We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Crown Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 182 hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were 2 couples and had a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 days over New Year. The location in Surry Hills was very good, a lively bohemian area good for eating, about 35 minute stroll down to Circular Quay and quite close to a Bus Tour pick up point at Central Station for both the Sydney and Bondi routes. The apartment was clean but marred somewhat by a stain on the main carpet.. Check in staff were pleasant and helpful. There is a nice pool, Our towels weren't changed but then it was over the holiday. Overall good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana Q, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear AggiBri,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Sydney and had the chance to experience all Surry Hills has to offer.

Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina in the future.

Kind Regards
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    152
    33
    7
    10
See reviews for
100
59
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Second time I have stayed at the Adina and its in the best location, walking distance to the City. Great food especially at Bill's Restaurant which is right next door. There were lines to get in for brunch, so if you can book or go early then you will enjoy. They also do the In room service. There are also many other great cafes along the road to check out. Woolworths supermarket about 250m around the corner. The rooms were quiet, only problem with our room was the full flush on the toilet did not work but luckily the half flush worked! I did report this as something that needed to be fixed when we checked out. There is also a shuttle van that you can, at a small charge get to and from the airport, was cheaper than getting a taxi, but recommend to ask the driver not to sue the toll road (if not peak hour) or you will be charged. Definitely recommend the Adina Apartment Hotel. And will stay there again when next in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms on at the front are more spacious if there is a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear KVPathik,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Sydney. Surry Hills is such a great area for restaurants and cafes, I am happy you had the chance to experience this during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my first stay at the Adina on Crown street. From the moment of check in, through to our departure, we did not have a single problem. The room service staff were friendly and all our requests were met with in minutes. Hotel manager Joseph not only made our stay enjoyable at the Adina, he was also very helpful providing information regarding local stores, cafe's and boutiques. As well as this, the hotel manager has exceptionally great customer service skills which is rare to find these days. Our room was clean, in good order and had plenty of facilities. Definitely recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear joefiaca,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
It was great to read you found our rooms clean with plenty of facilities and the staff to be friendly.
Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a second (longish) stay over Xmas. On first checking in we had some horrendous problems which I won't go into. The manager Joseph turned up at our door with compensation, fulsome apologies and gifts, even though he was not on duty, so we were impressed after the shock had worn off.
The rooms are (in our experience) variable in quality: some are in very good order, others definitely need a thorough overhaul. Even our apartment, a nice one, had a toilet that didn't flush properly and there were recurrent (minor) issues with the door cards in the lifts.
The room service people are very pleasant and most helpful. All in all, I'd recommend the Adina, especially as good-value deals are available.

Room Tip: Try to get an apt overlooking the pool area and don't hesitate to ask for an alternative if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear PRM038,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street. I am very pleased to read that you are a return guest to our hotel.
We do strive to maintain the upkeep and maintenance of the hotel, so I will pass on your comments regarding the varying level of room quality to our Maintenance team.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and the team to be pleasant and helpful.
We would love the chance to welcome you to the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be much more enjoyable than the one described above.
If you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have stayed many times for business over the years and have watched the apartments become a bit shabby and in need of minor repairs and a face-lift. My second stay while the hotel was having major lift issues - this time only one of the three working. Had problems with the air conditioner - new remote controls only allow cool to 20 degrees which was too hot on a Sydney 29 degree day. Shower door broken also. Front of house staff excellent and very helpful. Bills next door great for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear frodo99,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback, I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us. I apologise for the inconvenience caused whilst our lift was out of order. I have also passed on your concerns to our maintenance department. My team are pleased to hear that you found them helpful as this is the service we pride ourselves in.

Could I kindly ask you to contact me at the hotel direct as I would like to address your concerns personally ensuring that the issue you had are not repeated?

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St.

Many Thanks
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I felt very much at home during my 2-week stay and enjoyed the rapport with the reception staff, Andrea - who has a wicked sense of humour - Anna and Ina.
The swimming pool and outdoor jacuzzi were the star features.
There's a bit of noise from traffic at the front of the hotel, but earplugs helped out there.
The hotel is surrounded by pubs and restaurants and twenty minutes on the local bus got you down to Circular Quay.
I certainly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Gumblespublications

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. As the hotel manager I read your review with much delight, you have mentioned three of our team members names. I am so pleased they have left such a lasting impression!

I do agree with the comment in regards to the swimming pool, spa and BBQ area. This area is like an oasis in the middle of the city. Sitting on a deck chair by the pool you would not think that you are in one of the busiest cities in the world!

On behalf of all the team we hope to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St soon!

Kind Regards
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We are regular visitors and we love the Adina. Thank you Joseph and all your wonderful staff. We honestly can't fault anything about the hotel and its cleanliness but most importantly you could not get better staff anywhere.
We will be staying here again on our next visit to Australia

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tiffany,

We would like to thank you once again for staying with us; it is wonderful to see you keep coming back. We do hope that Adina is your “home away from home” when travelling to Australia. Thank you for your positive feedback all the departments in the hotel much appreciate it.
We hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas and maybe next year you can have a hot Christmas “Australian style” around the Adina pool and BBQ area!

Warm Regards

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street

Address: 359 Crown Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.