We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on business. Convenient location to Darling Harbour and easy walking distance to the Botanical Gardens and Sydney Harbour. I had a room on the 10th floor, which made for a quiet room, but unfortunately hadn't yet undergone the makeover that the other floors are getting. The breakfast buffet is very nice. Overall, I had a nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of your room and our convenient location to local attractions.

With regard to your comments on the room; you are correct, level 10 has not yet had a full refurbishment completed. However, I am pleased to let you know that levels 1 and 10 are scheduled for a full refurbishment for later this year. This will bring the rooms up to the modern standard represented by the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for your business travels.

Warm Regards

Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    463
    133
    34
    23
See reviews for
243
408
38
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Booked a family fun package which included the admission tickets to the Wild Life Sydney and Sealife for 2A2C, daily breakfast and internet access. Good value!

The hotel is strategically located within walking distance to Darling Harbour, Chinatown and QVB. The room size is considered small, compared to other hotels that we stayed in Sydney. However, the beds were very comfy and all of us slept very well. We were given 2 queen-sized beds to accommodate 2A2C.

The breakfast selection was wide, fresh and good. The kids had a good time operating the fruit juicer machine, concocting different fresh juice combinations everyday.

Room Tip: join the GHA membership (for FREE) to get free internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

I was delighted to hear that your family enjoyed our family fun package. I agree that it is good value and great fun for the kids.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding your room. The look and feel of our guest rooms is something we take great pride in and work hard to maintain at a high level.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Fantastic location to Darling Harbour, China town, Kids Playground. It was handy to pop back to hotel to rest and change before heading out to dinner after a day of sightseeing. Great breakfast Nice rooms good view to Darling Harbour for Sat fireworks. Lots of restaurants near by. I travelled with two young children on first night and was at the playground after dinner felt very safe. Highly recommend.Chose this over the Novatel and would return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Pan Pacific Hotels Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay. The hotel is conveniently located close the local attractions for both adults and children. Tumbalong park is always popular with the kids, and it a beautiful spot to enjoy the fireworks and local restaurants.


We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for providing such a positive review.

Warm Regards

Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Went for our 20th anniversary and the service make you feel 5 star. The room was elegant and the rain shower hard to get out of. We stayed on level 9 and had Club entitlements which was very nice. They turned our original room from previous stays into the Club dining room.
I must say it really was the perfect anniversary weekend.
The only issue I had was they tagged my card on arrival and then swiped my visa on check out leaving a lot of money tagged for ten days..but I'm sure they could sort it if needed...close to everything you won't be disappointed ... And breakfast is amazing

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

It is always a delight for our teams to be able to welcome and spoil a couple, celebrating their anniversary.
I am also very pleased that enjoyed our Club room and Lounge, and the benefits that come with having a room on that floor.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for your future anniversaries.

Warm Regards

Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mernda, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Went here for my honeymoon and absolutely loved it, was given a room upgrade and had a great view.
The staff were super friendly including Carly who was able to give us the insight on where to dine and how to get around.
The location is perfect with the CBD on one side and Darling Harbour on the other..can not recommend a better hotel for couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

We are always delighted to welcome guests that are on their honeymoon. We do like to spoil them a bit. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the upgrade and the view.
I would also like to thank you for mentioning our team members (Carly). Our front office team members are more than happy to offer directions or advise for the local attractions, so that our guests may enjoy a hassle free stay.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for providing such a positive review.

Warm Regards

Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is well located and within easy walking distance of many attractions. Staff were friendly but the room was disappointing. Soundproofing is an issue. My neighbours included a serial snorer on one side and a screaming baby and rowdy occupants on the other. Day 2 and only 1 out of 3 elevators were working causing serious delays to guests especially during breakfast rush hour. I expected better, sadly.

Room Tip: Ask about hearing protection or the pedigree of your neighbours ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotels’ location and our friendly staff.

With regard to the issue with the lifts; I would like to offer my sincere apologies. As we have just finished replacing 2 of our lifts with new ones, it seems that they still have a few bugs to work out. I would like to thank for your patience and advise that we aim to have all 3 lifts replaced by the end of September. This will increase the efficiency and capacity of the lists.

It is also very unfortunate to hear that you were placed between loud occupants during your stay. However, I am pleased to let you know that the hotel is currently mid-way through a soundproofing project on the guest rooms. This should reduce the noise level that can be heard outside the rooms and improve the overall hotel experience.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor your constructive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and to restoring your faith in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I wanted to stay overnight in the city with our 13 month old son for my birthday, we choose Parkroyal because of it's proximity to Darling Harbour. We liked the location which is a cul de sac but just 2 minutes walk to DH, there's a bridge with a lift just across the hotel to go to DH. Very close to chinatown, shops and restaurants too. We booked thru expedia and they had an offer that included a free buffet breakfast for 2. We liked the buffet selection. Better than what we usually have at Ibis. We wanted a room with a view even a city view would do, but instead we were on the 1st floor at the corner and our window is just literally beside and at the level of the freeway, just a few feet away. However, we were surprised on how huge the room was. We had a king room with a queen bed. It wasn't new, may need a bit of sprucing up but it was comfortable and CLEAN which is very important. We had a huge shower and spa. We enjoyed our stay. Our son loved the space inside the room which gave him so much freedom to move and walk around. The staff were accommodating and polite. They have a valet parking for $50/overnight. All in all, despite the "view" I would recommend a stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the comments and feedback from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was delighted to hear of your positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the size and space in your room. The rooms on level 1 and 10 were not part of the recent refurbishment completed, which is why they appear a slightly different to the rest of the hotel. I am however, pleased to let you know that they are scheduled for a full refurbishment later this year.
I am also very pleased to note that you enjoyed dealing with our staff. Our dedicated staff work diligently to cater to as many individuals’ needs as possible. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay for your birthday.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for providing such a positive review.

Warm Regards

Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Address: 150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Darling Harbour Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.