We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Sydney

Save Saved
You added QT Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
QT Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

wow this is somewhat crazy in all aspects such a stunning place to visit your greeted by gorgeous girls in a crazy uniform n red wig and the cutest bellhops in such a chilled attire makes it seem so welcoming and grounded . as you enter the lifts u are greeted by crazy lift music that changes by how many guests are in the lift at any one time.

i stayed for 2 nights at the QT Sydney over all the experience was great a few teething problems as it is all so new but certainly minor hiccups that you simply over look.

the art deco is stunning the rooms i have to say , top of the line my favourite by far.

the only downfall and i hate to say it is the concierge she is some how unpleasant in her ways and comes across fake or unnatural i think id prefer to much rather use the concierge app or just use a computer to organise things rather then deal with her

never the less i will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear mick24,

What a wonderful review! We seem to have ticked all of the boxes for you, and that is a fantastic thing to hear!

We love that you will be back, and we really appreciate you creating a profile just to review us. It's so awesome when people do that!

I'm going to do a secret squirrel mission and check out the concierge. With an environment that beautiful it would be hard to be unpleasant so we need to nip that one in the bud!

Big thanks and have a ball this silly season,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    144
    45
    10
    10
See reviews for
30
270
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Far North Queensland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed as a couple at the QT for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The whole hotel has a funky feel about it and the room we had was as per the hotel photographs. The rooms were very clean, relatively spacious and well appointed including a nespresso machine. The beds were extremely comfortable however given the age of the building you can sometimes hear the lift throughout the night.
The restaurant and bar on the facilities is very popular and would recommend booking in advance if you intend to stay over a weekend. We found the breakfast menu to be fairly varied and the food was of a high standard along with service staff.
Parking on the premises is not cheap so factor that into your room rate if required.
The hotel is located adjacent to the Pitt Street Mall which was excellent for shopping. The mono rail is also in close proximately to the hotel.
My only suggestion for improvement would be to advise guests checking in to book for the restaurant if they intend to dine there.
Overall, a very well located hotel with good facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Rosco_FNQ,

I completely agree with you about letting guests know to book. We are so busy in Gowings Bar and Grill that bookings are absolutely essential. We will get onto that straight away for you.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was as it should be.

Please come back soon!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just finished a little staycation weekend at QT Sydney with my partner, who lives in LA. Wanted to finish off this visit with something a little fun/different.

It's a great location if you want to camp in the CBD and the hotel itself is super cool. Room layout and decor is amazing. It's kooky without feeling forced. We stayed in a junior suite on the State side and absolutely loved it. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I wanted to steal half of the furniture.

Service was friendly but not intrusive. Free wi-fi was rock solid. Food both in-room and in the restaurant was good, though the room service menu is light-on (but available 24 hours. Yay.)

One minor issue which maybe points to a new property with some process issues to iron out - our first night the minibar had not been restocked and upon checkout, all of the missing items were added to our bill, totalling more than $200 in charges. But the staff member removed the charge with a minimum of fuss and said they'd call if there was any issue, so hopefully that's that!

I'll certainly be recommending this property to friends coming to town.

One extra tip: sign up for their free membership program to get discounts on the rates and a free late check out entitlement (you'll still need to claim it with reception)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear VSau,

Thanks for a wonderful review. The language in there points to you being a seasoned traveller (an international one if I hazard a guess based on where your partner is from) and we are beyond delighted that the hotel hit all the right marks for you.

The suites are absolutely epic. I completely agree!

We would love to see you again next time you are in town for the weekend, or just want to get away.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First the positive comments -

Stayed for a two night package for husbands birthday - we loved the room facing George St. - fun and funky, new and the best location for shopping, Queen Victoria Building, transport around Sydney and cafes- card and cupcakes a nice touch. Staff helpful, plentiful and friendly. Anna on front desk followed up all enquiries well. Really great coffee at Parlour Lane(downstairs cafe) and the SpaQ treatments were well worth the price. Dinner at Gowings was superb with the finesse and finishing touches of the very experienced John, made it a night to remember. I strongly suggest, if you wish to visit, to join the loyalty program - its for free and we had price reductions on room rate, food and beverage as well as late checkout.

Unfortunately - the finer details - I had an enquiry and not only could front desk not tell me the details of their own offer, neither could the restaurant. This is where the lack of training and or inexperience was noticable. Due to the lack of knowledge on package details we missed out on our welcome drinks. The cake of soap in the bathroom was not new and left for our use. The Nespresso machines in the room are fab - but not if you drink decafe - room service do not supply it - milk missing from fridge. We literally walked across the road to the Nespresso shop on the corner and brought our own - shame the staff couldnt do it. Suggested to front desk and room service to supply decaf - will wait to be seen. By this stage I suspected the bill would not be correct - front desk did a good job of adjusting the package and discounts - after I pointed this out at check out. The biggest shock, when I got home and checked my banking details - that the authorization amount was the full price of two nights plus an extra $200. This is not stated on any paper work nor told to me by front desk. A hefty price to tie up your credit card for 10 days at Christmas time - let alone pay fees on it. I was also charged my 20% discounts !!! Called Adam and he was very helpful - he will contact my bank and have those charges promptly reversed. So --- I am very patient and relaxed - this did not cause stress - I will hope they will have it all ironed out by the time I return - for I shall!
Tracy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear TracySSydney,

Another local shout out! It is so awesome to see our Sydney contingent getting in and enjoying the hotel. It is amazing how even being 10kms from hom in a hotel can feel like a whole different world when you have someone to make your bed for you!

