We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Sydney Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Sydney Central to your Saves list
Rydges Sydney Central
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For a recent work trip to Sydney, my colleague and I booked Deluxe and Superior rooms at The Sebel Surry Hills. The Sebel has an interesting history - there's a book in your room about it, as well as numerous autographed pictures of the rich and famous hanging in the restaurant - and is located towards the fringe of the main city centre, close to Central Station (trains) or an easy walk into the city (10 minutes). There are restaurants and other shops close to the hotel, so no need to travel further afield if looking for a nice meal. Both rooms were spacious - the king-size bed was a treat, and there was also room to work (desk/chair/internet access) as well as relax (lounge chair, with foot rest). Bathrooms were also a decent size, with ample room for toiletries, etc. The lifts were quick (bonus!), and we enjoyed a sumptuous buffet breakfast at the in-house restaurant each day (which was part of the package deal - just $20 extra, and definitely worth the spend). The only downside - there didn't seem to be a dedicated Concierge on duty while we were there, but staff were quick to find taxis and assist, as needed. Overall, a relaxing work trip (with the Thai Massage business only two doors away - great for tired feet!).

Room Tip: We chose rooms on a higher level (9) - little, if any, noise from traffic or trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    391
    203
    67
    32
See reviews for
143
285
84
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay close to china town. We read the reviews and they were mostly good but there was some mixed comments. For example, leone people said it was quiet and some noisy. So we got a great offer from travel zoo and got the room for cheap. We have a new born son and asked for a room away from the main roads so it is quiet. Overall it was a great stay with lots of room, great portacot rovided and a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have stayed at the Sebel many times over the past 15 years or so. It is so convenient to transport - just a short stroll to Central station, and an easy walk to anywhere in the city.

It has changed many times during this time frame, and at the moment the rooms are quite modern, and some bathrooms have been upgraded. The staff have always been excellent, on my last visit a trainee booked me in, and he was very attentive, and keen to ensure I was made welcome. The rooms are clean, and I always sleep reasonably well, although I always ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the noise of trains and traffic on Eliabeth Street.

I have never had any major issues at this hotel, and although I often look for other hotels to stay in, I always end up at the Sebel - why change something that works so well? There is a small gym and an indoor pool. There is a restaurant, but I find that there is a better selection from room service, however it is only a short walk to a great selection of restaurants.

Love Flo's cafe in Resevoir Street for breakfast, just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here on a super cheap mystery hotel deal so was pleased to get a nice room. Spacious and immaculate, and well equipped.
I had a room service dinner which arrived promptly and was tasty.
The gym was quite well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney.

It was a pleasure to read your very kind words describing your stay with us.

We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future for a repeat experience.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.