We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, close to CBD, mall and coffee shops” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Chippen Street | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Taranaki
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service, close to CBD, mall and coffee shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for five nights and would come back. The included breakfast was basic but good - who can complain about toasted fruit bread... When we checked in we were told our deluxe studio room was on a corner with a busy road outside but if it was too noisy to let them know the next morning and we could swop (it was the only one available when we checked in). We used foam earplugs as I am a light sleeper and the noise was no problem so we didn't swop. The people at reception were fantastic and went out of their way to answer our questions and find solutions to problems such as 'how to get to different places'. Their focus seemed to be to ensure we had a great stay. Chippendale the suburb the apartments are in is an interesting mix of industrial business, Italian coffee shops, art deco second hand furntiture places and minimilist art gallerys not to mention being a ten minute walk away from Broadway Mall (find the organic coffee shop and have some of their toasted banana loaf with pecan butter - to die for). It is also 10 minute walk away from Central Station. A good location. The fourth floor is just perfect with its pool, outdoor seating and barbeque if you stay check it out on your first day so you can make use of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room plus take one of those hangers for washing as the rooms have a washing machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    84
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
50
84
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I chose to stay at the South Sydney Waldorf because of its location - a short walk to both Central and Redfern train stations and very close to friends I was visiting. It was only a one-night stay, so my partner and I didn't have time to explore the hotel (for example, we didn't go to the rooftop levels to see the pool/BBQ area, or have time to sample the free continental-style breakfast), but would book here again based on our experience over the weekend.

The hotel has free, secure, underground parking (I think one parking space per room is allocated), which is a big plus for anyone driving to Sydney, as it means you can leave your car and take advantage of the good public transport in the area.
The front-desk reception is very helpful - I called before our stay to see if we could check in earlier than 2pm, and was cheerily assured that if our room wasn't ready (it was), we could leave our luggage and park our car. Everyone we spoke to at the front desk was very pleasant.
The room (a studio apartment) had modern furniture and appliances - including a well-equipped kitchenette with a dishwasher, fridge and even washing machine. I imagine this would be a good place to book for a longer stay if you didn't want to eat out all the time.
Our room faced a small side street off Cleveland St, so we weren't bothered by traffic noise while sleeping. Our beds were comfortable and the windows actually opened, so it was easy to control the temperature of the room without the air-conditioner.

The hotel isn't fancy - so if you're keen on lots of free toiletries and room service and king-size beds, this place may not suit you. But if you're after somewhere quiet and comfortable to come back to after a day exploring, as we were, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The apartment was complete including a washer and dryer in the bathroom. The hotel was secure with key access to enter the building, car park use the elevator and the apartment. The roof top patio area covered most the top of the building and had two barbecues for cooking. The spa and pool were on a raised deck and the views of the city were great. The gym was very big with lots of equipment. The morning breakfast room was small but most people had a place to sit and eat. Since it was a full apartment, one-day we bought groceries at a local supermarket, Coles, and had breakfast in our room.
The area is up and coming with a major development near by. There were restaurants, stores and shops about a 10 minute walk from the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Fantastic location, 5 minutes walk to George Street, very nice, modern unit and helpful managers. Could have done with a coffee machine (like Wooloomooloo Waldorf) but the free brekky set us up for the day. Free parking, nice balcony, quiet building. Great rooftop area with barbecues, tables and chairs, swimming pool and spa, which was a welcome treat after our Bondi to Coogee walk! Brought fresh towels everyday and everything worked fine. The sofa bed mattress was very substandard (too soft) but that's the only gripe. Had to swap with the kids as we all walked so much every day. However, awesome value, will stay at a Waldorf anytime our family is in Sydney.

Room Tip: South side rooms get more sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are a family of 3 adults & 1 child and stayed New Year's Eve of 2012 for 4 days, as other hotels are requiring 1 week minimum stay. We booked a 1-Bedroom Apartment and rate was breakfast inclusive, enough to keep you with energy til late lunch. It was refreshing after a whole day of sightseeing and walking to relax and take a bath in the spa tub. Kitchen was well appointed though we didn't use it as we were always out the whole day. The staff make you feel at home and are friendly. Near Central Station & Darling Harbour, & Paddy's. After the New Year's Celebration, we didn't have a hard time coming back to the hotel even though we walked all the way from Circular Quay. Sydney is worth visiting again and we will return to Waldorf.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

When searching for Apartment hotels in Sydney, I didn't see this hotel on my early searches. We enjoyed our stay there and the location. The price was reasonable. We had a good-sized and clean apartment, with a large bathroom, including washer and dryer. They provide a shampoo-soap combination. The staff were friendly. There was a safe in the room. The kitchen was well equipped. There was a small balcony overlooking the lane - sadly there were no chairs or table to use outside. I did notice slightly the springs in the mattress - it didn't affect our comfort or sleeping. On the large and attractive roof area, there is a large pool and a hot spa, plus a BBQ and tables. There is a gym but it was closed for renovations. We arrived late in the evening but the keys were exactly where they were supposed to be. It was a little unnerving walking from Central Station along some dark and narrow streets, such as Chippen, but it was safe. If we had known, we would have continued up Regent to Cleveland and then to Chippen. (At Central Station, exit by the Taxi Stand and go left. It's a 15 minute walk.) We enjoyed the light breakfast buffet included - cereal, toast, juice, tea, coffee, yogurt, fruit preserves. Chippendale is underdeveloped so there are not many restaurants nearby and it is at least a 15 minute walk to a store.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

we loved our stay in South Sydney apartments in the city.great value-including free breakfast and parking.modern well maintain 1 bedroom suite with nice veranda.good hospitality- recomended by as as a city break accommodation in Sydney

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel

Address: 47 Chippen Street | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and spacious hotel apartments accommodation is suitable for both daily and extended stay accommodation and will establish a new standard of value for your money in Sydney hotel Apartments! Waldorf Apartment Hotel Sydney South provide comfortable accommodation for business travel, holiday rental ,corporate travellers or extended stay residential accommodation. If you need to be away from home for a day, a month or more, come to the Waldorf Sydney South Apartments. Visitors of the Waldorf Sydney South Apartments Hotel have easy access to restaurants, Sydney sport facilities,coffee shops and entertainment facilities within 10 minutes walking distance from your Hotel Apartment. We are within 2 kms from Sydney's Central Business District and within walking distance from the University of Technology (UTS) and Sydney University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Sydney Waldorf Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.