We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woolbrokers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Woolbrokers Hotel to your Saves list
Woolbrokers Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Allen Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Netherlands,Amsterdam
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Wool brokers for the final night of our trip. When we arrived, our room was not ready however the extremely helpful and cooperative staff worked it out quickly. The only thing that works for this hotel is its location, which is very close to the Darling Harbor and the monorail, which again offers really good connectivity to the city and makes exploring the rest of Sydney an easy task. The food provided is also good and the staff is warm. The biggest downside is the rooms, which are tiny with a tasteless décor. And they give a really shabby look and they are really dark. If you are claustrophobic, the rooms will be a living nightmare for you. This place is strictly for backpackers or people on a tight budget else avoid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
17
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed here many times in the past but not for a few years due to moving interstate. So this was my natural choice on my visit to
Syd plus I had also recommend it to others. What a disappointment it was. The roons were nothing like the pictures on the website. At 4am had to go and tell the kids next door to be quiet. The blankets are that old I had to put 3 on to get warm. Pay the extra and stay somewhere else or at least take earplugs.And no I don't have high expectations most of my travels I stay in backpackers ect.
Sad

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I thought that the Wool Brokers was perfect for what I needed, close to Darling harbour. The rooms are value for money. Bath room in ensuit are ok, modern but not finished very well. Bed comfy,staff friendly and breakfast good. my room was road facing, opposite the reception and nestled next to the stairs...it was still quiet i had no noise complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We looked for cheap accommodation, and would stay here again. The only room available had twin ( bunk beds ) beds that slept 4. The room was more than adequate size wise, had TV and heating. The shared toilet was just outside the room. A shared shower very close by. The shower room has a wash basin, was cramped with no hanging space. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast was available for $7.50 a person. Cereal, juice and toast, stewed fruit, tea and coffee were fine for a basic breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay more and get an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night in August 2012. My friend had already stayed here a couple of times before. We had a twin room with a shared bathroom. I thought the location (5 minutes walk to to Darling Harbour, 30 minutes walk to Central Station) was great. The hotel itself was just fine. The room was clean and comfortable and the shared bathroom was spacious and clean. I don't think you can expect much more for that price in Sydney being as close to all the amenities as it is. I am going back to Sydney this year and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here for three nights, lovely location - 15/20 minute walk to the city and a short 5 minute walk to Darling Harbour. The only things that ruined my opinion of the place/my experience there was that the shower (no bathroom/toilet in the rooms, all shared) had two temperatures; scalding hot and freezing cold. After returning from said shower one morning, I came into my room to find a random woman in there who turned out to be a maid but she had no uniform and could not speak much English - at first I thought our room was being robbed! The best thing was that the hotel reception staff were all so lovely and helpful. At $89 a night for our stay, it was good value but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Woolbrokers as I had to attend a training course in the city. the location is great. It's right next to Darling Harbour and about a 30 minute walk from Central Station, or a short stroll to the light rail to take you there. It's a 5 minute walk from the Ian Thorpe swimming centre/ gym and there are some shops and restaurants across the road.
The shower and toilet were shared between 3 rooms, but the other 2 rooms were empty so I had them to myself. The room was tidy with the only negative being very old carpet, which should be replaced to modernise the room.
Despite being in the heart of the city, the room was very quiet and I slept well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. It worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolbrokers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolbrokers Hotel

Address: 22 Allen Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Woolbrokers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in the heart of Darling Harbour on the western fringe of the Sydney CBD. Close to cafes, restaurants, bars, tourist attractions, shops, and public transport. A selection of rooms from singles to family-sized, either with ensuite or shared facility. All rooms with TV, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, and serviced daily. Breakfast available, plus guest laundry, internet terminal, secure parking, and luggage storage. Reception 7am-10pm only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woolbrokers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolbrokers Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolbrokers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.