We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip to Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel to your Saves list
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We thought this historic hotel was as much fun as anything we did on our entire trip. First, the "not so good": our room was very small and up three flights of stairs with no "lift". Everything else was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful in the office, the pub and the breakfast area. Location could not have been much more convenient to Sydney harbor.

Room Tip: Stairs get very steep by the end of your stay so lower floors are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    110
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
192
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Lets start by saying this is not an Hotel but a Pub that does Bed & Breakfast. non the less it operates to a high standard, the price including breakfast was less than any hotel I looked at in the area. The stairs to our room on the top floor got steeper each time i went up!!. We were able to leave our bags well before check in time and again after check out till we were ready to go to the Airport late afternoon. Our room was clean and well presented with a nice ensuite. The aircon that other reviewers mention was audible but not an issue. Breakfast was sufficent and well presented.A place of uique and real charm unlike chain hotels. It is in the heart of The Rocks district close to the Harbour Bridge. 15 mins walk in either direction will take you to Darling Harbour or Circular Quay and the ferries or train. A Bus leaves from accross the road that will take you to Circular Quay or Central Station and the CBD. The only down point is that at the end of a day of sightseeing and an evening of partying its uphill whichever way you approach, and then the stairs again!! so its neccesary to stop in the bar for a rest before that last climb.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel mainly from the Lonely Planet and TripAdvisor reviews, and also because we are huge beer fans. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a lovely B&B with small, cozy but comfortable rooms. The included breakfast was fantastic. The lovely young waitresses and the knowledgeable staff and bartenders were charming and friendly. And did I mention the beer? Fantastic! Would have loved to stay here for a few more days. If you're worried about any noise from the pub, it's not a concern. The bar closes promptly at 11pm (or earlier if the crowd has left), and there are two floors separating the bar and the hotel rooms.

Those with mobility issues -- or lots of baggage -- should be aware that this hotel is a walk-up, and some rooms are located on the third floor (for Americans, that means the fourth floor).

We highly recommend the Lord Nelson and would definitely come back here next time we are in Sydney!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great place to stay if you're looking for something a little bit different and like your beer! The bar is a lively, fun place but the noise doesn't affect the accommodation as it closes quite early.
The Lord Nelson is in a good location - easily walkable from Circular Quay.
Our room was on the top floor. It was smallish but quite comfortable with good en suite facilities. The main drawback was the noise of air-conditioning units outside the bathroom window. This was difficult to block out as the window didn't quite close but we got used to it by the second night. The fittings in the bedside lamps were also loose and the shades rather scruffy.
Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. The service was always friendly and pleasant but on one of the days the meal took a very long time as the waitress had to attend to an early check-in part way through serving. This meant a very long wait for tea and coffee and, as she was new, having to politely ask for items, rather than have them offered. Although the breakfast was adequate, you had to request items which were available such as yogurt, peanut butter or vegemite. Butter and jam were included with the toast, but really only enough for one of the pieces. The menu also stated that "one cup of tea or coffee was included."
Several reviewers have commented on the expense of the internet. We found that two networks came up. Of these, one was free, sponsored by a betting company and worked perfectly well. It looks like an advert but there is a button to connect to the internet under the terms and conditions (which you need to accept.) This network was available in both our room and the bar, although it took longer to find in the bar.
Overall, an enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Honestly when planning our trip to Australia I had a lot of trouble trying to find a hotel in Sydney. Rates in general were very expensive to stay in the Rocks/Circular Quay/Darling Harbour areas. Being a couple in our 20s we were trying to do our best to make the most out of our trip. Luckily we came across the Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel. Making the reservation was a little unusual because it was done over email, but we didn't let that deter us.

Our flight from New Zealand was a very early one and we arrived at the hotel at about 10 in the morning. Unfortunately our room wasn't available, but they were able to hold our bag for us until check-in time. On our way from Christchurch to Sydney the airline lost one of our bags. Apparently it didn't make the ride with us on the mostly empty plane. Just as a side note Jetstar is fine if you don't have any issues, but their customer service is almost non-existent. But for the hotels part they were absolutely fabulous. The staff was friendly and very concerned about our lost bag and did everything that they could for us to help us out. The room that we had was very large and had a dining room table as part of the decor. Our room was the first one up the stairs and right across from the check-in room. As others have mentioned the stairs can be a little difficult, but we've carried our bags on subways in lots of cities so this was not that bad for us. The free breakfast was excellent and filling. On the day we left we were in a bit of a rush to go to the airport and they packed up our lunch for us. The pub gets a little noisy at night, but our room was nice and peaceful. I don't know if it was just our room, but we couldn't find the hair dryer. Not a big deal, but just a thing to note.

I'd highly recommend this historic hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had double room on third floor of the hotel during our recent stay of 3 days in this hotel. This requires some efforts to take our luggage with us, but definitely worth it.
On the room itself, what we liked most is the light and views. There is window in the bathroom allowing airing naturally. A window overlooking Darling habour, and a ceiling window to observe stars in the night.
There is a side entry leading directly to the stairs, so no need to pass through the busy bar during evening hours. And once in our room, there is never noise from downstairs. We tried once the brasserie on first floor. The food was so good (fish and stead we've tried) and the house beer was fantastic. In one word, a wonderful stay in Sydney in this piece of history of the city.
Apart from the circular guay which is just nearby, Sydney observatory is just 5 minutes walk away. We brought our daughter for the night stars observation tour, she enjoyed it so much. And the view from the hill was so nice.
We forgot completely summer time change on the Sunday when we should leave. When we learnt the news from the staffs at breakfast, they were helpful enough to help us checknout in 2 minutes and called a taxi Asap... Which allowed us to catch our flight to Ayers Rock. We're truly grateful for this. But maybe next time, hotel could inform to it's guests, especially those who should check out on the days of time change before their departure.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are definitely good, could be very romantic for those who want to observe stars fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great location - easily within walking distance of the Opera House and everything else we wanted to see while in Sydney. This place was so different from other places my husband and I have stayed at during our travels. The food and service (and beer of course!) was fantastic and best of all, you didn't have to go far after having a few pints. Room was clean, spacious and had an old-world charm. Brewery was the place to be and always a fun time. Great value - we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.