We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little gem in Potts Point!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regents Court Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Regents Court Sydney to your Saves list
Regents Court Sydney
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   18 Springfield Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Regents Court - by 8Hotels)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem in Potts Point!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at the Regents Court for 1 night while in Sydney to catch our flight home to NYC (via Hong Kong). I chose the hotel on Booking.com and got a very good rate. The RC is a small, renovated apartment building in the trendy Potts Point section of Sydney, near Kings Cross. Our room was huge (a studio apartment, actually), with a queen bed and a single Murphy bed. It was quite comfortable for 3 of us. We would have been happy here for more than just one night. There's a small, well stocked kitchenette, ceiling fan, table with 4 chairs, ample storage space, and nice bathroom. The hosts, John and Mauricio, were very friendly and accommodating. Mauricio arranged for a cab to the airport the next day, and for storing our luggage at the sister hotel in the neighborhood. The Regents Court houses both tourists and residents. It has a fabulous classic old elevator with a hand powered door and cage. There is a roof deck/patio with plantings and a nice view of the local area. Potts Point is a wonderful neighborhood with an abundance of shops and restaurants, and interesting, Deco housing stock. There was an outdoor food market around the corner on Saturday when we were there. Also, on the same block is the Petrol restaurant. It was awesome -- fabulous French toast & award winning "porridge" for breakfast, and Moroccan & Asian fusion for dinner! Highly recommend the Regents Court hotel in Potts Point, Sydney.

Room Tip: Room 36 slept 3 and was quite large, and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello jasha7,
Thank you for your recent review! What can we say? We are flattered... Especially for your specific mention of Mauricio and I. We value customer experience at Regents Court so we are so glad to read that you appreciated our hospitality.
We hope to invite you back to Regents Court should you ever be coming to Sydney again.
Best wishes Jasha7!
Regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
45
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were lucky to get a room which faces the Sydney eye.. great view to see in the morning. The service was one of the best we got but mainly due to the guy who had great attitude. The room was clean and new. I recommend it for sure

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi jwent09,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Did you know that our guests receive complimentary access to the local Anytime Fitness Gym?
We look forward to having you stay again!
Regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel looked significantly nicer in photos than in person. The room, fixtures decor etc were quite dated. We were very disappointed that this property's highly recommended rooftop patio was closed - for renovations? Vs by-law issue? (It was not made clear to us - although one of the longer term residents said it was like this for 'a while'). We did not know this ahead of our arrival as if we knew there would be no access, we would have likely changed our reservation before arriving, given that this patio is a major draw to the hotel. The shower curtain which reached only halfway to the floor was very dirty and did little to prevent water from spilling onto the floor (in desperate need of a change - at least in the room we stayed in). The room itself was a great size, the bed was comfortable, very nice TV and kitchenette included appropriate amenities (although some plates were Not cleaned from a previous tenant).
Major pros of this hotel was the location - very near kings cross station and easy access to Bondi beach. It is also very near the botanical gardens and a lovely harbour side walk to Mrs. Maquaries look out point toward the opera house. We also walked to most other major city attractions via park street (circular quay, darling harbour, Hyde park etc) which took approximately 20-25 mins. There was also a Coles grocery store very near the property. We had also dealt with a very polite gentlemen at reception (sorry, we don't know his name but he said he was originally from holland) who was very helpful and professional.

Overall, we had expected a bit more for the money (but hey, it's Sydney where most things are quite pricey). Great location, lovely staff, good sized room and comfy bed but the room and amenities were dated, had some uncleaned dishes and a nasty shower curtain that really put us off.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello jwent09,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court.
Thank you for highlighting some of the fantastic points of Regents Court and I’d like to address some of the concerns presented.
We would like to apologies for the inconvenience of the rooftop being closed during your stay. We had to close it suddenly after some damage was caused on the roof, causing the area to be closed till it was fixed. Sincere apologies that this happened during your stay.
I’m happy to announce that we have replaced all of the shower curtains with longer shower curtains and so future guests will appreciate this change.
Sincere apologies for the housekeeping standards you mentioned in your review. Poor housekeeping standards is not something that we tolerate at Regents Court and so I have been working with housekeeping this week to ensure that they are performing to the standard we expect. Thank you for letting us know, so our future guests are not affected by this.
Thanks again for the review and wishing you a Happy New Year!
Kind regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great location but limited parking but don't let that put you off. Friendly, helpful staff, clean, comfortable with great "art deco" decor. It was like stepping back in time. Fans and aircon, large TV, kitchen, clean modern bathroom and much more. Would highly recommend if your looking for a base close to the city (about 15min walk) with all your wants and needs on your door step. Great views of Sydney from the top deck. Would definately book ourselves back in on our nexr visit.

