We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, look out for extra charges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Sydney Central

Save Saved
You added Rydges Sydney Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great location, look out for extra charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location is near the train station, and a nice walk to many areas in the central business district, with the bonus of being quiet. the rooms are nice and spacious, but as other reviewers mentioned, some of the finishes are worn -- for instance the bathroom door is rusted with breaks at the bottom, which doesn't affect the integrity of it, but it is just not something you'd see at a top notch hotel.

The biggest nuisance is the exorbitant charges for internet access. If you purchase the daily rate for internet, it only applies to one device, meaning you can't switch between your ipad, computer or phone, unless you buy separate plans for each. At $22 per day, that's way too much, and who wants to buy hourly plans continuously? Not ideal for a business traveler who needs to work from the room for a few hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear TA_Brian

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that there were elements of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback very seriously and we are taking the appropriate measures to address these problems to prevent future occurrence.

I hope that you will accept our apology and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    354
    191
    62
    27
See reviews for
138
255
79
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The change in management has seen the addition of some nice touches in service from the checkin which is fast and friendly with help being offered the moment you pull up. Beds are firmish but comfy with each person having a choice of pillows. A great spot to stay for footy or cricket at the SCG.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here through Accor on a stopover through Sydney. We were upgraded to a nicer room straight away which was really nice. The service was great, room comfortable & location perfect. Parking is underneath at $34, get there early for a spot! Easy to use movies as well with no problems. A short stroll through the cool suburb of Surry Hills is a must. We found an awesome Thai restaurant on Crown Street 'Terrace Thai' & definitely recommend gelati mecca 'Messina' on crown street for desert! The cafe Nano Coffee on site was great for a quick breakfast & coffee on the run.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is one of our hotels of choice when staying in Sydney. Great location and clean spacious rooms. Can walk to almost anywhere in the city from here. Train station is also close by if walking isn't a preference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jambakim

We thank you for sharing your experiences. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback from a returning guest, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones!

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Sebel. Beautiful view from our room, really friendly staff, quick service (when something in our room didn't work it was fixed straight away), a nice pool and sun deck and very convenient location. As my partner had mentioned it was my birthday I was given a very nice surprise by the staff. It was a great place to celebrate my birthday and an all-round great hotel!

Room Tip: I had a room facing Centrepoint which was really amazing! The higher, the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked our Australian trip quite late for Dec-Jan and thus we didn't have too many options. Ended up using hotwire to get this hotel so we weren't sure what to expect. Hotwire rated it 4 1/2 which is generous. However, to be fair, we did find the location outstanding, very close to Chinatown and the heart of Surry Hills; very well connected (the free bus that takes you to the Quay stops right in front the main road + it's practically across the central station). We didn't have any issues with the maintenance of the room. It was interesting to read about the hotel's glory days and it would be great if they found a way to harness the power of their heritage. For the price that we paid during the height of high season, this hotel was a good bet.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Claudia N

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times. It is a nice clean hotel in a handy spot for walking to Paddy's Market and down to Darling Harbour (& you can tram back to Central & short walk back to hotel). Handy to Central Railway station to get downtown and to outer suburbs.

Our room was a good size, window didn't open which is a shame but beds were comfy. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Good affordable hotel for a quick trip where you have lots planned. Not a great 'holiday spot' though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.