Thanks for all the notes, both positive and those that needed working on. These are definitely fresh hotel hiccups and will level out as the processes become smoother and we gauge what is exactly needed by our guests.

I hoe your hubby had a beautiful birthday and that you might consider making it a yearly thing!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I just stayed for two nights along with about 20 others for a business trip. I was amazed when I arrived from the decor in the lobby and stunning room. I wanted just to touch every finish and surface as it was so inviting. I had breakfast which was really 5 star. So delicious and no request was hard for staff to meet.

We made use of the two gorgeous bars as well as the more relaxed 'honestly bar'. I was really blown away by how beautiful this place is, and I could not stop snapping photos of the decor [particularly as I work for an interior finish product so it was so well fit for us to be staying here].

I love the attention to detail - even the music and quirky quotes and sounds played when you arrive at your level. Mini bar was also fantastically stocked and I thought very affordable for a hotel of this calibre [thanks I made great use of this!]

The only two things I can say that may be looked at is I would have really liked the option for some brighter lighting in the bathroom. The mood lighting is beautiful, but putting making on at night was really hard and I could not see very well [maybe a vanity mirror with lighting would be great].

Also the staff were really friendly and nice [and I loved all their clothes and presentation - all gorgeous!], but it took the valet 1 hour and 15 mins to retrieve our car. So we stood out the front the entire time and were told it would only be 15 minutes when we originally called from our room to request it, which unfortunately made us late for an appointment and kept people waiting for us.

All in all, I was very impressed by my stay. My room was a little haven of luxury, which was quiet - I felt like there was no one else on my level! beds were amazing [pillows may be improved a little], bath and shower was spectacular.

I was disappointed I did not have time to visit the spa - but I will def be doing that on my next return.

Unique, beautiful and inviting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Nicky R,

It is so flattering that you created a profile just to review us. Thank you so much for this effort, and also for your gorgeous review.

It is wonderful to hear from a design industry insider that you loved your stay and that we have hit the mark on all our choices.

We will get onto the bathroom lighting issue and make sure that the ladies are able to get their makeup done perfectly!

Thanks again and we hope to see you the next time you are in Sydney.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Yep good property...... but a big big issue .....

This property clearly has either NO or totally failed to implement thier disaster / major incident action / recovery plan ..........A five star hotel in a major city fwith no power / phones / A/C internet yada yada for more than 4 fours is a major event....... Now I expect management will reply to these post with their usually 'spin' but try and look through that and focus on the basic issues.

He is what should of happened - remember the reception for the QT is up a level or two ..... not on ground level.

The situation should of been very quickly reviewed with - engineering / maintenance swinging into action and calling in their relevant contractors within minutes.

If safe someone should of remained at the main reception but only as redirector......
A prime forward comand post maned by the most senior staff on duty who where not part of the actual electrical fix. A simple table two ways / mobile phones / emergency light packs is all that was required.

What did happen - very junior staffed.... who smiled nicely but frankly did not have a clue how to manage the situation maned the main door ....... No annoucments over the emergency warning speaker system - people leaving and re-entering the building totally uncontroled and at will..........

I'm sorry but 'the one one is to blame' simply does not cut it ........ Our Saturday stay was seriously effected.

And to add insult come check out time not even a hint of a rate reduction for the utter debarcal that we had to endure.

In summary totally 'Clueless' in a crisis situation and simple not good enough ..... to add insult no even minor compensation for the farce .......What a joke .....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear PayingBrissieGuest,

Thanks kindly for your review. Whilst it may seem like this response to your review has more spin that a Nadal backhander it's so confusing for us to read reviews of the incident on the weekend and see such varied descriptions of how we handled the situation.

We were at 100% capacity on Saturday, and have had very few exceptions to the 'we handled a difficult and unavoidable situation very well' rule with regards to this event. This doesn't mean that your concerns aren't valid. It may mean that there is a small gap in our planning that has seen you in a different situation than the bulk of our guests.

Please accept our apologies, know that we are completely aware of what needs to be offered to guests in the case of power outage, and we will endeavour to do our best in the unlikely event of it occurring again.

With complete validation of your concerns.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knesselare, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at QT Sydney and we had a great great great time!
Everything is perfect: the design, the atmosphere in the lobby, bar, cafe even in the elevators!
The friendly and professional crew, the superb location in CBD and good restaurant.
Rooms are very clean, cosy, super hip and full of fun stuff!
We especially liked the Nespresso & twin shower. Only missed a full length mirror (and a little bit more storage space or an extra closed) But that's only a detail and I heard all rooms come with a different design, maybe other rooms have more closeds?
QT Sydney is a new kind of hotel with an original approach and positive vibe! Hope QT goes worldwide, they certainly can compete (and maybe do better) with the big ones like W and Morgans Hotels!
Special thanx to excellent and very helpful concierge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear DavyVermeire,

Thanks for an awesome review. I wonder if we will go world wide! Imagine that! World wide QT domination. It would be cross-continental designer heaven!

I'm hearing you on the mirrors. Sometimes you've got to be able to check out the head to toe look!

We hope to see you again really soon.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Cnr Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.