We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 IMAX every IMAX” 2 of 5 stars
Review of IMAX Theatre Sydney

IMAX Theatre Sydney
31 Wheat Road | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9281 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 415 Activities in Sydney
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SEE MORE, HEAR MORE, FEEL MOREIMAX is the ultimate movie experience. With crystal clear images towering eight stories high, and 15,000 watts of digital surround sound, IMAX has the power to take you to places you may have only dreamed of visiting.Located in the heart of Darling Harbour, the IMAX Theatre Sydney is home to the WORLD'S LARGEST CINEMA SCREEN! With a wide variety of stunning blockbuster feature films and classic IMAX documentaries - screened in both 2D and 3D - IMAX has something to suit all ages and interests. Climb with adventurers to some of the world's highest peaks. Experience the weightlessness of space alongside astronauts. Dive into the undersea world of the most fearsome great white sharks. Only IMAX lets you feel like you're really there!
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“1 IMAX every IMAX”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Is like any other IMAX around the world, so just pick the right movie and there is no way you will not enjoy it :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    56
    20
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karur, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Get a Good Seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got to see two movies - Hobbit 3d and Skyfall in a span of a few days and there was a big difference in our experience between the two mainly because we got a very good seating for one of the movie and the other one was near the end in one of the bottom rows. So, make sure that you get good seats especially given how much we pay for the tickets.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“3D movies a bit too much...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Watched The Hobbit in 3D here. Amazing movie and effects, however screen was too big to fully appreciate the 3D experience. Had to remove glasses a few times to give my eyes a break! Otherwise cool place to go.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fall over”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was so dark inside before the movie that I almost fell over trying to get to my seat. The show began later than the stared time. After the show it was dark I almost fell again. Also when I put my complaint through online the person did not answer satisfactorily

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I saw The Hobbit here and it was an amazing experience. My daughter had bought brilliant seats but it is my impression that everyone really rated the experience. It felt like you were in the film or on a ride. There was a moment where I thought I would get motion sick but that passed quickly and I became totally absorbed. I just loved it and can't recommend it highly enough. In fact on my return home I went with my other children to an Imax near our home to see the same film. I don't think I want to see a film any other way now! The 3D effects are brilliant and really enhanced the whole cinema experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IMAX Theatre Sydney also viewed

 

Been to IMAX Theatre Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IMAX Theatre Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.