We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   86 Flinders St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Viterbo, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

awesome, old style hotel.good staff but a poor breakfast.
nice clean room, a little bit small. Short distance from Sydney CBD, maybe good for business travellers. Bus stop in 5 minutes walking. free wifi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    55
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
59
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

An original building from the Victorian period - not a fake - so some things are a little worn. Our bedroom was chockablock full of furniture to the point of discomfort. Nice bathoom though. Staff very friendly. Breakfast generous for a "continental" breakfast. Near a choice of eating and drinking places. Easy access for transport. By international standards a bit on the expensive side for what you get, but by Sydney standards correct.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location suited us perfectly as we were visiting friends and places in the eastern suburbs. I picked this hotel as I wanted something different and it was reasonably priced. The hotel is filled with photos and furnishings linking it to a very different time. The breakfast was standard and there was a nice selection of fruit and cereals to choose from and the atrium was a beautiful setting to enjoy it in. The Staff were friendly and helpful making it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The atmosphere and charm are authentic, and it is nice to come “home” at this old hotel building – feels quite British. Our room including bathroom was very nice, and there are lots of good, common rooms: a lounge with tea, coffee, fruit and PC are, the big breakfast room in the center, and covered balcony above and a nice balcony towards the street which is good for a sundowner (despite traffic noise).

The included breakfast is good, and the wifi is free.

The traffic in front is quite massive and noisy, and the two rooms facing the street might be noisy (I guess).

The service was outstanding at our visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the two rooms facing the street. And one room has window towards the breakfast restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for one night in a standard queen room (room 20) for a concert at the Hifi Bar (Entertainment Quarter at Fox Studios).


The Good:

- Old-world charm! The hotel is a converted grand old mansion in Darlinghurst, so the rooms and corridors have interesting period architecture and fittings. It's certainly a big change from the usual identical modern hotel chains.

- Handy location. To get to the hotel from Central Station was a pleasant 20-minute walk through Surry Hills, while the Moore Park precinct (SCG, Allianz Stadium, Fox Studios) was 15-20 minutes walk. The hotel is located on a busy road with plenty of people about, so I felt quite safe walking back there after midnight.

- Friendly staff. Check in/out was smooth and efficient, with staff kindly offering to take my bags to my room on arrival, and arrange for a taxi on my departure.

- Cleanliness. Although the building is old, and has some maintenance issues (eg broken brass latches on windows, some water damage to the ceiling) my room was very clean. The bathroom was modern and spotless, linen freshly laundered, and carpet clean.

- Good choice of pillows



The Bad:

- Water pressure in the shower was quite low

- No elevator. Although it was no problem for me to take the stairs up to my room on the first floor, if you have mobility problems request a room on the ground floor.

- Reception closes at 10pm



Overall, I would happily stay here again for the right price. Although it doesn't have all the mod cons (eg 24 hour reception, room service, lifts), this is a clean, secure, comfortable and very unique hotel in a handy spot in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff were friendly,helpful and welcoming. The room (King Suite) had all the items nessarsary to make our stay enjoyable without having to take them. The hotel is on a main road and at times was a little noisy with the traffic. The rooms were clean and well laid out. The inclusive continental breakfast had a ample selection, but it thought that the ability to offer a choice of a cooked breakfast would of been nice to set you up for the day. On a main bus route and with taxi's plentiful so easy to get to the CBD and the quays, taxi ranged from $13.00 - $16.00's, Oxford road is only a short walk away with a wide range and choice of restaurants to choose from. Ideally situated to Shows, Concerts, Moore Park, SCG, and Allianze Stadium etc. We would definitely stay again and definitely take the same room if available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have often walked past this small boutiquie hotel on Flinders street Sydney but had never ventured inside to look around, so we decided to give it a try and booked in last weekend as we dining close by and thought to make a romantic weekend of it. We booked a manor king room which we found to be delightful. The staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel was to coin a phrase "quaint". We enjoyed our stay and will definitly go back. The only negative was the Continental breakfast which did not measure up to what I would have expected had we actually been breakfasting in Europe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Address: 86 Flinders St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Boutique Sydney
Manor Boutique Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.