We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 DAYS OF HIP GROOVY CLASSY TOP CLASS HOTEL EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Sydney

Save Saved
You added QT Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
QT Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“4 DAYS OF HIP GROOVY CLASSY TOP CLASS HOTEL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was our 40 th wedding anniversary.
We had dined several times at the Gowings Bar and Grill and loved the whole deal;
the welcome;
the staff;
the service;
the food;
the wine list;
the quality of the food
the waiters attire WOW!!!!
Sooooooo I thought why not reserve a 4 day stay at the QT hotel.
We arrived to be welcomed by a a cool hip groovy friendly young lady I wish I had her name!
we took the retro lift to level 1 to check in that took 5 minutes ! the lift sang us a song "the two of us" Ha! Ha! We went to our room WHAT A ROOM !! I have travelled the worlds major cities and this beats them all for decor that is WOW out of this world groovy hip exciting AND there it was champagne in an ice bucket with 2 cold glasses ready for us with a beautiful card from David the Concierge THANK YOU so MUCH!! The in room movies all of them were free! the mini bar had excellent drinks at really reasonable prices! the Nespresso free unlimited! the wifi free! We had the best time ! the bathroom is an artwork! You really have to experience this! just do it! BTW the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in line sleeping in a cloud! THANK YOU QT

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms a re good we were in 912 and it was peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear leonard4979,

Yayyyyyy! You loved us! A Gowings Bar and Grill lover converted to a QT Sydney lover. How romantic!

Sounds like you guys really dove head first into everything that we have to offer at the hotel, from the food, to the wine, to the staff, to the bubbles!

You sound right up our alley and we hope that we become your new howe away from home.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    142
    44
    10
    10
See reviews for
28
263
31
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for a Saturday night in the city. Staff pleasant and helpful whilst the rooms were comfortable with the decor best described as eclectic. The retaurant "Gowings Bar & Grill " was disappointing and the coffee shop on street level plays music at a volume that inhibits conversation. Being inner city there are no views and valet parking at $65.00 is expensive.
This hotel would be ok for someone wishing to stay in the CBD but otherwise despite its quirkiness I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear masonnsw,

Thanks so much for your review. Sometimes it is hard to see how one review fits in with the one before it. It makes me feel like reviewers are talking about two different hotels!

It is always wonderful to have light and shade in reviews, so we thank you for letting us know how you felt about your stay. It definitely is not the norm, however we know that we cannot have great reviews all of the time!

Thanks again.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgowlah, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Being a Sydney-sider, I was looking for somewhere fun and different to book for my wedding anniversary weekend. After spending hours searching on the net, reading reviews, I decided to give the new and funky QT a go.

Their website is great - you can actually see what your room will look like! Something many other Sydney hotels could learn from. And we were not disappointed. On the day of our arrival I called to see what time we could check in - to my excitement we could check in EARLY - I mean like midday as our room was already ready!

We joined the QT club (free) and were given an awesome sized room (I mean HUGE) overlooking George street and up to the Town Hall building - nice view for a city hotel. We had a King room with all the bells and whistles you would expect from a new hotel - the decor in the rooms is so fun and quirky. The bathroom was to die for - something else that I discovered was lacking in other hotels.

We also paid for valet parking ($60/night), which if you are a local having a weekend in the city I would fully recommend as Market Street is very busy. All we did was pull up and there were people there to take care of us.

As they knew it was our anniversary they had left a lovely bottle of complimentary champagne for us to enjoy - what a great way to start a stay.

All the staff were very professional and very friendly, making you feel special and at ease - no pretentiousness here - just helpful and happy staff. Another advantage of the QT club was the late checkout 1pm - fully recommend that!

The decor is what makes this place so special - Art Deco to the hilt! The old Gowings building has been totally transformed to make some very special rooms and common areas in the hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy their stay in Sydney, whether a local or tourist, you'll love it!

