We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay in Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Sydney Wentworth to your Saves list
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #51 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

4,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    1,278
    657
    281
    129
See reviews for
513
1,992
327
799
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had out tenth anniversary weekend in Sydney and stayed here. We were upgraded to a larger room and were gifted a bottle of bubbly as well. Sofitel Club was a great experience and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a great time for us both without our children. We will stay here again if we return to Sydney.
PS If you want top notch service ask for Lillian Tolentino, she will treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: Ask to stay waay from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Bonjour,

It was wonderful to read your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience and I thank you for taking the time to write. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy our lovely Club Sofitel which we are very proud of. Lilian Tolentino have recently started here at our hotel and as our Director of Guest Relations as well as Club Sofitel Manager, she is very dedicated and certainly knows how to provide excellence in service with all of of our guests. We are very delighted and proud of having Lilian in our team leading our fantastic Club Sofitel team who are known for their friendly and superior service.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay again at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotrel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked as a five star luxury iconic hotel, I found myself puzzling if this was a correct description. Certainly the prices for extras were top shelf. $50 to launder three shirts, $30 for an hour of wifi, $9 for a bottle of unchilled unbranded water, and $40 for a breakfast where you had to queue with ten others, and the coffee was mediocre

The room was spartan (not minimal) with furniture suitable for IKEA. At least the bed was very comfortable with silky cotton sheets. But plain beige painted walls and cables and wires unhidden. Very ordinary bathroom. Basically no French flair. No luxury!

Sound wise, there was a strange acoustic effect where you hear the trains at Circular Quay reflected from various buildings. And in the next room was an opera singer who warmed up his voice. When the cleaner called, he sang "cleaning lady, cleaning lady"

And the alarm clock woke me at five. And I failed to hit the right button in the dark, so it did it again ten minutes later

One morning, the entire floor missed out on newspapers

So I reckon this is not an iconic luxury hotel, but rather one for tour groups, flight crews and conferences..And even for that they need to fix some things

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback and my most sincere apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we aim to exceed our guest’s expectations and on this occasion, it is clear that we have failed to deliver. I would be pleased if you could contact me on H3665-GM02@sofitel.com to further discuss your stay. I am grateful that you took the time to write because it is through feedback such as your that we are able to offer our future guests a premium product.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for a night after a visit with friends in Sydney. The room was clean and comfortable. It was well furnished with a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and welcoming. A nice night.the hotel is in a good location near the shops and the harbour. Easy to get around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Bonjour,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it.

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay. I am also glad that the Hotel’s location was suitable for your visit. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it was most pleasing to read of your satisfaction.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I bought my son's girlfriend a Member for a Day Certificate so they could do the harbour bridge climb and have a night in town. The service they received was amazing and made it a great experience for them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Bonjour,

It is always a pleasure to read such lovely comments about our Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoy your stays with us. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

It was wonderful to read your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience and I thank you for taking the time to write. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay, our product and service.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay again at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club and complete day spa. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.