We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best possible view of Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BridgeClimb

BridgeClimb
5 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
61 0 2 8274 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$118*
and up
Ranked #4 of 185 Outdoor Activities in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Churchill, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best possible view of Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When I signed up for the climb, I was a little bit nervous about the heights but seriously, it's not scary at all. You're "teathered" to a cable the whole way and the bridge is pretty much a fortress. Strongest bridge in the world. My guide was super friendly, amusing and knowledgale about the brige and Sydney in gerneal. The only crappy thing about this experience is the price. Of all the cool things I did in Oz on my trip, this was the best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,827
    411
    80
    31
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Despite the 88km wind!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Sydney Bridge Climb is a 'once in a lifetime' experience. Having had 10 days of fine weather and a 24C temperature morning (mid August) we were excited to take on this adventure. By the time we were ready to go, the wind speed had risen to 80km (bridge climbs are stopped at 90). We went ahead, and did the climb, it was awesome - not just the views but being buffeted by winds that peaked at 88km - it certainly added another dimension. David our guide was patient and supportive, ensuring that our group still made it to the top and back safely.

The equipment and briefing is superb, and the climb is not particularly taxing - its just very high at the top!

My only gripe was that we were not allowed to take our own cameras to the top, meaning that photographic souvenirs are limited to the 5 or 6 your guide takes. I understand that from a safety perspective, limiting equipment carried makes sense, but it is a shame for such an amazing experience, you only have a couple of pictures.

This is not for the feint-hearted, the climb and height and the cost of tickets are eye-watering (and particularly a USB key with 4 measly photographs on for $67! However, this is the world's largest single-span bridge, in one of the worlds most beautifully situated and iconic cities - you would be mad to miss it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful walk over bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't be put off by the expensive price tag. The walk over the top of the bridge is worth every cent. It's a really slick operation and safety is a priority. We were soon kitted out in our jump suits, walkie talkies, harness wire, fleece, rain coat and hankie - all firmly attached to us.

Do not drink beforehand - they breathalyse you, so be warned!

We had ladder climbing lessons and then set off. It was a really windy day and it was fab standing at the top being able to lean your entire body into the wind. Our guide for the day was excellent - professional yet humorous and made sure everyone was looked after. You can't take cameras up there (in case they fall and brain someone walking along the bridge below), but he took pictures of us which you can purchase. This was the only thing I thought was expensive - $30 for two pictures seems rather excessive to me.

That aside, it was a brilliant thing to do and I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“As a Once In a Lifetime Experience, It was Worth the Cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family including teens loved the Bridge Climb. Cassandra, our guide, was the best - made it safe, easy, fun and informative! The 1300+ steps were pretty easy - nicely paced, gradual and mixed with some ladder work. Not a problem for adults or children - our group ranged from senior citizens to tweens. The views were stunning - both of Sydney and the close-up view of the bridge architecture. The entire experience was so well-organized, safe, clear and positive -everything from the jumpsuits, equipment, clothing and practice with the safety belt up stairs and ladders. It was a very well-run operation that blended safety with fun. This will be a longstanding family favorite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,703 reviews 1,703 reviews
1,150 attraction reviews
Reviews in 824 cities Reviews in 824 cities
1,787 helpful votes 1,787 helpful votes
“You haven't seen Sydney, until you climb the 'coathanger'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The bridge is the heart of Sydney Town,more than a photographic landmark. There is nothing like feeling the breeze whilst reaching the summit and holding your arms apart. This is the best way to begin your Sydney odyssey.
The bridge -climb is the most exhilarating experience of all time. You can walk it, drive it,drift under it and feel it when you fly over it returning home.
Scaling this icon is an unforgettable journey, from its fascinating underbelly and along its majestic arch peaking at the 134 mt summit. You are accompanied by a climb leader,there being four different climbs to the top to choose from,each available at all times of the day from dawn to dusk.
Spot the sun break through the horizon at dawn....while for the romantics,its the twilight climb....for the night owls its the night climb,to see Sydney sparkling under a blanket of stars.
Suit up in specially designed outdoor gear and ascend,taking in a 360 degree panorama of sydney. Its a 3.5 hours long,14 people to a group and 332 steps.
This is an unforgettable and exhilarating memory. You will recieve a photo of yourself on the bridge,to cherish and impress your friends back home.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BridgeClimb also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to BridgeClimb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BridgeClimb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.