We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Denison Island

Fort Denison Island
Sydney Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
61 02 9247 5033
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$183*
and up
Sydney Attraction Pass: Darling Harbour...
Ranked #73 of 238 Attractions in Sydney
Type: Historic Sites, Islands, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: was once a prison for the worst convicts
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Harbour Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our first visit to Fort Denison was part of a Harbour tour. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and the cannon going off at 1pm was pretty special.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    36
    10
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Private function in luxury to make the original inhabitants drool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was there for a great function with excellent food and wine made all the better by the incredible atmosphere of the place. You can feel those previous inhabitants, a bit like being at Melbourne gaol, almost spooky. Wonderful history and enthusiastic, animated guides.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fort Denison Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My parents, my partner and I went to Fort Denison on Sunday 9th December for brunch.

The trip out to the fort was brilliant. The views were/are sensational.

However we didn’t have a great experience in the restaurannt:-

• We were handed out 1 menu between the 4 of us.
• When the water was poured, there was a leaf/twig in my glass.
• When the tea came out, the waiter took the cups back twice (he noticed that there was lipstick on the cups the first time he brought them out and the second time they were just dirty)
• Two of our forks had old crusty egg stuck to the forks.
• When the food came out, it was very cold and the poached eggs were hard where they had been sat so long before bringing to the table.
• My mum sent her plate back and asked for it to be microwaved. They did bring a fresh plate for her.
• My partner requested ocean trout, at first we thought the staff had brought out the wrong plate as we couldn’t see the ocean trout. It had to be pointed out where it was on the plate as there was not even a spoonful of it!
• No salt and pepper on the table and requested some – none came! All other tables had salt & pepper.

We are not a family to complain but simply just never go back if we have had a bad experience, however it was that bad… I have to write this review!

I live in Sydney and it has taken me 5 years to actually visit Fort Denison… such a disappointment and would definitely not recommend a visit for the food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great kayak spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Go out onto Harbour at break of dawn and appreciate magnificence of the water spectacle. Opera House. Harbour Bridge, the sun rising and reflecting off the water. Most mornings there is a cruise ship slowly making its way up the Harbour at dawn. Ask the captain to lower you a ship's coffee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fort Denison Sydney Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fort Denison is a short ferry ride from the historic Rocks area in Sydney. Take a picnic lunch or eat at the Restaurant. A highlight is the guided tour with a ranger into the three storey sandstone tower to see the gunpowder magazine, cannons, convict cut sandstone blocks, lighthouse and stunning views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House from the top of the tower

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Denison Island also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Cockatoo Island, Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fort Denison Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Denison Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.