Would definitely stay again, no question.

Room Tip: Our room 1702 was very quiet. No street or guest noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear robandshelley01,

You guys sound absolutely delightful! A real QT couple! Thanks for the lovely notes on the decor and staff. We are blessed with staff that are just the most amazing team (we thank our lucky hiring stars every day!).

A 50th and New Years! Now that is what I call reason to celebrate, and we are very happy that you did it in style with us.

We hope to see you again sonnest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We chose to stay at QT for 2 reasons... it's completely central location. You are half way between the QVB and Westfield Centrepoint, which is a 2 minute walk to either. The other was the package we were able to find online. The best deals are through the hotel itself, not any of the last minute/wotif booking sites.
If you join their membership program online you get fantasic prices with extras. Our package was even better! The "QT Experience" requires a two night stay, which was perfect for us as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. For $315 (as a member) per night you get a King Delux room, breakfast for both mornings, dinner for 2 in Gowings Bar & Grill for one night, a 1 hour spa treatment of your choice for her AND a haircut OR shave for him. We were sold, as no other 5 star hotel could come close to such an amazing offer!

Valet parking is very expensive at $69 per night. You stop in the street, directly in front of the building, where the concierge takes your bags and parks your car. You enter through parlour lane and travel up to the first floor to check in. The entrance into the hotel via parlour lane and the lobby are amazing... they are both beautiful yet completely unique, even if the decor isn't to your taste, you can't help but appreciate it. The only critisism that we could really level at the hotel is at reception... This was also mentioned in another trip advisor review... the staff are very nice, they do smile and are very pleasant and welcoming... they just don't know very much. It's a new hotel with new staff arriving regularly... however an experienced and also senior staff member should ALWAYS be at the front desk of any hotel. The lovely young woman who checked us didn't know anything about our package and basically told us nothing apart from our room number. But I'll come back to this...

We were in the State Theater side of the building, the hallways are grand and also very quiet. The lifts are funky and the music really does change depending on how many people are in the lift. We rarely had to wait more than a minute or two for a lift and rarely was anyone else in it with us. Our room was just like the photos and according to the lovely young man who brought up our bags and parked the car, each room is very different, in either size, layout, decor etc... we looked out onto the QVB with 2 huge sets of windows. The room was best described as oppulent. The bath looked great, but I thought might be more attractive than functional (we had the freestanding slipper bath).... I was wrong! It was fanastic... I adore a bath and it didn't disappoint. The bed is VERY soft, like a marshmallow, my husband was delighted as he loves soft beds. Wi-fi is free in the hotel which is hard to find in Sydney. Movies are also free with a reasonable selection. Nespresso is free also. On arriving in our room we received a card wishing us a happy anniversary along with a chilled bottle of bubbles... THANK YOU!!!

Dinner and breakfast were very good in Gowings bar and grill with lots of different options. Thankfully the staff in the restaurant did know the package deal! We each could choose 3 courses, we basically had to pay for drinks... the staff were friendly, efficient and the food was quick.. It was extremely good and we would go back. Breakfast was equally good, and we could choose whatever we liked including drinks from the menu....

The staff really are enthusiastic & friendly, but young, so haven't quite mastered the service you get at other 5 star hotels...you often did get the feel, that everyone was still learning and only knew about their job... (apart from reception.)
If you want to try something really different, in a great location, I would recommend QT... I did feel however, that it is aimed at the under 40's. If the same package was on offer and we were back in Sydney we would happily return.

QT SENIOR STAFF PLEASE NOTE : on both checking in and checking out.... we were asked to sign and agree to charges for the stay without actually being shown at any time what they were. Every other hotel we have ever stayed in down to 3 star give you a break down of charges that you sign for. When we checked out we were given a total for our stay (VERBALLY) then asked if we wanted it charged to the same card we had provided on check in... once again we should have been given a break down of the charges on paper that we should have been able to look at and sign for. On check in, I had to show the receptionist a print out of our package as she had no idea what it included.... you really need to fix this!
However...thank you for the effort you also made to make our wedding anniversary feel special.

Room Tip: If you could afford it, get a Corner Suite in the Gowings side where you would get the best view dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear JACKI S,

Wow! What a comprehensive review. That is an awesome amount of information and feedback for us to take to the team and we appreciate every minute you spent on detailing it. Such a fair and well rounded review!

I won't run through every point with you here, so will just say a very big thank you on behalf of myself and the team. We are taking your note on the charges straight to the top. This will be fixed!

