We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wattle Private Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wattle Private Hotel to your Saves list
Wattle Private Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wattle Private Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Oxford Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 183 hotels in Sydney
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

For $100 a night this place is fine! Our room was clean and spacious, and we had tea and coffee making facilities.

The bathroom was very small, badly painted and a bit musty smelling, but fine.

Great location, short walk to everywhere decent in the city. Nice bars nearby too.

For $100 a night in the city centre you can't complain. The week before we stayed here my boyfriend and I stayed in a backpackers for $65 a night where we had no private bathroom and we slept on bunkbeds in a room no bigger than my closet at home!

Wattle is cheap, but fine! And the staff are friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    7
    3
    29
See reviews for
8
13
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Very nice stay in Sydney Wattle Hotel, check in was very professional, the person who showed us to our room explained everything that was available in detail. Room was lovely as you’d expect, bathroom pristine with bath and shower.

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday night after being given the night by our daughter as our birthday presents. It was wonderful. Fantastic service and a great room very well equiped. We wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this boutique hotel couple of times on our recent visit to Sydney. We found this hotel to be in an excellent location. It's easy to walk to the major attractions from here (half an hour to the opera house by walk). The reception staff were friendly and accomodating.

The room was warm when we arrived first time and had to spend a few minutes looking for the remote for the air con. We later found it on the wall behind the curtain. Except this, room was comfortable and airy.

Overall, we found this an excellent choice of accommodation. I would recommend the place to anyone, and we'll certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the King room with Balcony - Superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

My room was not serviced once during my four day hotel stay though they advertise daily serviced room. When I asked they said I had to ask them if I wanted the room serviced. One of the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in though they advertise "quiet". Didn't feel safe / secure (glass front entry door which also counts on guests making extra effort to latch shut and frot desk not manned after 10pm). Deadbolt on room door nonfunctional. No phone in room. Family room has no table or desk to work or eat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stayed here recently.

First off, its a great location, right on Oxford Street itself, so thats a plus there.

Now, i had read some of these reviews before going and had it not been for their cancellation policy, i too would've cancelled. Anyway, it wasnt THAT bad. They have redone the entrance section and, i can only assume, laid new carpets on the stairs and the hallways.

The foyer of our room stunk like smoke and in our room there were cigarette burns on the walls/furniture/bed. The beds themselves were hard, but sleepable. The double glazed windows made the sound of the street bareable and had aircon.

The bathroom was a bit of a shamble. Toilet was cracked, the taps did not turn on/off, one handle even coming off. It was very old and needs replacing. The shower 'squeeled' when running.

Now ALL of these would be forgivable had this been at a budget price, however, at $200/night, for 4 people, it really isnt that good a value. We could've stayed at a slightly more expensive place which would've been value for money.

Plus there is no parking around that area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Second time we stayed here and staff have been great to us!
Geat little organic market with Best Coffee on wknds one block away
This hotel is close to Oxford Art Factory for gigs, next to grog shop and pie face down the road for munch attacks.
Walk out door to pubs, restaurants and awesome shopping. Short walk down to St Marys Cathedral, heritage buildings, statues, museum and parks make this a magnificent walk. Had so much fun both times Thanx Guys!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here with some friends over the past weekend. We decided we needed a place to stay after the night out and stumbled across the Wattle - relatively cheap and right in the heart of Oxford street.

I've read all of the reviews here and yes, while there are some major issues with the place, it is in the middle of renovations. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the lobby - nice and clean with a simplistic modern design. The staircase leading to the rooms are another story, I too smelt the urine and cigarettes smell but I don't doubt this will be fixed during their renovations.

Expecting a dump of a room I was actually very surprised when I first walked in. We stayed in room 105... nothing more than you would expect from a budget hotel, but (surprisingly) it was clean. No sign of cockroaches, clean sheets, walls and bathroom were clean etc. Not too keen on the theme they've gone for with the rooms though - golden curtains and golden framed mirrors but it's clear that they're aiming for a boutique budget hotel with some charm.

I had no issues with the staff. I was served by a kind Asian lady - I really think some people must assume they're rude because they can't get past the language barrier. Sure sometimes she was difficult to understand, but she meant well.

This hotel has a bright future after what apparently was a very dark past. Hopefully this positive review is the first of many to come after the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wattle Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattle Private Hotel

Address: 108 Oxford Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wattle Private Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wattle Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wattle Private

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wattle Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.