We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Chippen Street | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after a 11 night cruise, it was fantastic!
After reading really mixed reviews we were so happy when we arrived compared to the place we stayed prior to the cruise. The service was great, we were able to check in 4 hours early, room was spacious with a full kitchen (we didnt use) the balcony was ideal and best of all it had a washing machine and dryer in your room (behind door in bathroom) also an iron and ironing board & plenty of storage room. Bonus it had a gym, pool & spa and also contential breakfast was included. 10min walk to central station. $35 taxi ride to airport. Great value for money we would def stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    83
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
50
84
16
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

One bedroomed apartment - quite well equipped kitchen that included a dishwasher. Decor and soft furnishings are a bit shabby and tired looking. Bedroom had a comfy bed and good bedding. Bathroom left a bit to be desired as cramped and in need of some renovation. Not somewhere you could relax as no bath and this is where the washer and dryer are located.
The living room is definitely compact and bijou, don't open the curtains or you will be smiling at the workmen opposite (good tip in the bedroom as well!). The sofa bed is really only ok for one and don't expect a comfortable sleep.
Now for the absolute best bit, the roof terrace with barbecues and the pool and hot tub. We loved this at the end of the day so it made up for the room.
The location is good and only a ten minute walk from the stations (bus and train).
Secure parking is available at a reasonable cost.
It might sound like I would not revisit, it might not be my first choice but for the cost it was ok so I may go back there one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our final lodging in Australia having stayed in hotels from budget to luxury. This hotel was by far the worse and not value for money.The staff, when present, were unfriendly and even rude. The apartment was certainly not spacious as advertised. The carpet, surfaces and woodwork were dirty, the sofa bed uncomfortable and the bedding cheap. The complimentary breakfast was very basic and the hotel was in a rundown part of town with the nearest cafes or stores at least 10 minutes away. The rooftop had no shade and the swimming pool water looked unclean. Some past reviews are questionable especially the one written in October 2012 which speaks of NYE 2012.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

(I travel a lot for work) This place was really shabby. It looked nothing like the photographs. I would never stay there again. It was small, cramped, falling apart, there was a terrible smell. The fold out sofa had a stain (on the sheet) and there was a spring poking through. The shower looked like it had never been cleaned. Terrible service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We selected this hotel for a few reasons - we needed a place to park an SUV where we'd definitely get a park without hassle, needed a kitchen and were on a (no luxury pricing) budget, but still wanted proximity to Glebe, Newtown and the CBD.

Waldorf met all these requirements, however don't go expecting 5 star for budget pricing.

There was a touch of a run down feeling with a few bits and pieces not working quite right in our 1 br apartment, and the pool area slightly neglected with some broken tiles and broken glass around the area. The gym, however, was one of the most well equipped I've seen in a hotel.

Overall the hotel is good value for money averaging under $200 per night with the deal we received.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed two nights in a studio apartment. I was impressed by the comfort of the apartment, the housekeeping facilities provided (good cooker, pots and pans, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine & dryer), the cleanliness and maintenance of the unit, the secure parking included in the tariff (a great benefit), the surprisingly well equipped gym, and the friendly welcome at reception. The bed was comfortable and street noise was not a problem at all. The area is not Sydney's most charming, but brighter areas are easily accessible, including Newtown, Broadway and Glebe. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk from Railway Square/Central Station. The Waldorf was pleasant accommodation, and its price represented excellent value by Sydney standards.

Room Tip: Cleveland Street is a busy street, so look for a room away from it on the side streets/lanes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Apart from being fractionally off the beaten track, with a 10 min walk to Central Station, this was a great discovery!
We had 2 night here. Our room had good kitchen facilities and was comfortable. Pool was nice, but spa not working.
Breakfast was included which was nice touch, and we had plenty to eat.
All in all well worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel

Address: 47 Chippen Street | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and spacious hotel apartments accommodation is suitable for both daily and extended stay accommodation and will establish a new standard of value for your money in Sydney hotel Apartments! Waldorf Apartment Hotel Sydney South provide comfortable accommodation for business travel, holiday rental ,corporate travellers or extended stay residential accommodation. If you need to be away from home for a day, a month or more, come to the Waldorf Sydney South Apartments. Visitors of the Waldorf Sydney South Apartments Hotel have easy access to restaurants, Sydney sport facilities,coffee shops and entertainment facilities within 10 minutes walking distance from your Hotel Apartment. We are within 2 kms from Sydney's Central Business District and within walking distance from the University of Technology (UTS) and Sydney University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.