We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Crown Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at this property and found everything to be very satisfactory. Stayed on the 6th floor facing Crown St and enjoyed a lovely view of the surrounding neighbourhood. It's truly a great location to get away from the touristy CBD and sample a great range of nearby cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel is not shiny and new by any means but everything is clean and functional and the staff were very helpful. Will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear WRR_Bris
The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for sharing this terrific feedback with us.
I’m so pleased that you discovered some of the excellent restaurants we have within a few minutes walk.
I have passed your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    199
    52
    17
    13
See reviews for
145
81
26
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Have stayed here several times - always easy - great place to stay and usually very good staff. Would totally recommend except I too had a mini bar bill charged afterwards - we do not touch any of the suff in any mini bar. so was wondering what is happening here as I see someone else had the same problem? Coincidence I hope! Other than that - usually good price for a great location but can be too expensive at times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear rust-never-sleeps,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it.
I am thrilled to read that you are a return guest to our hotel.
Please contact me directly at the hotel so I can look further into the additional charges you mentioned.
We hope you will stay here at Adina again next time you are in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent six weeks at the Adina Apartment Hotel on Crown this past February and March. We highly recommend it. Our one bedroom apartment was clean and bright, the staff very friendly, attentive and responsive and the pool and small gym an added plus. The Surry Hills neighborhood is lively and interesting with great shopping and restaurants everywhere. Oxford Street and the CBD are also easily accessible. For the sports fan, the Sydney Cricket Grounds and the Rugby Stadium are only about a twenty minute walk away. In short, we are looking forward to our next stay at the Adina on Crown.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear DonH60614
The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
It is great to hear that our team and location to local restaurants and shopping made your 6 week stay in Sydney extra special.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with this wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

These apartments are very clean, spacious and modern. The location is fantastic. Some plus points were the reverse cycles in both bedrooms, TV's and nice balconys along with 2 bathrooms and laundry facilites.There is a fantastic outside area with a massive pool and spa which was very much enjoyed after the long day shopping! Will definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Carlieee,
Thank you for your positive review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
It’s great to read that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking.
I have shared your feedback with our team and we hope to see you back at Adina one day in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Firstly, the reception staff are wonderful and helpful, I can not say enough of their service and attentive natures.

Beware the apartments on the Crown St side of the building, these are very noisy at night even for the early week nights.

On returning home from a two week course held at the Adina Apartments, imagine my surprise at a rather large charge for the Mini Bar when I don't eat processed food or drink soft drinks.
In this instance, I was also sharing a two bedroom apartment with another person who has also now been contacted and denies consuming the products.
I have been advised that they will look into the cleaning staff's records. I was also transferred for one night to stay at another hotel due to their overlap of bookings and was charged here again at their hotel.
This hassle of having to chase up these transactions has left an unsavoury taste in my mouth of recommending this hotel chain and it's related one again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the lane way away from Crown St
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana Q, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Arianrhod10,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.

It is dissapointed to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that we hope our guests have.

The local area is indeed vibrant, which is part of what attracts many of our guests. We do offer quieter rooms facing our courtyard that can be reserved upon request.

Any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel so I can look further into the additional charges you mentioned.

Kind Regards,

Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location - right on Crown Street in the heart of Surry Hills. We were so pleased we did because this area is fantastic, full of fabulous little cafes, restaurants and shops. It's a truly vibrant neighbourhood, close to the CBD and to Oxford Street - another great place to shop and dine. The hotel apartments are spacious and comfortable and the staff are really pleasant and helpful. An added bonus is the lovely garden, which has a nice outdoor pool and BBQ area - unusual in an inner-city hotel.

Room Tip: Crown Street is very busy, especially on Friday and Saturday nights, so for a quieter room request o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana Q, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear TravelLover50,

Thank you for your excellent feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience in our Self-Contained Apartments. The extra space certainly ensures a convenient and more comfortable stay for all of our guests.
On behalf of the team, thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina soon.

Kind Regards,

Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A family stay,for two nights,a comfortable place close to the city.The Bills' restaurant next to the hotel is very good.Hotel staff were helpful,the rooms were spacious and offered value for money.The location should deserve a mention as Surry Hills can be an expensive area,was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to secure a booking with a private cab service to the airport,as the Sydney train is very expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana Q, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MichelleS197,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it.

I’m pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money and in a good location.
Thank you for your comments in regards to the helpful staff, I will make sure this is passed onto our team.

We would love to welcome you back again next time you are in Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street

Address: 359 Crown Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.