Thanks so much again and hope to see you back with us soon.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

QT is Sydney's answer to a New York hotel in Soho - cool, quirky, 5 star glam with fab service in an excellent location. The attention to detail is incredible. From the moment you first see the welcome staff on market street looking uber cool, then catching the lift up to reception (the music changes depending how many people are in the lift), reception is a smooth check in process and the rooms are fab too. Great bath, comfy bed and a room that is designed in an edgy way, but it is also welcoming, think gingerbread man and red frogs in room bar. We also had breakfast in the hotel restaurant in Gowings Bar and Grill. It was superb. If you're after a traditional conservative hotel with lots of cream and gold, don't stay here. But if you want a vibrant place with personality and top service, try QT. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the State theatre side, but I am sure they would all be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Duckeee,

What a fun profile name :) I could not have put it more perfectly myself in terms of giving a succinct view of the hotel. You described everything that we love about the property, and why we offer the new school of designer hotel experience to guests like you.

We would love to take care of you again asap!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cool, Funky, trendy, Fabulous, Camp are all words that come to mind when describing QT. We stayed there last night and this hotel is simply gorgeous. I'd describe the colourful decor as a mix of Art Deco and modern funk. Staff were exceptional from the front door to the reception and room service. The room was beautiful and the best exceptionally comfortable. A great size bathroom Whilst the bath is a little small the shower is great. The room is beautifully decorated and the large screen TV and nespresso machine a real plus. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. A great place to take someone for that romantic night or a special occasion

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear nardcornish,

Judging by your profile pic you are gorgeous and a little bit different too, so perhaps it is a match made in designer heaven!

Thank you for the great notes on the decor and staff. Every review on here lets us know that we have really hit the mark for designer hotel lovers, and lovers of something a lil fresh and spesh!

Big love
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Checked into QT hotel for 1 night only in January (Sydney Festival opening night). After reading the reviews and checking out the website I expected to be greeted and escorted to reception by a bunch of friendly staff. If that's what you're expecting forget it. We arrived in afternoon so the door was vacant. Found our way up to reception; straightforward check-in although a smile would have been nice. Our room certainly made up for everything though, exactly as we anticipated. Great king size bed although (tip for management) the mattress was a bit saggy and annoying squeak present. Would have been so easy to spend our night in the room. We'd booked for Gowing's Bar & Grill but decided to cancel and eat local due to the menu being very meat heavy (yes I know it's a grill). Sadly on exiting the hotel reality bites. Let's face it ~ George Street is not a pretty place to be on a night time. So value for menu? It's a great hotel, the design team have worked miracles but to be honest it's very overpriced. Sydney definitely needs the quirky; just sad that it comes with a hefty price tag.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MamaMoJo,

Thanks for letting us know the ins and outs of your stay with us. Sounds to me like you loved the decor, would have traded a bit of location for a bit of quiet, and felt like we needed to step it up on terms of flashing our pearly whites to make you feel welcome.

I am hearing you on all counts, and we will get onto this straight away! We are stuck with the central CBD location, but we can smile!

Thanks again for loving the rooms, and letting us know.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On arriving at QT Sydney for NYE the staff quickly took our bag and organised parking for the night at what is a rather hefty $69.00 although the convenience was well worth it. We were then ushered to the lift and told to make our way to Level 1 for check in. From the moment you walk through the foyer, into the lift and out to the reception area the place has certainly been wonderfully done in a New York (I would say 60's) style that is in keeping with the era in yet ultra fresh and modern. We unfortunately were then checked in by a staff member that really made me wonder if we were not better off in the cheaper Rydges World Square. She checked us in but to be honest that was about it, no smile and certainly no going out of her way in any way whatsoever. After making our way to our room on the State Theatre side and calming down I can only say the room was something else again (WOW factor plus). The king bed was amazing to simply lie on, let alone sleep in and top marks have to be given in this regard. We then had a drink in the Gilt lounge before having dinner at Gowings Bar & Grill. Both were beautifully appointed and the wine was excellent. After being seated we did wait some 20 minutes to be waited on which we all thought was somewhat odd at a restaurant with prices at the upper scale of acceptable and the food overall was very good. Apart from the one person at check in we found all staff to be friendly and would go out of their way to help. In this case I am glad that first impressions did not last. This is an amazing place that breaks from the tradition of your standard and boring hotel and I would be more than happy to return in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear bluemountainkiwi,

What a fair and well rounded review. After being the unfortunate ones subjected to a rare case of poor service by our usually magnificent front office team (many apologies) you allowed us to swing it around and ended up being immersed in the designer decadence that is QT.

Thank you for being so great about it, we really appreciate it.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.