We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel to your Saves list
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Honeymooners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We came and stayed on the 15/11. Room 202 (as I had requested) was allocated to us. It was absolutely gorgeous!!!! Very Very quaint and clean. Everything you could need. We went for a short walk down to Darling Harbour, and back - which was very easy to get to.
Across the road from the hotel there is a small 24/7 type store - and just a bit further down the road I urge you to try Mr. Chow Chinese restaurant - THE FOOD WAS AMAZING. When we returned to our room - the pub downstairs was in full swing - which Unfortuantly has chairs and table located right outside the window - which had people yelling and partying until the very wee hours of the morning (HOWEVER we booked knowing it could be quite busy). Just be prepared for this..

In the morning we took advantage of the free breakfast which was great - very simple - but just what you need. The hotel happily stored our luggage until we returned back in the arvo.

Such a wonderful start to our honeymoon :o) Thank you!!

Room Tip: Request a high floor (remembering its all stairs ) - AWAY from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    108
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
189
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I convinced my girlfriend to stay here for 2 nights at the end of our Australia and New Zealand trip and we had a blast! Prior to this we had stayed at The Australian Heritage Hotel in the Rocks area so this was a little ways from there. We walked in and were early so we checked our bags with the staff and ran around the city. When we came back we were promptly checked in and went to our room. As we don't have too many hotels in the US that don't have their own bathroom, that experience was a little different for us but we had no isses and all the amenities were well kept. The room was nice and clean. We strolled down to the bar later that night (which was packed with people) and grabbed some beers. Not the best craft brewery beer I have ever had but good nonetheless and pretty convenient to grab. Very nice place and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

In one of the most $$$ cities in the world, The Lord Nelson is a FIND!! Clean, spacious & bright rooms only a :10 walk from Circular Quay & over a charming & historic pub with great beer--loved it & will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our first trip to Australia; a gentle introduction to a very different country, for travellers from the UK! Our brother and his wife (who had stayed before, several times) treated us to our stay here - and joined us on the second night. We were glad of assistance from the staff to carry our suitcases up several flights of stairs. Rooms were comfortable, althought the one I was in shared a bathroom with the room next door. It was fine, but check before booking, about facilities, as this might not suit everyone.

The location was fantastic - lovely and quiet both during the day and at night, but within easy walking distance of both the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. Breakfast was slightly on the rationed side, with only one cup of coffee on offer, one very large slice of toast and a small fruit platter each. Also cereal. Sufficient, but only just. Cooked breakfast available at extra cost. Our evening meal was a bit disappointing; expensive for what it was. Similarly, ploughman's lunches on day of departure took a very long time to come (30 mins), when we had deliberately ordered something we thought would be quick.

Lovely ambience, great location, could do better on the catering front.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are quieter - my sister had a room at the top/back which was noisy at night, I be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Been going here off and on for 20 years. Have not stayed here, only eaten at the pub and sampled the beers.

Most recent visit included GREAT fish and chips and reliably good beers. Can be tough grabbing a table at busy times.

Lovely building, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I finished our Australia holiday with a 2 night stay at the Lord Nelson and it is a great small hotel, great location, and a great pub downstairs. There is no elevator so you do have to carry your bags up 3 or 4 flights of stairs but well worth the effort. Our room was spacious with a queen bed and a separate single bed with a large bath. If you enjoy the small boutique hotel and enjoy a pint or two of great local brewed beers this is the place in Sydney for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our first stop in Australia and we couldn't have been more satisfied. Even though check in time was mid afternoon the staff went out of there way to have our room prepared first so we were in by noon. Our corner room was spotless and quite large. The pub downstairs was a friendly spot with good food and drinks. The location was ideal as it was walking distance to the waterfront but just out of the way enough not to be too noisy.

Room Tip: Corner room was bright and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.