We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinese Garden of Friendship

Chinese Garden of Friendship
Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9240 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$83*
and up
Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo...
Ranked #15 of 237 Attractions in Sydney
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A haven of tranquility in Sydney's bustling Chinatown, this fascinating garden with waterfalls, bridges and fish-filled ponds was designed by experts from China and reflects designs dating back to the 5th century.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This garden near the Powerhouse Museum is simply stunning. From gorgeous fountains to amazing nature, this garden made me mesmerized the entire time. Come to this garden to experience the wonder that this attraction has to offer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    223
    57
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved it , Loved it, Loved it! What a gem to find in the middle of a busy city. Very cheap to enter. $7 or $11 with tea and either scones or dim sims, If I come to Sydney again I will definately come again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a tranquil place to visit and the photographic opportunities there are endless. There is a cafe there as well so it is very easy just to sit peacefully and enjoy. Definitely worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I already got a sense of splendid when I walked from Darling Quarter to the Chinese Garden of Friendship. A portion of the garden is not blocked off by the tall white Chinese walls so you can see what the garden inside looks like.

I and my mom walked to the entrance where we paid our 6 dollar entrance fee each to get in. I had thought that the 6 dollars entry price was fairly expensive for a garden, especially when you are a visitor from Africa, and 6 dollars can get you so much more in Africa. Then again, this is Sydney and it is the 3rd most expensive city in the world.

The garden is 100% well maintained and is everything you would expect of a chinese garden. It was pristine and the garden flowed so well, probably because of feng shui principles incorporated into the garden when it was first designed.

Enter into the garden and instantly you will be guided by the footpaths to various shelters spots, waterfalls and temples. The paths are well designed with rocks, bamboos growing on the sides, and the reasons for the placements of various objects are well explained on boards placed around the garden. Be ware of swooning birds - they have them in the garden according to the signage, although we were never affected by them.

I and my mom took photos everywhere we went. It was just stunning.

Before you know it, our garden walk was over and we had reached the exit.
The garden is fairly small - similar to all the attractions in Sydney - and therefore it might not have given me as much value for money as I had thought (remember, I'm from Africa and I'm more use to money going further). If you are on a tight budget, I would suggest giving this garden a miss - the reason you are in Sydney is to experience Australia and I think your 6 dollars would be better spent on going to a pub, such as the O Bar at Australian Square where you could see the whole of Sydney.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscaping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's worth the price of admission to get in... Especially if you have a nice camera. Even during the winter time, the grounds were very beautiful. The leaves on the trees were in fall colors (yellows and oranges).

I could see that this would be a great place to take wedding/engagement photos.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Garden of Friendship also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chinese Garden of Friendship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinese Garden of Friendship, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.