We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carrington Arms

The Carrington Arms
565 Bourke Street | Surrey Hills, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
02 9360 4714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,104 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cremorne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fun and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came here for a bite to eat as part of our girl's night out on Friday night. It was pretty busy by 6.30pm but they were able to find a table for 5 of us. The atmosphere was really fun and lively and all of the staff were really friendly. There was a great selection of tapas dishes and so we just got a few to share between the group. The waitress helped us make our choices and we ended up with a great variety of dishes, all of which were delicious. We also took advantage of the cocktails on offer, starting with a jug of sangria, which was delicious and finishing with margaritas, which were definitely some of the best I've tasted. The one thing I'd say is that it did get fairly loud because it was so busy. This adds to the atmosphere and we enjoyed it but if you're looking for somewhere quiet then this probably isn't the place. So a big thumbs up for the food, drink and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice tapas and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Really nice and casual atmosphere with friendly service. Not a big range of tapas but some imaginative ones. The foie grois with fried potato was very nice. Some of the pintxos were delicious, especially the tuna. The bigger dish of beef cheeks was lovely and the just the right size. Overall a nice grazing and drinking experience and well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Came here on a Friday night, had a drink at the bar, before being shown to our table. Small portions of wine though. The staff here as very good and attentive. I found the menu fairly limited for tapas styled restaurant, however what we ordered was excellent, in particular the salt cod.
104 dollars for two well spent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lots of fun with terrific tucker and wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Always friendly staff who seem to be really enjoying themselves.

The food is a delight,, but do not miss breakfast on the weekends; absolutely
extraordinary food combos that will make you smile.

And the drinks are well made and presented.

Terrific value but book on the weekends as this place gets packed, and rightly so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A very trendy, friendly and causal restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

You will like this restaurant if you like casual, trendy cafe style dining. It is situated just behind the Carrington Hotel in a quiet street of Surrey Hills (it's only 1 block from the busy Crown Street).
Make sure you make a reservation as it's packed especially on the weekends. The staff was friendly and helpful and yes it's inexpensive for the quality of food. The best way to dine in this restaurant is to get a number of different tapas to share and each tapas was cooked nicely. The restaurant is very lively and is full of young trendy diners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carrington Arms also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to The Carrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carrington Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.