We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massively Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Appetito

Appetito
135 George Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9247 1920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #310 of 5,094 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden behind historic sandstone and stained glass is the stylish, warm and welcoming traditional Italian ristorante – Appetito Pizza Pasta Bar.Superbly located in the heritage precinct of Sydney, Appetito features floor to ceiling glass windows enabling you to relax and soak up the beautiful surroundings. A warm ambience, innovative Italian cuisine and excellent service ensure a memorable dining experience.Spanning three levels, Appetito offers versatile spaces incorporating two bars, balcony, outdoor terrace and a private dining room.The private dining room, cocktail lounge and outdoor terrace occupy the entire top floor, making it perfectly suited for private functions and special occasions such as wedding receptions and corporate bookings. The dining area has marble open fireplaces, polished floors and striking gothic windows. The dining room has a capacity of 100 for cocktail and 60 guests for dinner.Level two seats up to 30 guests and features a view of our head chef Tim Fisher, and his team at work. This area is perfectly suited to group bookings.Level one features a quaint outdoor courtyard where you can slow down and soak up the heritage of The Rocks precinct. With floor to ceiling glass and a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere we look forward to welcoming you to Appetito.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Massively Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a pleasant little restaurant on the Rocks, but boy do they know how to charge. The food was pleasant enough but a meal for two consisting of a shared starter, too average pasta dish mains and two desserts, with a couple of beers and a couple of glasses of wine.......$180! This included a 10% weekend surcharge that we were not told about in advance.

For $180 for two I'm expecting a celebrity chef, not run of the mill pasta. I felt sorry for our waitress who was lovely, but I'm afraid her tip went on the ridiculous weekend surcharge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    99
    44
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly staff, prompt service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Would recommend the risotto with seared scallops! Good restaurant located in the rocks close to where we were staying. Cost us around $50 a head for a main ( couldn't fit in dessert :) and 2 drinks each.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place, friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Visiting from Perth, it was a late night dinner. We walked the street & the building & decor took our eye. Once inside the staff were friendly & we were seated quickly. Food was served fast & tasted great. Prices were reasonable . Would definitely visit again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The second time we have visited Appetito for an impromptu meal, and would gladly come back again.
A pleasant restaurant situated in the Rocks not far from OPT and ideal for a early evening dinner. The menu is well presented with a selection of starters, pastas, pizza and main courses, along with a specials menu which includes a daily dish for each of the above. I would reccommend the current pasta special, a pepper pasta with rabbit and mushrooms, which was very nicely balanced.
Pasta and pizzas are freshly made on the premises and it shows, having sampled both, the pasta has good bite, is well coated and not ‘claggy’. The pizzas are thin, crispy and have a great selection of toppings. All of our food came out piping hot from the kitchen and was plentiful in size, so much so we had no room for dessert. Staff are pleasant and whilst you may be assigned a waiter, they are all happy to hop in an check on your meal, and top up drinks without being intrusive.
Prices are a little on the steep side and perhaps reflect the location. Unfortunately they feel the need for a weekend surcharge which although small, adds to the bill considerably if you have only stopped off for a pizza! A meal for two, including starters, mains and a bottle of wine including the surcharge came to nearly $200 certainly more than perhaps you would pay usually for similar elsewhere.
The only drawback we found was being a Saturday night and it being busy inside the restaurant, it was a little noisy as the sounds reverberate around the stone walls, not ideal if you are looking for a quiet meal for two.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bit pricey for pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food was nice but it was nothing exceptional - we had a $10 surcharge because it was the weekend which we thought was a bit rude. The staff were really lovely, and my pizza was nice but since I ended up paying $30 for it ( $27 + $3 surcharge for me), I thought it was a little over priced.

The restaurant itself is very nice, but my friends and I didn't find the food too special really...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appetito also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Appetito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appetito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.