We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a great pub! Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with a great pub! Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We loved this hotel! It was small, charming, quiet and had the best pub in town! Being a pub hotel, there is no typical reception. You show up at the bar, they bring you to an office and you're assigned your room. We had a standard small room and it was just fine. The price was fabulous compared to other hotels in Sydney. We had to share a bathroom, but no issues at all. Towels and toiletries were provided, coffee maker, TV and ample storage space for 2 people. The bed was comfortable! We had a view of the street, and while there was some noise, it wasn't too bad and didn't keep us awake at night.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Right in the heart of the Rocks district, but just far enough out to be nice and quiet. You could be at Circular Quay in just 10 minutes to catch a ferry to Manly, Watson's Bay etc. etc. It's also very close to the Sydney Harbour Bridge and I loved catching a glimpse every time I stepped outside. There are markets in the Rocks on weekends, and has a wonderful vibe.

The included breakfast was ample and tasty. Toast, yogurt, fruits, cereal and juice made to order. It included only one cup of coffee, but if you asked they gave you another depending on who was serving. You could also order eggs etc. at extra cost. The staff were helpful and friendly and answered any questions we had.

Now, on to the pub... the pub is stellar! We ended up here every single night to have beers and chat with locals. It's not just tourists who come here, it's Sydneysiders themselves after work to mingle and catch up. We love pubs, but this one was special. It had a great atmosphere. We ate there a few times and the food is fantastic - meat pie with mushy peas, chorizo and shrimp pizza, chickpea fritter, the ploughman's lunch etc. - all great. The beer is brewed on site and while I tried them all, my favourite was Three Sheets. Even with the pub downstairs full of people, you never really heard any of the noise from your room.

The wifi was a little spotty while we were there. It was slightly annoying, but at times we managed to connect. The connection is not good enough to Skype or anything, it's pretty weak. Just something I wanted to point out.

I loved Sydney, and the hotel definitely had an impact on why I loved it so much. It's a wonderful, old stone building with a ton of character, set in a great part of town. Do give it a try, I'm sure you'll love it too.

Room Tip: No elevator, get a low floor if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    101
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
178
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, NSW
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

People in Sydney who say, "They don't make beer like they used to" have not been here.

Whether it's for a quiet drink, a convivial lunch, a visit to the restaurant, or an economical place to stay, this place is pretty near perfect. By no means 5 star, Michelin guide etc. but that's for those pretentious morons who buy over priced beer in overpriced clubs and pubs.

The Lord Nelson is easy to get to if you walk out of the Kent Street exit of Wynyard Station and turn right. It's a half a mile level walk. After your drinks etc. it's a mile back along the same route or a roll down the hill to The Rocks.

The beer is brewed on the premises and living up to the it's name The Lord Nelson does not take prisoners! 3 pints of Quayles Ale (named after a visit by VP Quayle) and I'm anybody's.

The ploughman's lunch is authentic and the snacks and meals are reasonably priced.

A friend of ours stayed at the hotel and reported that it was a bit on the basic side but very highly recommended and for him that was his top rating as he normally stays in 5 star hotels: he was "slumming it" on this visit because he was paying the bill!

The building itself is worth looking at because it was originally built by convicts and you'll see the stone chisel marks on many of the stones. Walking up or down Argyle Street you'll pass one of the oldest churches in Sydney and under one of the oldest bridges.

I visit this place at least once a year and often use it as the place to have drinks with friends. Just remember that the beer is very strong and you'll need to have decent plans for getting home. Far better to organise a room for the night.

Room Tip: Booking in advance essential for busy periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Love this place it has so much character, history and the beer brewed on premises is the best we tasted in Sydney, my favourite was Nelson's Blood rich dark and to easy to drink :-) (UK Camera member) The menu is simple in a good way and the quality of food is excellent.

Room Tip: Not tested
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We came and stayed on the 15/11. Room 202 (as I had requested) was allocated to us. It was absolutely gorgeous!!!! Very Very quaint and clean. Everything you could need. We went for a short walk down to Darling Harbour, and back - which was very easy to get to.
Across the road from the hotel there is a small 24/7 type store - and just a bit further down the road I urge you to try Mr. Chow Chinese restaurant - THE FOOD WAS AMAZING. When we returned to our room - the pub downstairs was in full swing - which Unfortuantly has chairs and table located right outside the window - which had people yelling and partying until the very wee hours of the morning (HOWEVER we booked knowing it could be quite busy). Just be prepared for this..

In the morning we took advantage of the free breakfast which was great - very simple - but just what you need. The hotel happily stored our luggage until we returned back in the arvo.

Such a wonderful start to our honeymoon :o) Thank you!!

Room Tip: Request a high floor (remembering its all stairs ) - AWAY from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I convinced my girlfriend to stay here for 2 nights at the end of our Australia and New Zealand trip and we had a blast! Prior to this we had stayed at The Australian Heritage Hotel in the Rocks area so this was a little ways from there. We walked in and were early so we checked our bags with the staff and ran around the city. When we came back we were promptly checked in and went to our room. As we don't have too many hotels in the US that don't have their own bathroom, that experience was a little different for us but we had no isses and all the amenities were well kept. The room was nice and clean. We strolled down to the bar later that night (which was packed with people) and grabbed some beers. Not the best craft brewery beer I have ever had but good nonetheless and pretty convenient to grab. Very nice place and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

In one of the most $$$ cities in the world, The Lord Nelson is a FIND!! Clean, spacious & bright rooms only a :10 walk from Circular Quay & over a charming & historic pub with great beer--loved it & will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our first trip to Australia; a gentle introduction to a very different country, for travellers from the UK! Our brother and his wife (who had stayed before, several times) treated us to our stay here - and joined us on the second night. We were glad of assistance from the staff to carry our suitcases up several flights of stairs. Rooms were comfortable, althought the one I was in shared a bathroom with the room next door. It was fine, but check before booking, about facilities, as this might not suit everyone.

The location was fantastic - lovely and quiet both during the day and at night, but within easy walking distance of both the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. Breakfast was slightly on the rationed side, with only one cup of coffee on offer, one very large slice of toast and a small fruit platter each. Also cereal. Sufficient, but only just. Cooked breakfast available at extra cost. Our evening meal was a bit disappointing; expensive for what it was. Similarly, ploughman's lunches on day of departure took a very long time to come (30 mins), when we had deliberately ordered something we thought would be quick.

Lovely ambience, great location, could do better on the catering front.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are quieter - my sister had a room at the top/back which was noisy at night, I be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel to your Saves list