We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've Got to Be Drunk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Backpacker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elephant Backpacker to your Saves list
Elephant Backpacker
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   50 Sir John Young Cresent | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You've Got to Be Drunk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After reading the reviews of this hostel I had a pretty good idea of what to expect. To enjoy your stay at Elephant requires a pretty specific mindset; you have to go in with the intention of partying hard and not doing much else.

Elephant Backpackers is a pretty dingy place. I didn't have much problem with the cleanliness of the place myself, but the state of repair is terrible. Almost none of the dormitories lock, so the idea of leaving your stuff there is a little worrying, though thankfully I was not robbed during my stay. They can also be pretty noisy due to the comings and goings of party-goers and loud music being played in the kitchen throughout much of the day.

The place is sociable, and most nights there is an organised night out to one of Sydney's nightclubs, although there is also a culture of heavy drinking and also some drug use among a selection of the guests and residents, so the pace of the partying might be hard to keep up with. I spent so many days of my stay nursing a hangover that I didn't actually see a lot of the places in Sydney that I had planned to. Yes, that was my fault, but moderation might have been a bit easier if I'd stayed somewhere else.

Summarised, Elephant Backpackers might be okay for you if all you want is a bed to sleep in while you sample the Sydney nightlife, but if you're also wanting to explore the city during the day time then I'm sure there are some less rowdy but still fun (and more secure) hostels to stay in for similar prices around the King's Cross area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    31
    22
    73
See reviews for
Families
0
44
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Meant to stay four nights stayed one and got the hell out of there, horrible dingy backpackers, with useless staff, horrible, unfriendly roommates, and just disgusting all over- glad to be away- no exaggeration.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the location is good, not too far from town. That's where the positives end.

This is a run down place that I feel is being left to run into the ground serving people who want to stay long term, but don't care about the environment they are in.

As we walked in we noticed the smell, stained carpets and paint peeling off doors. The lift had discarded crisp packets and cans and the kitchen was a haven for food waste and cockroaches. We didn't cook we ate out.

The bathrooms were ok, but toilets were disgusting. No soap provided in toilets - sure way to ensure hostel is filled with germs. Light bulbs weren't replaced and the water was turned off at 9.30pm to allow some work on the water system.The roof top was closed all day and evening.

The room lockers were fine, but the room had long stay tenants who seemed to eat food and throw wrappers etc behind the bed. No cleaning seemed to have taken place for weeks.

We stayed one night and were meant to stay another few nights on our return to Sydney, but there is no way we would go back!

Pay a bit extra and stay somewhere cleaner!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The rooms are really noisy because of the streets around the hostel, most lockers are broken same with the door looks and the programmed key cards are not working at all. The rooms getting cleaned daily but there still cockroaches in the rooms.
Random people can walk in the hostel or the rooms all the time no one cares about it. No cameras in the hostel for security, dirty messy kitchen, expensive rooms.
Construction work right in front of and next to the hostel. Reception staff is the most unfriendly and rude staff i've ever met in my hole life in a hostel, specially the managment was aweful. The cleaner getting way to much to do, one cleaner has to clean all dorm rooms on 5 floors in 4h and the 2nd cleaner has to clean all toiletts, showers on 5 floors and kitchen, dinning room, living room and reception area in 4h and thats in a hostel with space for more than 300 backpackers. Broken lights, toiletts, showers, beds, doors or other stuff not getting repaird in ages.
To get dishes for cooking you have to pay a $10 deposit and if you lucky the pots and pans are not broken and dirty. If you staying longer you can get a cuttlery set for a $10 deposit as well, if just one piece is broken or missing you not getting the deposit back. Half of the cooking plates not working. The laundry and dryer are [--] sometimes the clothes coming out more dirty than they've been before.
The hostel is advertising with a balkony and a roof with an amazing view. Both are closed all the time. Sitting, standing, talking, smoking and drinking in groups in front of the hostel is forbidden also drinking alcohol in the hostel after 1 o'clock. So few people sitting together on the floors or in the rooms what is making the hole hostel really noisy.
The famous big parties of the elephant backpacker hostel not excistent anymore... Halloween, New Year, Christmas and other public holidays or dead and absolutly boring at the hostel. Every other day of the week is more party than on days like this.

The little elephant cafe next to the restaurant got good food and coffee even if its a bit expensive. Its way the best thing on the hostel.

I can imagen that it was once a really nice and good hostel and few people recommended it. This time is deffo over. The rules, the rooms, the staff this all is making the Elephant Backpackers Hostel to the worst hostel i stayed in one year australia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Lived here for 4 months!
Staff and long termers are legendary people. Close to everything you need, the location couldn't be better. Right between Kings Cross and CBD!
Always got a sweet deal at different bars every night.
Cheapest place in Sydney!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this backpackers for just over a week and enjoyed my time here. There are cleaners working throughout the day keeping the toilets and other facilities to an acceptable standard. I even saw the toilets and kitchen being power washed while I stayed there which I was really impressed with. The kitchen does get busy at meal times and can get messy but this is the mess left by other people and it is cleaned thoroughly afterwards. Clean linen is orbited at check in and you can change this fir fresh linen any time throughout your stay.

The hostel has a fun atmosphere and as a lone traveller I felt very welcome by the staff and other guests. There is 24 hour reception therefore you questions can be answered at any time. The hostel is basic but more than great value for what you pay.

Helpful hint, if you can't handle a busy kitchen eat in the cafe attached to the hostel!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stay four night .last week of august .had great time in Sydney.came back to backpacker on our last night to find some one had been in our room and taken camera and I pad .my wife and me had a room for our self's so I think it was an inside job as we maded shaw we lock door in the morning when we left .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cresent | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Backpacker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.