We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Base Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Base Backpackers to your Saves list
Base Backpackers
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a hostel to stay in if you want to go out and have a good night. Scary canaries downstairs is great for that especially and my floor (first) actually wasn't too noisy, it was only loud because the air con was constantly on. I was in an 8 bed but felt more like 20 as 5 of my roommates lived there permanently so their stuff was everywhere and they had people coming in and out. The showers and toilets were really clean and all staff very helpful. The travel desk especially as they're honest and don't rush a sale out of you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    105
    83
    43
    41
See reviews for
3
41
124
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The accomm was ok, but in the 4-bed women's only dorm there was only 1 chair. There was no quiet place or reading corner in the whole hostel and there was no escape from the thumping noises of the attached pub. The lifts took ages, our room was hot (30 degr C) and supposedly airconditioned.... despite 3 complaints it was not rectified. However hostel was clean, convenient and within walking distance to attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We have a base jumping card so needed to stay here! The room we stayed in was a 4 dorm and it was ok and clean but the bunks were rickety and felt unsafe.
Lift was crap and took ages to work and we were on the 3rd floor which meant going up 6 flights of stairs.
The kitchen was filthy and had cockroaches running up the walls - we reportedbit to reception and they just said well call house keeping like it was the norm...i didnt eat in the kitchen again.
Wifi was to pay for but quite fast!!
Hostel says no alcohol but people were drinking and very loud also someone threw up all over the bathroom doors but in fairness to tje staff it was cleaned quickly and the rowdy people asked to be quiet but i know a few people had complained.
Wouldnt stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Horrible, horrible, horrible stay with Base backpackers and ridiculously disappointed after an amazing stay at their sister property in Melbourne.

I came to Sydney on a last minute work trip and the hotels I usually stayed at were booked out so I stayed with Base.

Worst mistake ever.

The private rooms are directly above the club below and they run every night. The first night I tried to sleep at midnight and wasn't able to until closer to 4am... and I had to wake up at 5:30 for a meeting. The second morning I luckily napped from 6pm until 10pm when I woke to the pumping bass from the club below and then couldn't get back to sleep until 4am - and it was a very disturbed sleep as well.

Aside from this, the staff were friendly. Everything was relatively clean. The TV remote didn't work even after I changed the batteries with ones from my (working) mouse, and the location is fantastic.

That being said, I will never stay in one of their private rooms (nor a dorm after looking at the shared shower - I took one look at them out of curiosity) after this.

Room Tip: Don't get a private room unless you want to party - they're directly above the bar below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Staying for a couple of days for a training session. Base is clean, tidy and handy to everything. The room I am in is a King room with own bathroom, plenty of power points , air conditioning and linen is provided. Very cool at a good price.
Negatives are that the room is a little stinky and I couldn't work the tv (most likely my own inability to use it).
I would come back to stay here. This is room 222, dunno what the other rooms are like.
If you like the base in NZ then this is def up with the play.
Could use a new cover on the ironing board and some of the taps in the kitchen need maintenance.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Base was my first hostel to stay in, in Australia...
Location was very good as everything was only a small walk away.. Staff were pretty friendly and very helpful..
The free day trips were great and great way to see the sights of the city.
Stayed in a 10 bed dorm and it was lovely and clean, only down fall would have been the kitchen but it's hard to keep it clean with so many guests not cleaning up after themselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited Sydney for 3 nights, pleasant stay, they pick us at the airport for free because the booking was made for 3 or more nights stay. Staff is friendly and is well location is excellent. Walking distance to darling harbour, 5 min drive to kings cross.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Address: 477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Base Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.