We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and clean place in the center of Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney Backpackers to your Saves list
Sydney Backpackers
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   7 Wilmot Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quite and clean place in the center of Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here just to that my wife could finish her shopping before leaving back for Singapore. It was the right hotel that we picked up. At the center of George Street and Pitt's street it is located close to shops, malls and restaurants. Our room did not have a window and was very small but we did not mind so much since most of the time we were outside :). Nonetheless toilets were clean and ambience was quite inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    19
    18
    7
    26
See reviews for
1
4
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I made enquiries and booked online from New Zealand. We were offered a four bed dorm for the private use of myself and two sons. The rates for our three night stay were very good..(about one night in an apartment equivalent.) I found the staff to be pleasant and friendly,communications with them via the net were answered promptly and my expectations were met ! We received a complimentary transfer from the airport which was great. Our room was on the first floor..not quite as big as it appeared in the picture but adequate none the less..it was always nice and warm. The bathrooms and toilets in our area definatly had NOT been refurbished as stated on the website. The kitchen although clean had a stove and zip that were out of order and judging by the notice on them had been for sometime. There was a shortage of cups and the crockery in general was older and mismatched.The rooftop area was not a place to enjoy or cook food on the barbecue which was rather dirty.The furniture was also untidy in this area. The real Downer for us however was the NO ALCOLHOL policy which we new nothing about until we arrived. We had expected an enjoyable sit outside on the roof top cooking a Barbie and having a duty fre drink or three whilst talking to other overseas travelers . I am from a tourist town and work in the tourism industry ... I know that our area does better than what we received here.
Overall.. Great location,efficient and friendly staff but let down by quality of accommodation and cleanliness . Yes I would stay again but older and wiser now !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed as part of a 9-man group after a night out at the casino, so no sharing with complete strangers. For the $30p/p per night we paid, I thought it was alright. It was clean, and I even saw a cleaner in action. Yes, it was a little noisy with street noise as I think all rooms face the street. Yes the ladder situation was grim for the top bunk. Yes, we thought it was cold with only one thin blanket, but considering it would have cost 4x or more to house us all in a regular hotel we were happy - more money for the casino! The tea room looked ok with a large telly and lounges and tables. I could see someone cooking in the kitchen and it looked adequate for general use. Dealing with staff were fine.

I think the cleanliness of the place depends a lot on the other guests and cleaning after yourself is the best way to minimise mess. How can a cleaner come through each hour @ $30p/p per night?

All up, fine for a place to crash after a night out as a group.

Room Tip: Bring own towel and soap. Sleep away from the window to minimise noise and also in a jumper in cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A group of us stayed here for one night. The price was great for what a group of us wanted it for... just a place to crash before heading on a holiday the next day. It was close to everything - shops, resturants, train station, wharf etc. Little did we know that you would get no sleep! The room was extreamly hot, but if you opened the windows to get fresh air it was like the party was in your room! The music coming from down the road was so loud, there were people on the streets yelling to all hours of the morning! The garbage truck and the street sweeper are used as a wake up call, thats if you even got to sleep in the first place! It was constant! If you want a good nights sleep ... do not stay here as sleep is not what you will get! You would be better off partying all night and not bothering with accomodation! As for the shared toilets and showers, they were unbearable! Disgusting comes to mind. There was trash everywhere, the bathroom and toilets looked like they hadnt been cleaned for years! And at times i felt unsafe... guys lurking on the streets drunk. Next time i will be spending the money and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed here one night with some friends as it is close proximity to train stations and clubs. We payed with a credit card before we go there and when we arrived a couple of hours earlier than the check in time , the lady behind the counter said that yes the credit card number was accepted and gave us the keys to our room, so they we didnt have to check in later that evening when we got back. Our room was as expected and what we paid for so whilst we were there we were happy with it other than the fact that towels are not provided. However, a week later i received an email saying the we had no paid and that we were going to be charged a fee for no showing up. I contacted the people that we had booked through and explained that we had in fact turned up. Booking.com confirmed this and said that they were going to email the hostel and get them to change their records. Another week went by and one of the receptionists named Dan, called the girl who had left her number in case of damages and demanded that we pay and then proceeded to call her a liar and was extremely rude. It turned out that we had in fact given them our credit card number and all the necessary details but they had not taken the money so it was their fault. Was disgusted with his behavior and will not be staying there or recommending this place to anyone else.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the street are loud at night, and the windows were hard to close leaving the room real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed there for the weekend ( 2-5 march 2012), was the biggest mistake. The room they put me in, was dirty and was not fit to be used as a dog kennel. Could not use any of the so call provided lockers, there was rubbish all over the floor and there was no air con. the room, so it was always VERY hot.
Went into the shower on after it was meant to have been cleaned, and found used razor blades on the floor of the shower.
Also had things stolen out of my suitcase, they even stole my pillow of my bunk.
Don't stay there if you would like any sleep during the night, there is not a quite room in the hole building. The other guest in the place and the staff don't give a stuff about anybody else. l complained all the time to the staff, and got told there was nothing they could do. ( More like they didn't want to do anything.)