Room Tip: Take time to chill out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Stephen A,
Thank you for your recent review. It kindly mentions many of the great things about Regents Court.
We do only have limited car spots at Regents Court so we suggest guests reserve a spot, as soon as they've booked.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Regards,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Finding a hotel for 3 adults in a convenient location and one that does not hurt the pocket too much was not easy but I'm glad we found this place. As most reviews have mentioned, the fact that it is close to Kings Cross station is a plus factor as it makes travelling so easy, whether one is going to Bondi Beach or Town Hall or Circular Quay. What I find most useful is that it is practically next to Harris Fish Market and I love the fish and chips and other fresh seafood there. Staying a week can be rather expensive when it comes to meals so I appreciate the ability to cook simple meals for breakfast (while the others are sleeping in) using cheap ingredients from Coles (which is down the street) or Harris Market (next door) and there is the alternative of microwave meals ($4 for spaghetti bolognaise or penne meatballs from Coles) for dinner. The nearby cafes also provide decent breakfast. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly and there are even facilities for washing and ironing. The minus point for this hotel, however, is the location which is unsuitable for those with children as there are many pubs and nightclubs in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Do not have a room next to the elevator as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Betty435,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court.
We’re glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location handy! We are proud to be located in one of Sydney’s most interesting and lively neighbourhoods, with some of Sydney best café’s bars and clubs, as well as transport links.
Did you know that Regents Court is part of the 8Hotels Collection? Please visit www.8hotels.com to view the range of other hotels within the collection.
We look forward to inviting you back to Regents Court in the near future.
Warmest regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a great time staying here. The rooms are newly decorated, the building is quite old. We got great service; arriving in the city in our rented rv, we wanted to quickly drop off our luggage. The staff brought it up to our room while we were returning the rv. We were on the 4th floor, from where we could see the bridge and the opera house.
If there is a bad thing to say, is that it can be a little noisy in the streets at night; there are lots of backpackers, clubs and bars in the adjacent street. Our street itself is really quiet though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Philip-Beekman,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court. We are glad to read that you enjoyed you stay with us!
As your review suggests, we are proud to be located in one of Sydney’s most interesting and lively neighbourhoods, Potts point which is well known for its cafes, bars and restaurants. We are however located on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle and this tends reduce some of the noise from surrounding businesses.
Did you have a chance to view our rooftop garden? We suggest visiting it next time as we are very proud of it and its a good outoor retreat from feeling like you are in a big city.
We look forward to inviting you back to Regents Court!
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great value online of this Sydney Kings cross/Darlinghurst hotel. only 150 metres or so from station and in a quiet street only one block off the busy main strip of Darlinghurst road with cafes, restaurant and characters. The rooftop garden is a gem and gives glimpses beyond and a welcoe respite after a busy city sightseeing day. Our room was spacious with kitchenette and some charm. Fittings were starting to age but all was OK and good value. The free wifi was a tad slow for my liking. No parking though although a 24 hour carpark (pricey) is nearby so more suited to those using public transport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear thomasole2013,
Thank you for your review of Regents Court! We are sure readers will appreciate your insight.
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your time and stay at Regents Court. It may also interest you to know that we also offer our guests free acess to the local Anytime Fitness, which is only 200 meters away!
We also have a couple of car parking spots in the building opposite us which are available for $30 per night. As we only have limited spots we encourage guests to book these as early as possible.
We must apologies for the speed of the internet. We have been having some minor issues with it this past week have been working on a solution for this for our future guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Regents Court soon!
Kind regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regents Court Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regents Court Sydney

Address: 18 Springfield Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Regents Court - by 8Hotels)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regents Court Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regents Court Sydney is located in an original 1920s Art Deco building in the heart of Potts Point and just a stone's throw away from the CBD. Enjoy the perfect privacy of an oversized studio apartment in a building that has retained and enhanced the original features reminiscent of New York brownstones. More than just a hotel, Regents Court evokes all the charm and soul of a personalized inner-city pad. A fusion of old and new, each studio has abundant space, muted colours, classic modern furniture and contemporary artworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Regents Court Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regents Court - By 8 Hotel Sydney
Regents Hotel Court
Regents Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regents Court Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.