Room Tip: Join the QT club - you can receive advantages such as better room, view and late checkout
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

As we were checking in our room rate was $380 and after paying them in full they demanded a further $200 on the spot deposit to be refunded in 3-5 working days?! So basically $680 for the night? In a non-5 star hotel? I don't think so. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hiya,

Thanks so much for your review. While this is a very narrow report on your stay (one that doesn't address the property or its services apart from a deposit query), we still appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your concern.

It is absolutely common practice to take a deposit for in room charges - particularly in a hotel were guests receive free range access to spa services, charges for dining and beverages, in room charges. We completely understand that this has taken you by surprise, but know that as you travel you will find this to be the norm.

I hope that the rest of your stay was wonderful.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

wow this is somewhat crazy in all aspects such a stunning place to visit your greeted by gorgeous girls in a crazy uniform n red wig and the cutest bellhops in such a chilled attire makes it seem so welcoming and grounded . as you enter the lifts u are greeted by crazy lift music that changes by how many guests are in the lift at any one time.

i stayed for 2 nights at the QT Sydney over all the experience was great a few teething problems as it is all so new but certainly minor hiccups that you simply over look.

the art deco is stunning the rooms i have to say , top of the line my favourite by far.

the only downfall and i hate to say it is the concierge she is some how unpleasant in her ways and comes across fake or unnatural i think id prefer to much rather use the concierge app or just use a computer to organise things rather then deal with her

never the less i will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear mick24,

What a wonderful review! We seem to have ticked all of the boxes for you, and that is a fantastic thing to hear!

We love that you will be back, and we really appreciate you creating a profile just to review us. It's so awesome when people do that!

I'm going to do a secret squirrel mission and check out the concierge. With an environment that beautiful it would be hard to be unpleasant so we need to nip that one in the bud!

Big thanks and have a ball this silly season,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Queensland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed as a couple at the QT for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The whole hotel has a funky feel about it and the room we had was as per the hotel photographs. The rooms were very clean, relatively spacious and well appointed including a nespresso machine. The beds were extremely comfortable however given the age of the building you can sometimes hear the lift throughout the night.
The restaurant and bar on the facilities is very popular and would recommend booking in advance if you intend to stay over a weekend. We found the breakfast menu to be fairly varied and the food was of a high standard along with service staff.
Parking on the premises is not cheap so factor that into your room rate if required.
The hotel is located adjacent to the Pitt Street Mall which was excellent for shopping. The mono rail is also in close proximately to the hotel.
My only suggestion for improvement would be to advise guests checking in to book for the restaurant if they intend to dine there.
Overall, a very well located hotel with good facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Rosco_FNQ,

I completely agree with you about letting guests know to book. We are so busy in Gowings Bar and Grill that bookings are absolutely essential. We will get onto that straight away for you.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was as it should be.

Please come back soon!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just finished a little staycation weekend at QT Sydney with my partner, who lives in LA. Wanted to finish off this visit with something a little fun/different.

It's a great location if you want to camp in the CBD and the hotel itself is super cool. Room layout and decor is amazing. It's kooky without feeling forced. We stayed in a junior suite on the State side and absolutely loved it. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I wanted to steal half of the furniture.

Service was friendly but not intrusive. Free wi-fi was rock solid. Food both in-room and in the restaurant was good, though the room service menu is light-on (but available 24 hours. Yay.)

One minor issue which maybe points to a new property with some process issues to iron out - our first night the minibar had not been restocked and upon checkout, all of the missing items were added to our bill, totalling more than $200 in charges. But the staff member removed the charge with a minimum of fuss and said they'd call if there was any issue, so hopefully that's that!

I'll certainly be recommending this property to friends coming to town.

One extra tip: sign up for their free membership program to get discounts on the rates and a free late check out entitlement (you'll still need to claim it with reception)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear VSau,

Thanks for a wonderful review. The language in there points to you being a seasoned traveller (an international one if I hazard a guess based on where your partner is from) and we are beyond delighted that the hotel hit all the right marks for you.

The suites are absolutely epic. I completely agree!

We would love to see you again next time you are in town for the weekend, or just want to get away.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.