Room Tip: find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very basic backpackers with shared rooms with bunks with bricks to sleep on. You get given a bottom sheet, pillowcase and a cotton blanket to make your own bed. No top sheet. No carpet anywhere and very noisy both inside and outside the hostel. Inside noise - other guests partying. Outside noise - rubbish bins being emptied and street cleaners and drunks yelling in the streets all night. Not a restful nights sleep.

We had to wait all day for our linen because the person on the desk could not be bothered getting it for us until we threatened to ring his boss. We had an injured person with us who needed to go to bed and was unable to. Not the way to treat your guests.

Paid extra for a double room that was like a cupboard with no window and cramped. Still had a bunk bed and on entering one of the beds had dirty linen on it. So not much cleaning happening as well. No air conditioning and hot and stuffy.

Room Tip: Be careful when choosing a backpackers. The YHA would probably be better as they have a level of se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sydney Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Backpackers

Address: 7 Wilmot Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sydney Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Sydney Backpackers is a purposely built boutique hostel located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD, 30 Meters to the Entrance of Town Hall Railway Station. We are in the walking distance to everywhere ‘must-see’ in Sydney for sightseeing and we know what our guests want.”Since we are located in the heart of the city, we are close to the main bars, restaurants, clubs, shops, cinemas, public transport and everything else you might need in this beautiful city!Sydney Backpackers is 1 of 5 hostels in Sydney capable in catering major groups and classified 3.5 stars by AAA Tourism. We are also awarded ‘WINNER OF 2006 CITY OF SYDNEY BUSINESS AWARDS’ for an outstanding backpacker in year 2006 and also nominated as a finalist in 2010.Sydney Backpackers is well known from individuals and groups visiting Sydney domestically and internationally and given lots of good feedbacks and complimentary for our good services. We proudly say that we specialize in group bookings as we have know-how of handling groups and have rooms to accommodate a group of up to 150 people or more. We are in the walking distance to everywhere in Sydney for sightseeing (Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour and heaps more attractions) and everything you need (shopping centers, supermarkets, cinema, restaurants, transport). This is the best quiet location that you would ever image to find if you think of staying in a budget accommodation right in the middle of the city. Sydney Backpackers is 1 of 5 hostels in Sydney capable in catering major groups and classified 3.5 stars by AAA Tourism. We are also awarded ‘WINNER OF 2006 CITY OF SYDNEY BUSINESS AWARDS’ for an outstanding backpacker in year 2006 and also nominated as a finalist in 2010.Building & FacilitiesRooms to suit 2 to 16 people (20sqm to 65sqm with 3.5-meter ceilings)Free internet access (Wireless)Building under constant 24hr video surveillance Central air conditioning and heater Fridge, Digital TV, DVD player (Single room, Twin/2 bed, 4 bed, 6 bed)Individual security lockers with padlocksFresh laundered & Sanitized white linen and blanketsElectronic key to access your room and the buildingCommon room (Vending Machines)Self-catering Kitchen fully furnishedShared shower booths and toilets Coin Operated LaundryHandicapped facilitiesBBQ facility at the rooftopGreat view of the city (240 square meter rooftop terrace)24-hour video surveillance for the entire building and fire exits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sydney Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Backpacker Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.