We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and unique hotel in great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   86 Flinders St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb and unique hotel in great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. This hotel has been tastefully renovated to keep in tune with the site's history and heritage. It's a terrific small boutique blooming amoungst the large standard and sterile gigantor hotels of Sydney. I took my partner to Sydney as a surprise for his birthday and we stayed here. It wasn't cheap, but definitely worth it. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and had character that many of the larger hotels lack. The location is great, especially for the Oxford St/Taylor Square area and the entertainment quarter (SCG, SFS, Moore Park etc). The only minor downside is parking. There is limited street parking around the hotel, so we opted to stay within the premises which provided limited parking. If you don't need to drive, then avoid it. There are plenty of taxi's and buses going past the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
54
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Viterbo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

awesome, old style hotel.good staff but a poor breakfast.
nice clean room, a little bit small. Short distance from Sydney CBD, maybe good for business travellers. Bus stop in 5 minutes walking. free wifi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

An original building from the Victorian period - not a fake - so some things are a little worn. Our bedroom was chockablock full of furniture to the point of discomfort. Nice bathoom though. Staff very friendly. Breakfast generous for a "continental" breakfast. Near a choice of eating and drinking places. Easy access for transport. By international standards a bit on the expensive side for what you get, but by Sydney standards correct.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location suited us perfectly as we were visiting friends and places in the eastern suburbs. I picked this hotel as I wanted something different and it was reasonably priced. The hotel is filled with photos and furnishings linking it to a very different time. The breakfast was standard and there was a nice selection of fruit and cereals to choose from and the atrium was a beautiful setting to enjoy it in. The Staff were friendly and helpful making it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The atmosphere and charm are authentic, and it is nice to come “home” at this old hotel building – feels quite British. Our room including bathroom was very nice, and there are lots of good, common rooms: a lounge with tea, coffee, fruit and PC are, the big breakfast room in the center, and covered balcony above and a nice balcony towards the street which is good for a sundowner (despite traffic noise).

The included breakfast is good, and the wifi is free.

The traffic in front is quite massive and noisy, and the two rooms facing the street might be noisy (I guess).

The service was outstanding at our visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the two rooms facing the street. And one room has window towards the breakfast restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for one night in a standard queen room (room 20) for a concert at the Hifi Bar (Entertainment Quarter at Fox Studios).


The Good:

- Old-world charm! The hotel is a converted grand old mansion in Darlinghurst, so the rooms and corridors have interesting period architecture and fittings. It's certainly a big change from the usual identical modern hotel chains.

- Handy location. To get to the hotel from Central Station was a pleasant 20-minute walk through Surry Hills, while the Moore Park precinct (SCG, Allianz Stadium, Fox Studios) was 15-20 minutes walk. The hotel is located on a busy road with plenty of people about, so I felt quite safe walking back there after midnight.

- Friendly staff. Check in/out was smooth and efficient, with staff kindly offering to take my bags to my room on arrival, and arrange for a taxi on my departure.

- Cleanliness. Although the building is old, and has some maintenance issues (eg broken brass latches on windows, some water damage to the ceiling) my room was very clean. The bathroom was modern and spotless, linen freshly laundered, and carpet clean.

- Good choice of pillows



The Bad:

- Water pressure in the shower was quite low

- No elevator. Although it was no problem for me to take the stairs up to my room on the first floor, if you have mobility problems request a room on the ground floor.

- Reception closes at 10pm



Overall, I would happily stay here again for the right price. Although it doesn't have all the mod cons (eg 24 hour reception, room service, lifts), this is a clean, secure, comfortable and very unique hotel in a handy spot in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff were friendly,helpful and welcoming. The room (King Suite) had all the items nessarsary to make our stay enjoyable without having to take them. The hotel is on a main road and at times was a little noisy with the traffic. The rooms were clean and well laid out. The inclusive continental breakfast had a ample selection, but it thought that the ability to offer a choice of a cooked breakfast would of been nice to set you up for the day. On a main bus route and with taxi's plentiful so easy to get to the CBD and the quays, taxi ranged from $13.00 - $16.00's, Oxford road is only a short walk away with a wide range and choice of restaurants to choose from. Ideally situated to Shows, Concerts, Moore Park, SCG, and Allianze Stadium etc. We would definitely stay again and definitely take the same room if available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Address: 86 Flinders St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Boutique Sydney
Manor Boutique Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.