We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll never stay here again,” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sydent Wattle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sydent Wattle Hotel to your Saves list
Sydent Wattle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Oxford Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'll never stay here again,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The room was absolutely disgusting, I found a crack pipe in the drawer and burn marks on the walls. The bed was missing a leg, and you could hear people engaging in sexual acts all through the night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    3
    33
See reviews for
9
14
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I mean it! Take your chances on the street if no other accommodation is available. I travelled with my teenage daughter and we were completely disgusted. Filthy room, broken aircon and cupboard doors, last guest's glitter and pink fluff (!) all over the carpet. Disgusting bathroom complete with resident cockroaches - I made my daughter wear thongs in the shower! Cigarette burns over all the junk shop furniture and a pervading smell of smoke. Gross marks and smears all over the walls - I don't even want to think about what they might have been. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Absolutely disgusting. I would like to know how I can report this place as it needs to be shut down. All the other reviews are accurate. Words cannot describe how disgraceful this place is. The website is misleading and deceptive and the place is a total disgrace. I really am surprised they are allowed to operate and certainly how they can charge the money they do. We were charged $140 a night for two nights of our stay. We would have gone elsewhere but due to a busy weekend we were stuck here. The bathroom was actually mouldy. They provide no phone, iron, cupboard, hairdryer. The 'daily room service' doesn't include making the bed, but I get the feeling the cleaners know what sort of people usually stay here so i wouldn't make the bed either. We witnessed a sex act going on on the rooftop which was where our room was. The girl then knocked on our door, presumably thinking she had some more business...

Then when we checked out and ask to speak to the manager we were told he wasn't working and a day later we are still waiting for a call back despite going back later in the day and making a phone call to speak to management. They also charged my credit card the afternoon we got there which can't be legal. Appalling. A Current Affair needs to pay this place a visit and have them shut down.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra AUS
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Where do you start with this hole? Well, firstly they violated NSW consumer law by accepting payment for an advertised room that wasn't available and then downsized us with no offer of compensation. Complained to Gostay.com - no reply. Then on arrival, they sent us away twice because the room hadn't been cleaned. In fact, the only clean thing in there were the sheets. As for the advertised double glazed windows which are a must on drunken Oxford st - unfortunately not all the windows were D-G'd and the party in the laneway below raged into our room until 3am, punctuated by the frequent police sirens. Multiple fixtures broken, 50yo furniture, taps not working or fall off, cracked and loose tiles, tiny bathroom, mouldy, and stinking of smoke. Send in the OH&S inspectors, this place is shamefully poor value and not to Australian standards. The Wattle Hotel is poorly located and makes youth hostels look like the Hilton!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Disappointing but a lesson learnt hard way Room nothing like photos on website-staircase to room reeked of urine, broken mirror in foyer, broken toilet bowl inside, no bedspread just sheets, [clean at least] no phone, inside electric jug black, airconditioner faulty strongly don't recommend very disgusted and upset.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Hotel completely misrepresents its current condition. Pictures on Lastminute.com must have been taken years ago and there has been no maintenance since then! Mattress slashed, room dirty, curtains dirty, tv didnt work properly, shower dilapidated with tap handles falling off, wardrobe door fell of when tried to open it, mirror had fallen off wall, aircon barely worked, no towels (supplied when requested) only one coffee cup. However, water was hot with good pressure in shower. Had no choice but to stay when we arrived late in the day. You decide.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

This old building/hotel is crying out for a refurbishment, some TLC and a real professional hotel team to run this establishment.
We had an awful stay, hotel smells from people smoking in rooms, from people urinating in the stairwell, the only access to rooms!
Rooms haven't been properly cleaned since maybe 1988 and are in need of repair and refurbishment. The pest man needs to be called as we were visited by many a cockroach.
For the price one would expect the place to be atleast clean. Aircon did not work, we didn't even use the shower, thankfully only an overnight stay. The only thing ok about this hotel is the sheets were clean. Please, can someone help this old building and restore it to its former glory... it could be just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sydent Wattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydent Wattle Hotel

Address: 108 Oxford Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydent Wattle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a charming boutique hotel in the heart of the historical Oxford Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney Wattle Hotel is famous for its perfect location for annual Mardi Gras and its Bohemian culture & cafe society. Period features such as high ceilings and ornate mouldings are complemented by plush furnishings to create a quiet oasis; just a few steps from Sydney's most vibrant entertainment and dining precincts - Oxford Street, Taylor Square, Paddington Market, Surry Hills & East Sydney. Totally 11 rooms are available, some with the view of the Sydney skyline and world famous Sydney Tower. Exquisitely appointed with contemporary furnishings, rooms feature double-glazed windows, plus modern queen-size bed, en-suite and air conditioning. These spacious rooms offer a comfortable environment for business & leisure travellers. Our friendly staff are equipped to handle virtually every conceivable scenario and always strive to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sydent Wattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wattle Private

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydent Wattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.